We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Location and Great Staff”
Review of Via Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Via Hotel
Ranked #50 of 574 Hotels in Taipei
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 March 2015

We chose this hotel based on its location and the look and feel of the room from Booking.com and other hotel review sites. We fell in love with the bath tub in the bathroom. My first impressions was the hotel looked and felt small, especially the reception/snack area. But that wasn't a problem or anything, it just felt more cozy and family like. Enjoyed 2 late night takeout snacks and ofcourse the bingsu from the street in the snack area on floor 2.

The room was cozy and spacious, bed was very comfortable and soft. The only problem we had was the room temperature, the first 2 nights the fan/AC was very cold (despite setting it to 24 degrees, when we woke up and checked it was 19 degrees). On the last night, we turned it off and was sweating in our sleep. Additionally, staying in 219, it got loud in the evening and mornings from the hallways. Also, there was no window in the room, not a problem, but just something to note if you enjoy a view from your room.

  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Kevin Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (464)
There are newer reviews for Via Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

178 - 184 of 464 reviews

Reviewed 4 March 2015

At the heart of Ximending. Just a minute walk from the MRT.The room is clean and comfy,,though the reception area cum breakfast place is small and sometimes can be crowded but it is a nice hotel and the staff always very helpful.

  • Stayed: January 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YujiLaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2015

This Hotel is awesome! Its very accessible as it's near the MRT and right inside Ximending. Another interesting fact is that even though the location is so crowded and noisy. Once you go up to your room, it's sound proof. Rooms are clean and very straight to the point, you'll see the bed the toilet a table that's all. But believe me, you'd be able to rest, and you don't need to worry about the noise of Ximending. Staffs are helpful, they do have breakfast but only cereals and some snacks. It doesn't matter because there's lots of stalls and stores to eats along the road.

  • Stayed: January 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank vinna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2015 via mobile

Very friendly staff (both front office & housekeeping), luckily get a free upgrade. Staff very willing to offer extra help to guest & friendly advise during our trip.

The hotel itself is located conveniently at the heart of ximending. Can easily assess the MTR (exit 6), and surrounded by many good restaurants and shops.

The hotel is clean and modern but with no breakfast supply. Would recommend to visitors who love explore the ximending and the nearby districts.

Stayed: January 2015, travelled with friends
1  Thank JojoeyL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2015

We stayed in Via Hotel for 4 nights during our Taiwan tip in Nov 2014.
Tip:
1. Like other reviewers stated, the hotel entrance lift is “hidden” in a clothing shop in a tiny
lane which is not accessible by car.
2. There was a sign with the hotel name, look out for that. It‘s also same row with 7-11 with
a Starbucks upstairs, that is the best landmark.
3. If you take a cab to Via hotel from the airport, it helps to show the cabbie a printout or a
photo of the address in Chinese (actually the same applies to all hotels/attractions). This
can be found at the hotel website.
4. Also on the hotel website there is a simple map to tell you the landmarks to look out for.

Reception area
Reception area is small and can get a little cramped during peak and busy hours. On the reception floor is a 24 hour pantry area where you can get coffee, tea, soft drinks, and snacks like biscuits, cookies, M&Ms, buns and in the evening you can even find instant noodles. Sliced bread, jam and butter, hot drinks and buns are available in the morning if you do not plan to eat out.

Staff
Truly one of the best hotel teams we’ve ever encountered. They are very helpful, friendly and went the extra mile to help us book train tickets and answered our unending questions..

Room
Room was a bit small mainly because we had an extra bed put in. But we made do by placing our luggage under the desk. It was clean and bed was comfortable. We were a bit challenged by how to operate the air conditioner remote but easily solved by taking a picture of the remote and ask reception staff. Bathroom and toilet has glass walls but there is a curtain so no problem there. There is no window in the room (which I found out was not uncommon in Taipei city hotels) but ventilation was fine.

Location
It is smack in the middle of Ximending pedestrian area. There are many eateries and shops, a cinema, a smallish mall and about 5 minutes walk to the Ximen MRT station. I must mention my personal favourite food here – a fried pancake with an egg slapped onto it sold at a mobile stall by a bespectacled gentleman. It can be quite a challenge to locate him some days as he moves around but always in the vicinity. There are two 7-11s nearby and a Watson’s store where you can buy toiletries, skincare and beauty products

Overall we were very happy with this hotel and could not have asked for more!

  • Stayed: November 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank LWMN2010_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2015 via mobile

Less then 5mins walk to ximending station, shops and eateries all over the area .
The room I got has no window but ventilation was okay.
The only thing I want to point out is the red light(emergency light) that's on the ceiling is abit irritating as when all the lights are off you it get kinda bright.

Friendly and helpful staff; helped me to call a cab to the hospital as my husband is very sick; the housekeeping lady was very nice to help us clean the room first so he can get some comfy rest after he come back from hospital.

Free snacks in the lobby !


  • Stayed: January 2015
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rinaboe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2015

Via Hotel location is right in the midst of XiMending. It is very convenient to locate. The sign leading to the hotel points towards the back of the building. but take note there is a lift on your right which you can utilise to get to the check in counter at level 2.
The location offers many food and shopping options. There is also a movie theatre nearby.

There is also a pantry accessible to all hotel guests for your food and drinks. You can grab some instant noodles for supper too if you wish.

Room wise, it comes w a huge bathtub, and comfy bed. Room size is decent, Room is clean and with modern design

Hotel staff was very helpful. checkin and checkout was a breeze. They were also very helpful to assist the transfer to airport.

I would definitely recommend people to book Via Hotel for your stay in Taipei.

  • Stayed: January 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Desiree-Shuen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taipei hotels
0.2 km away
Swiio Hotel
Swiio Hotel
#29 of 574 in Taipei
689 reviews
0.3 km away
CityInn Hotel Plus - Ximending Branch
0.1 km away
Muzik Hotel Ximending - Ximen Station Branch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Via Hotel Premium
Via Hotel Premium
#65 of 574 in Taipei
133 reviews
0.2 km away
Just Sleep Ximending
Just Sleep Ximending
#14 of 574 in Taipei
1,274 reviews
0.2 km away
Westgate Hotel
Westgate Hotel
#57 of 574 in Taipei
1,210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Via Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Via Hotel

Address: 2F., No.17, Lane 114, Section 1 Chunghua Road, Taipei 10843, Taiwan
Phone Number:
Region: Taiwan > Taipei
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 574 Hotels in Taipei
Price Range: $84 - $183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Via Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Via Hotel welcomes all travelers, short haul or long stay, for business or for fun, single or group... whoever comes with open heart, big curiosity, and fixed budget. We serve you with world-class Sealy Posturepedic mattress, stylish bathtub, free self-servie laundry, 24hr traveler cafe, and friendly staff always ready to help you plan the trip. We are here for you. Welcome to explore Taipei. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity.ca, Cancelon, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Via Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing