We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Solid Western-style hotel in downtown Taipei”
Review of San Want Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
San Want Hotel
Ranked #123 of 585 Hotels in Taipei
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 July 2017

Our hosts booked us here for our first night in Taipei and we were very pleased to have such a nice landing spot after a 16 hour flight. The rooms were of a fair size and very clean, with a nice range of amenities at our disposal. Shower curtain was a little small, so I ended up flooding the floor for 5 seconds before I noticed it.

Beds were comfortable and the hotel was quiet. Lobby was a bit small and hectic both when we checked in and when we departed - space is at a premium so move quickly to the elevators. The surrounding area is very busy but is very safe - I walked around at both 11 p.m. and 6 am and it was fine. A good place to book if you're seeking Western-style lodging at a reasonable price.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank MKB1701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (617)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

23 - 29 of 617 reviews

Reviewed 8 July 2017

I was here for a day and half, having arrived at an odd time and left in a rush because of a family emergency. The room was great, as were the breakfast etc. What made this hotel stand out is that they gave me the keys to the gym so I could shower and change since I had arrived many hours prior to the official check in time. The room was made ready quickly too.

I had a family emergency so I had to leave in a rush. The staff were wonderful in making things easy to check out etc.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Bp-in-MA-USA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2017 via mobile

We stayed here cos it's the hotel my mom always stays at when she comes to Taipei. I believe it's cos of its location, right above the train station. And when u step out of the hotel u will see endless boutique stores, department stores, malls restaurants, convenient stores, bakeries, basically everything is available right outside. Service at the hotel was good, average good, but the only downside is that the hotel is really old. U can see that it desperately needs a major renovation. The smell of old carpet and moldy smell is really not welcoming at all. We took 4 rooms for our 3 families. The 2 queen beds room was a decent size. But we got a twin bed room it was not only small, as small as a pigeon hole, it's smells like smoke. Once u get in u will come out smelling like smoke. Literally. I don't know why the hotel didn't bother asking us upon check in if we don't mind a smoking room. It's obvious that we wanted a non smoking room, cos all 3 rooms are non smoking and we have very young children with us but they still gave us a smoking room. I would have appreciate it when they asked us first instead of just assigning it to us. So after we found out that room is a smoking room, tried to change it but we couldn't get one on the same floor. We were very disappointed at their service. Breakfast was included for our rooms so we have the same bf (same menu) for 3 days straight.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
Thank Erika_D_DJakarta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2017

The location of this hotel is unbeatable, right in the heart of the DongQu district and steps away from the subway station. The hotel itself is an older but still well maintained hotel which comes at great value for this location. Breakfast selection was good, and other facilities in the hotel were also of a good overall standard. Staff during checkin and during the handling of other issues were excellent in their responsiveness. Highly recommended for Taipei.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank MichaelYang888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2017 via mobile

Recommended by a friend living in Taipei, it's a convenient hotel downtown. Right by the subway, very well connected, close to the main attractions. Good restaurants area behind. Great personal/service, always ready to help. Rooms need a little update, but still clean.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled on business
Thank Alvaribus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2017

Pros: Right next to a subway station (Zhongxiao Dunhua), bottled water and fruit and snacks provided in the room when we arrived, friendly employees, and the room was spacious. Cons: The bed was kind of hard, the room is a little on the shabby side and definitely not updated recently, and the tub/shower was actually quite difficult to step out of because of the tall height. (One of my kids fell getting out, so I had to lift them out the remainder of the time, and they're eight years old.) Not a bad hotel but not the greatest either.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Pumpkinville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2017 via mobile

We alway stay at this hotel, due to its central location. The breakfast menu is a little sparse. Hotel staff are very accomodating and professional. Plenty of small shops close buy. The streets are. Lean and the people are very friendly.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
Thank Brian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taipei hotels
Park Taipei Hotel
#57 of 585 in Taipei
691 reviews
Songshan District
Ambience Hotel
Ambience Hotel
#5 of 585 in Taipei
1,496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Taipei Garden Hotel
#22 of 585 in Taipei
1,894 reviews
Caesar Park Taipei
#104 of 585 in Taipei
1,580 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Want Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Want Hotel

Address: No.172 Section 4, Chung Hsiao East Road, Taipei 106, Taiwan
Region: Taiwan > Taipei
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #123 of 585 Hotels in Taipei
Price Range: $121 - $425 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — San Want Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 268
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Fastbooking, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your San Want Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Want Taipei
Hotel San Want
San Want Hotel Taipei

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing