We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is Where I Always Stay in Taipei”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Sunroute Taipei
Ranked #103 of 586 Hotels in Taipei
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 October 2014

This is a very nice Japanese style hotel in the city center of Taipei. I stay there every time I visit my office there, as it is a very short walk. There is also a Starbucks right next door. Normally, the beds are very hard--suitable for Japanese style. However, I recently found out that some rooms have foam toppers on the mattresses. Those are the ones that you want to book. Be sure an ask before booking. They also have a vending machine in the lobby that has Kirin beer in it!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a foam mattress topper!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Lizwalk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (408)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

11 - 17 of 408 reviews

Reviewed 15 August 2014

Nice hotel with great location, it’s about 5 minutes walking distance to MRT station (Minquan W. Road station or Zongshan Elementary School station), and the bus from the TSA Airport will stop across of the hotel. Rooms are clean with automatic and heated toilet; remember this is a Japanese style hotel, so rooms are small but comfortable enough. Free high speed Internet access. Staff is very helpful, polite and they speak good English.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank D_Tori_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

i stayed this hotel last month.
i arrived at the hotel around 1 PM.
they gave me a room without hesitation. last time when i stayed at another in taipei, i also arrived at the hotel arould 1:30 pm but i had to wait 30 min.

hotel room is very small and my room has no view. just 1-2 meter in front of the window, there is another building wall.
but it is ok for short staying.

hotel workers are kind and they can speak japanese very well.
hotel location is amazing!! two different kinds of Metro line is very near.

Room Tip: every floor has two rooms that has no view. 08,10 rooms no view. e.g. 408,410. 508,510...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mika0930
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014 via mobile

Sunroute Hotel is located right in the middle of two metro stations, Minquan Road West (red and yellow lines) and Zhongshan Elementary School Station (yellow line). If one is heading to the High Speed Rail Terminus, the Shih Lin Night Market or the Daqiaotou conservation area, then the Minquan Road West Station is more convenient. If one is heading to the Guanghua Electronics Mart, Taipei 101 or Maokong Gondola, then the Zhongshan Elementary School Station is more convenient. I personally prefer the latter as it is easy to navigate and has escalators which is convenient for tourists with luggage.

The rooms are similar to other Sunroute properties in Japan but a notch below in terms of cleanliness. Tiny room size and limited amenities are acceptable in expensive Tokyo but less so in Taipei where new hotels with nice rooms at less than USD100 nett per night are popping up every month. We booked a double room here as a last resort based on positive TA reviews as our hotels of choice were unavailable for our travel dates, and were disappointed. We bumped into our former neighbors who were booked here before and after their trip to Kaohsiung; they told us they decided to rebook another hotel for the second leg of their Taipei trip.

The hotel is acceptable only as an overnight pit stop as space is clearly inadequate even for a couple (refer to self explanatory photos). The room is dated, the carpet has stains and the chairs have seen better days. There is no wardrobe, only a short steel bar with four hangers, space for just one 21" suitcase and a pathetically small desk. The bathroom is terribly cramped, though the bidet toilet is a plus. Only two Chinese tea bags and a bottle of mineral water are provided daily, no coffee, and there are only two power sockets in the room.

For properties in the same price point, local hotel chains like City Inn and Forte Orange offer much better value - their hotels are located at the heart of the action in areas like Ximending. The rooms are newer, the bathrooms a tad more spacious and there are more facilities for guests such as common rooms with self-service refreshment bars and self service washing machines and dryers.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Frappezz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Sunroute Hotel is Japanese-style business hotel located about 10 minutes away from Minquan West MRT station (straight off the main road).

Pros:
1. Clean and comfy room
2. Clean bathroom
3. Heated toilet Japanese-style with operated bidets
4. Great Japanese breakfast at Ootaya restaurant (recognised brand)
5. Decent channels on TV (I'm happy with just English version of Nat Geo)
6. Very helpful hotel staff

Cons:
1. The room is a little small (But this is Taiwan we are talking about)
2. If you have sensitive ears, the noise from main street will bother you
3. Staff speaks limited English
4. Wifi was not consistent. Fortunately it was mostly good.

Room Tip: You should ask for the room that faces away from main street if you want a quiet one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheLynxTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2014

Rooms here are a little larger than the ones at the Sunroute Shinjuku (Tokyo). Small bathroom but efficient (even a bathtub!). Clean but rooms have carpet. Enjoyed the location. Post office is nearby.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chr15t1n3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2014

It is definitly a Japanese hotel. Even the pamphlets in the room are in Japanese. Many Japanese travellers stay in this hotel.

Room is compact. Bathroom is the Japanese style with the bath tub built in. Toilet bowl is Japanese style as well.

Location is excellent. Only 3 minutes walk from Exit 9 of Min Chuan Xi Road MRT Station. Bus route going to Taoyuan International Airport is just opposite to it. It takes 1.2 hours to the airport.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Martha L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taipei hotels
0.1 km away
Green World Hotel Sansui
Green World Hotel Sansui
#164 of 586 in Taipei
267 reviews
1.2 km away
Dong Wu Hotel
Dong Wu Hotel
#132 of 586 in Taipei
474 reviews
0.5 km away
Santos Hotel
Santos Hotel
#118 of 586 in Taipei
434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 km away
Poshpacker Hotel
Poshpacker Hotel
#62 of 586 in Taipei
159 reviews
2.6 km away
Ark Hotel - Chang'an Fuxing
1.0 km away
CU Hotel Taipei Branch
CU Hotel Taipei Branch
#41 of 586 in Taipei
361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sunroute Taipei? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sunroute Taipei

Address: No.9 Section 1, Min-Chuan East Road, Zhongshan District, Taipei 10491, Taiwan (Formerly 太陽道大飯店)
Region: Taiwan > Taipei
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#41 Best Value Hotel in Taipei
#63 Business Hotel in Taipei
Price Range: $82 - $123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sunroute Taipei 3*
Number of rooms: 116
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Sunroute Taipei reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunroute Hotel Taipei

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing