We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok for a nightcap”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Sunroute Taipei
Ranked #108 of 587 Hotels in Taipei
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 April 2014 via mobile

Sunroute Hotel is located right in the middle of two metro stations, Minquan Road West (red and yellow lines) and Zhongshan Elementary School Station (yellow line). If one is heading to the High Speed Rail Terminus, the Shih Lin Night Market or the Daqiaotou conservation area, then the Minquan Road West Station is more convenient. If one is heading to the Guanghua Electronics Mart, Taipei 101 or Maokong Gondola, then the Zhongshan Elementary School Station is more convenient. I personally prefer the latter as it is easy to navigate and has escalators which is convenient for tourists with luggage.

The rooms are similar to other Sunroute properties in Japan but a notch below in terms of cleanliness. Tiny room size and limited amenities are acceptable in expensive Tokyo but less so in Taipei where new hotels with nice rooms at less than USD100 nett per night are popping up every month. We booked a double room here as a last resort based on positive TA reviews as our hotels of choice were unavailable for our travel dates, and were disappointed. We bumped into our former neighbors who were booked here before and after their trip to Kaohsiung; they told us they decided to rebook another hotel for the second leg of their Taipei trip.

The hotel is acceptable only as an overnight pit stop as space is clearly inadequate even for a couple (refer to self explanatory photos). The room is dated, the carpet has stains and the chairs have seen better days. There is no wardrobe, only a short steel bar with four hangers, space for just one 21" suitcase and a pathetically small desk. The bathroom is terribly cramped, though the bidet toilet is a plus. Only two Chinese tea bags and a bottle of mineral water are provided daily, no coffee, and there are only two power sockets in the room.

For properties in the same price point, local hotel chains like City Inn and Forte Orange offer much better value - their hotels are located at the heart of the action in areas like Ximending. The rooms are newer, the bathrooms a tad more spacious and there are more facilities for guests such as common rooms with self-service refreshment bars and self service washing machines and dryers.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Frappezz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (414)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

15 - 21 of 414 reviews

Reviewed 30 April 2014

Sunroute Hotel is Japanese-style business hotel located about 10 minutes away from Minquan West MRT station (straight off the main road).

Pros:
1. Clean and comfy room
2. Clean bathroom
3. Heated toilet Japanese-style with operated bidets
4. Great Japanese breakfast at Ootaya restaurant (recognised brand)
5. Decent channels on TV (I'm happy with just English version of Nat Geo)
6. Very helpful hotel staff

Cons:
1. The room is a little small (But this is Taiwan we are talking about)
2. If you have sensitive ears, the noise from main street will bother you
3. Staff speaks limited English
4. Wifi was not consistent. Fortunately it was mostly good.

Room Tip: You should ask for the room that faces away from main street if you want a quiet one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheLynxTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2014

Rooms here are a little larger than the ones at the Sunroute Shinjuku (Tokyo). Small bathroom but efficient (even a bathtub!). Clean but rooms have carpet. Enjoyed the location. Post office is nearby.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chr15t1n3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2014

It is definitly a Japanese hotel. Even the pamphlets in the room are in Japanese. Many Japanese travellers stay in this hotel.

Room is compact. Bathroom is the Japanese style with the bath tub built in. Toilet bowl is Japanese style as well.

Location is excellent. Only 3 minutes walk from Exit 9 of Min Chuan Xi Road MRT Station. Bus route going to Taoyuan International Airport is just opposite to it. It takes 1.2 hours to the airport.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Martha L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

I booked this hotel literally last minute (on the day before I arrived). At first I wasn't sure how convenient or inconvenient its location might be. I relied on the map and the reviews I have read. The hotel is indeed footsteps away from the MRT (Taipei's underground train network) station (Min-Chuan Xi Road Station), and this station is particularly convenient because it is an interchange station for two major MRT lines. To get from the hotel to the main city walking area (such as Ximen and Taipei Train Station), I only had to take the train for 4 and 5 MRT stops and then I'm right there. The location is superb.

The room itself is a pleasant surprise. The room is compact and is definitely in Japanese style, but the layout is very efficient. The bathroom is another surprise as it is very clean and also very efficient. I was particularly impressed by the Japanese-style toilet (as I didn't expect to see it in a Taipei hotel although they are very common in Japan). Clean and simple - that's all I needed.

The staff is also very helpful. They were able to give me some simple directions and also simple suggestions for site seeing. I didn't need a lot of help because the hotel is literally 5-8 minutes walk from the MRT station.

Highly recommended and I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank eddiechan123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2013

We booked this as our flight was departing New York to Japan. I was a bit concerned as most of the hotels we were finding were $150 USD and up. So we booked 3 rooms for just 1 night just in-case the place was a dump. Well it was not! The rooms were small but very efficient, clean, and modern. The bathroom was small too but not to a detriment. The shower was great! Very hot water and great pressure.

The subway, MRT, is just 1 block away and the staff was very friendly. I would recommend this to all of you looking for an inexpensive ($84 USD) hotel convenient to everything.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travel2MoreBeaches
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2013

This is a Japanese franchised hotel and it looks like exactly the same as the one in Japan that I had stayed at before. I like this business hotel as it is a clean and efficient Japanese run hotel. Most of the staff speaks intermediate English and Japanese. Cost is usually $100 USD per night, which I think is quite reasonable considering the location and cleanliness. This hotel is located in a convenient place in the old area of Taipei and MRT and public transportation like city bus is close to the hotel. You can also take a bus to the airport from the bus stop right in front of the hotel. There is Starbucks and some other cafeterias nearby for your relaxing coffee time and also Japanese restaurant Otoya on the basement. I had lunch with my Taiwanese friends there - authentic Japanese food definitely. Overall, I think I made a right choice selecting this hotel for my short personal trip in Taipei. If you are looking for a place that is clean with good hospitality, this hotel is a good place to consider staying at.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IchiChan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taipei hotels
1.2 km away
Dong Wu Hotel
Dong Wu Hotel
#132 of 587 in Taipei
478 reviews
0.5 km away
Santos Hotel
Santos Hotel
#126 of 587 in Taipei
456 reviews
1 km away
CU Hotel Taipei Branch
CU Hotel Taipei Branch
#74 of 587 in Taipei
372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 km away
Hotel 73
Hotel 73
#16 of 587 in Taipei
1,015 reviews
0.6 km away
YoMi Hotel
YoMi Hotel
#51 of 587 in Taipei
1,893 reviews
1.3 km away
Taipei Morning Hotel
Taipei Morning Hotel
#48 of 587 in Taipei
426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sunroute Taipei? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sunroute Taipei

Address: No.9 Section 1, Min-Chuan East Road, Zhongshan District, Taipei 10491, Taiwan (Formerly 太陽道大飯店)
Region: Taiwan > Taipei
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#46 Best Value Hotel in Taipei
#63 Business Hotel in Taipei
Price Range: C$86 - C$133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sunroute Taipei 3*
Number of rooms: 116
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Ctrip TA, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Sunroute Taipei reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunroute Hotel Taipei

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing