We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap basic apartment (better than airbnb in Taipei)”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Li. Xiang Apartments
Ranked #100 of 241 Speciality Lodging in Taipei
Reviewed 29 September 2016

Stayed two weeks in the Gongguan apartment.

Quite cheap apartment style rooms. Nice & clean but very basic.
The bed is very small (like 180cm) and very hard. So if you're tall you probably won't like it and your back might start aching after a few nights.

Location is close to NTU/NTUST and Gongguan, but far away from the city centre.

Nothing special, but a good choice for budget travellers.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Annamari K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (52)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 7 of 52 reviews

Reviewed 6 March 2016

So far, this is the worst experience I've had with a hotel/apartment (anywhere in the world).

We booked a room for 30 days, but after 4 days, we actually moved to another hotel (for 4 days) and then rented an apartment after that. This is despite the fact that we knew we couldn't get back any of the money we paid.

First, the good things:

* The location is pretty good. Close to an MRT station, and Shida is a nice area.
* The owner and employees are pretty nice.

The not so good things:

* The roaches. These are the very scary monster variety of cockroaches. And they're in the tiny room with you. For me, this is a deal-breaker. I simply can't handle living and sleeping with roaches.
* The size. Whoever took the photos of the rooms is a genius. We have lived in tiny apartments/rooms in NYC, Tokyo, Taipei, Europe, and elsewhere. Li Xiang, though is less than half of the smallest room I've ever seen (and all rooms are pretty much the same size). Plus, the bathroom is barely separate from the bed area (i.e., it's not fully walled off).
* The noise. This is a lesser concern for me, since I don't generally mind noise. Still, you can here everything from slightly coughing in other rooms to even the building next door.
* As we found out, there are much better places in Taipei for around the same amount of money.

Definitely a disappointing experience.

We did ask if we could get any of the rent money back. And to be completely fair, the owner had absolutely no obligation to return any of it. Still, also a little disappointing that he didn't care enough about our experience to try to make it better in a small way.

Room Tip: I can only assume that the roaches aren't limited to a single room...
  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank JeremyMH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
理想家, 經理 at Li. Xiang Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2016
Google Translation

您好:
如果這是您對於我們的評論,我們虛心接受!希望您明白,您身處異鄉,卻語帶威脅的要求退款。我們不是旅館,無法提供您所要求的等級,相對的房價也不是像旅館收費一樣。房間如有任何不滿意,都可以在第一時間與我們聯繫,而不是突然搬走,我們知道的時候是您直接來要求退款,說明您已經找到其他住宿的地方。您說的房間問題,請提供證據,不然對我們來說,你只是在找理由退款,並且以你的地位威脅商家。我們並沒有完全不退款,只是您應該審視您自己的態度與處理問題的方法。每位來這裡的旅客我們都希望能讓他們留下好的印象,當然!如果我們的地方真的爛到這種程度,我相信這5年來應該不會有旅客在入住我們這裡了! 這裡是台灣,我們會用中文回覆你而不是英文,是我們給您的回應!就像你給我們的態度一樣


Miss Kan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2015

Li Xiang Hostel has two properties -- one by Shida Night Market and one by Guting Station. This is a review for the Guting Annex, where my wife and I stayed for three months this summer while I was doing a Mandarin program at Taida.

We had a terrific experience at Li Xiang Hostel. The rooms were clean and new, with working air conditioning (if you haven't been to Taipei in the summer before, take note -- this is important!), a large TV set, a private bathroom with separated shower and toilet area, and a really comfy bed. Our room, 2A, had a window that let in a lot of natural sunlight.

The Guting Annex is located on a really nice, quiet street across from a temple. It's only about a 3 minute walk from Roosevelt Street, with tons of restaurants and shops, and Guting station, a major, convenient MRT transfer point. The combination of a quiet street located next to a major commerce area was totally ideal. If you're studying at ShiDa, it's only about a 5-7 minute walk from campus -- for Taida, just a 20 minute walk, or 5 minute subway ride.

The management was awesome. They were super friendly, always kept our room clean, and responded very quickly to our requests. When typhoons struck, we always had extra water around. Even when we had to cancel the last night, trying to escape a third typhoon of the summer, they were super cool about it.

Li Xiang is Chinese for "ideal," and for our awesome summer in Taiwan, Li Xiang was a really ideal place to stay.

Room Tip: We lived in 2A, and felt it was a great room. All the rooms seemed good though.
  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geoffrey Waring M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

I stayed at Li Xiang for 4 months and I was really happy with the place, I can just highly recommend this hostel.
The staff is very, very friendly and trustful. Their English is pretty good, so communication was never a problem.

The price:
For a longer stay like mine, Li Xiang might seem pretty pricey on first sight. But when you take all the advantages and convenience into account, I don’t think it’s overpriced at all. The only additional fees I had to pay was electricity, everything else is included in the rent. And even electricity was very cheap: I paid 3000 NTD (100 USD) for 4 months with heavy use of the AC.

The location:
Li Xiang has a really good location. If you are studying at National Taiwan Normal University (NTNU/Shida University), the location couldn’t be better. It just takes 5 minutes to go to campus.
Also, the hostel lies inside the Shida night market, which means you have plenty of restaurants around, you can do simple grocery shopping, there are stores for stationary goods and of course a lot of small clothing shops.
However, Li Xiang lies in a side alley, which means it’s pretty quiet at night. If you book a hostel close to a frequented street, it can be very loud at night, since the windows are badly insulated in Taiwan.

The room:
The room is pretty small, but has everything you need. The mattress is big enough for two people, and most important - it’s comfortable. Many mattresses in Taiwan are really hard.
Also there is a TV with some english-spoken channels, like HBO.
The bathroom is more or less modern and very clean. There is enough pressure on the shower as well.
BUT: In the winter months (January/February, maybe March), it can get really cold in the room, since Taiwanese buildings are insulted really badly. It can get down to 13 C degree in the room!
In the spring, summer and autumn, it will get really warm and humid in Taiwan. However, the AC works really well in the room, and it has many functions as well.

Cleaning/amenities:
The room gets cleaned once a week, as well as changing the bed sheets and the towels. I always found the cleaning to be very thorough, with a lot of attention to detail. This is very important to me.
Also there is Wi-Fi available. I experienced some irregularities from time to time, but usually you could get a fair 20 MBit/sec.
In the top floor there is a water dispenser and a washing machine, free to use. Also you can hang your clothes there to dry.
The disposal of garbage is very simple: Just fill any plastic bag, and when it’s full you can leave it in the stairways for the staff to pick up. This might not sound as important, but trash disposal is usually kind of a hassle in Taiwan, since you have to bring your trash to a certain place at a certain time, where you have to hand it to the trash truck.

All in all I was very happy with Li Xiang and can highly recommend it to anyone, if for a long or a short stay.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Ueli K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

I enjoyed my stay at Li Xiang and definitely would be visiting there again when I am back in taipei. The location was indeed superbly located and for a couple with near zero planning for our taipei itinerary, we had no prob with reaching most of our destinantion with the train station just 5 mins away. In addition with the amount of food and shopping available at shida night market underneath u, u were never get hungry. However I think for guests who stays for more days, a free change of towels and bed sheets will definitely make my stay even more li xiang :)

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank m1ngha0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013 via mobile

Li Xiang hostel allowed my wife and I to share a single bed room together as all rooms were fully booked. The room is very cosy and clean, fully equipped, and even desktop computer was provided in the rooms. What my wife and I appreciate the most is the locations! Below is the ShiDa night market which I find is of a bigger night market and many of the shops offer lower prices compared to others. Traveling to other places via public transport or cab from Li Xiang hostel is very convenient too since it is located centrally in Taipei. Most importantly, it is very value for you money!

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ScorpHo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2013

seems like the hostel has a few rooms for each floors up to the top(6th or7th floor).
You can see a little bit of a tip of Taipei101 from the top, and location is convenient to see around, especially 师大夜市 Shida night market, where lots of university students and youngsters get together.

The room I stayed in was cozy and fashionable.
The bed was a little bit hard but big enough for two or three people to lie down.
The washroom was not separate with shower as typical as Taiwanese washroom.
I could use free wifi and SONY Bravia with no trouble.

Washer on the top floor is free to use, they set a detergent beside too, but a staff told me the dryer was out of order when I visited so you have to hang your laundry on your own. Despite that, I have to make it to meet up with my friends, and they helped me dry my laundry while I was away, besides they folded my laundry and tidied up into a paper bag with no crease.
So impressed staff are really nice. Although they don't speak English so much, a young staff, maybe in the 20s, who I met there, tried hard to explain things about the hostel to me and listen to my poor English and Chinese.

The security is good since they use magnetic sensored key.
They didn't take credit card.

I guess you need to book a room as early as you can before you visit, especially when you visit during busy business hours, such as weekends or National holidays.

Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
Thank Ravieratempo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taipei hotels
Wanhua District
Inhouse Residence
Inhouse Residence
#257 of 574 in Taipei
23 reviews
Good More Hotel - Shida
#333 of 574 in Taipei
9 reviews
Li Yuan Hotel
#338 of 574 in Taipei
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Grand Hotel Taipei
#71 of 574 in Taipei
923 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Li. Xiang Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Li. Xiang Apartments

Address: No.63-1 Yunhe Street, Da'an District, Taipei 106, Taiwan
Region: Taiwan > Taipei
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #100 of 241 Speciality Lodging in Taipei
Price Range: $41 - $73 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quadruple room equipments:double bed、sofa bed、private bathroom & standing shower(toothpaste&toothbrush、shampoo&body shampoo、bath towel)、computer、cable tv (32inches LCD TV)、Wii、DVD player、air conditioning、free wifi、refrigerator、hot-water bottle、clothes chest、hair dryers、chair、desk、washerDouble Room equipments:double bed、private bathroom & standing shower(toothpaste&toothbrush、shampoo&body shampoo、bath towel)、computer、cable tv (32inches LCD TV)、DVD player、air conditioning、free wifi、refrigerator、hot-water bottle、clothes chest、hair dryers、vanity table and chair、desk、washer ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing