We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Wonstar Hotel Zhonghua
Ranked #283 of 585 Hotels in Taipei
Reviewed 22 October 2008

enjoyed a good 3 nights stay there. very convenient location - 5mins walk from ximending and the train station .

very easy to find too~

room amenities were nice and comfy.. we had free internet access - jus plug in yr own lappie.

*Toilet abit small and occasionally not flush-able, but understand that is how it is at some budget hotels in taipei ?

breakfast wasn't very fantastic - but with so much gd food outside.. why eat in the hotel? and the price u pay is so cheap , it is okay to forgo the breakfast n buy yr own!

staff are v.friendly and can speak english well!

overall, great hotel for the price you're paying..... =)

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank starie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (101)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

45 - 51 of 101 reviews

Reviewed 1 October 2008

Small rooms, but inexpensive. Great for young adults as it is right next to Xi Men Ding, a haven where young people shop (twenty somethings, or thirty somethings who are stuck in a 10year time warp, like us)

5mins walk to the subway, getting a cab is easy...

Stay here if you intend to be out and about and just need a nice clean room to stay. It is not sleazy and i think business travellers also stay here too.

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank scubawun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2008

I have to be honest - I can't see why this hotel is rated so highly. To make it easy, I'll split it into good and bad.

Good
* Friendly staff, always willing to help
* Location is good, with wholesale clothing market right below hotel, and most other things (Taipei 101, city centre) only 5-10 mins by taxi

Bad
* LOW roof - I could touch it without having to fully extend my arm. I'm 6'1.
* Two unlocked hardcore porn channels.
* I was on the second highest floor, and the street noise kept me awake.
* The breakfast was terrible. The only things i recognised were bacon, eggs and juice, and ALL 3 were cold!
* 70 plus TV channels - only 6 or so in English

I checked out after one night. If you can hack some budget accom for a good price, go for it. But if you're on your own, I suggest you try elsewhere. The room was poky and somewhat depessing.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank gibosity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2008

This is a great hotel. Most importantly the rooms were very clean and the bathroom looked brand new. The staff are all friendly and very helpful. The hotel is in the best position for buying clothing (right above the wholesale clothing area). The hotel is fantastic value for money. Good room size and nice LCD TV. On that note i would would like to warn parents bringing young children to the hotel that there are 2 XXXX channels which arn't locked. They have the usual free shampoo and soap + razor, tooth bushes and combs :)The is a convenience stall right next to the hotel. They give you free soft drinks and water daily. Breakfast was OK. Free internet use. I will be back without a doubt. Thank you Wonstar.
Also don't go to the wrong hotel! There seems to be 2 Wonstar Hotels. Try get someone to write the address in chinese for you. Don't make my mistake! It cost me 3 hour, 1 bus and 2 taxis to end up at the right place from the airport :)

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank JSchmoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2008

Without adding a lot to what has been said by others...

The hotel is easy to find and conveniently located.

Helpful staff, including by email before I arrived (I'd booked 3 nights but then needed to change it to 2 nights so they did a no-cost change to my booking quickly via email).

Attractive lobby, dining room and comfortable rooms, all spotlessly clean. Decent breakfast buffet in the morning - not large but you won't go hungry. Some western, some chinese food.

However the 'Standard' and 'Grand A' rooms seem to have no window and that is a little weird to a Brit. Though not so weird that I wanted to upgrade and pay 25% more. Just depends on your preference.

Also as other reviewers mention, the walls are paper thin. When they give everyone a 32" TV with 100 channels including movies, you really should have better sound insulation. It adds to the claustrophobic feeling from having no window. The hotel was not fully occupied when I was in, and I go to bed quite late anyway, but in peak season or with young children you should think about this issue, perhaps bring earplugs.

That said, the beds are incredibly comfy, very supportive and better sheets than I have at home.

If you have youngsters then beware that a couple of the TV channels are unlocked and very explicit adult channels.

I stayed also at the Ferrary hotel and have to say it has the edge on the Wonstar though is located 10 mins brisk walk from the MRT station (about 0.5km west of the Wonstar).

  • Stayed: April 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank bombtonic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2007

1.) "single room" or "double for single use" means standard room. Standard room means (as I learned from the reception and their flyer) NO WINDOW !! I didn't read about the missing window on hotelclub.net or the hotel website before. Therefore there's the need for an upgrade of now 14EUR/day to get a deluxe room with window. The deluxe rooms are really worth their price ! (a bit bigger, more light, fresher air, a big chair and of course a big window)
2.) The service is somewhere between only ok and good, they try their best.. but their understanding of English is limited: First they didn't understand the problem about my bath tube (their boss understood finally, once I showed him in the room), they did not understand when I complained that my chair needs a fix or the washing dryer. (and there was more feedback within my 8 days at Wonstar hotel) But they always said "yes, okay... we fix". That's not okay, if nothing happens afterwards... !!
@Wonstar: Please be honest, if you don't understand a complaint of your customer. And call your boss, cos he understands English very well :-)
3.) I also didn't like the treatment when I upgraded my room: When I had changed the room already (and paid for the difference), they told me afterwards that they made a mistake with the calculation and still wanted 1500NTD more. Hm... I would say: Deal is deal. And to ask the customer a higher price afterwards is no real polite way to handle your own mistake when calculating the room rate. Whatever... different habits. I don't want to exaggerate on this.
4.) The standard roms are not okay. This review would be much worse, if I stayed all the time there. I looked at other non-window rooms and all of them seemed to have a humidity problem. After complaining, I got two air dryer and another air filter, which made it much better. Anyhow, I really recommend deluxe rooms: There you can open a window to fight any humidity (for example coming from your bathroom).. and the air con seemed to be much more powerful.
But if you have a jet lag, mabe it's better you start with standard room for one or two nights (you will sleep very good without any disturbing light or noise). The deluxe rooms have a bit more street noise, due to the "excellent location"... you will enjoy them anyhow, after "you've adjusted to local time" :-)

So far the bad news. To be fair, here comes the good:
- nice breakfast (now inside hotel.. seemed to have changed since past reviews), but could have a bit more variety (only one sort of jam, only one type of corn flakes, only one type of bread). But they also offer warm dishes that vary (noodles, rice, bacon..). Even the coffee was good.. I've had much worse before in some Asia's 5star resorts like Amari... Overall 4 of 5 points.
- the staff is nice, except for above criticism about English understanding. You can leave you're luggage after checkout, they explain the city map... and book tours or transfer.
- the rooms are big... when you've been to Japan before, expect something HUGE at Wonstar !! ;-)
- the bathroom is VERY nice
- the beds are big, good and clean, both in standard and deluxe room
- they offer complimentary cool drinks (water, coke) in the room's fridge, as well as coffee and tea. Downstairs you can drink coffee and water all day for free.
- the location is EXCELLENT, 5 of 5 points for MRT access, 10min to main station, night life, food stalls, cinemas and markets around

And from Taipei main station you can take the bus to the international airport for only 130NTD (about 3EUR now).
It doesn't take you much longer than the 90min for the taxi which costs 2000NTD. But you will have to ask your way more often, that's true -- but since everybody is helpful in Taiwan, that has never been a problem !!

Overall: I would come back to Wonstar, also hopping that they improve about above criticism. The humidity in standard rooms (which can and did show up also little mold) is the biggest disappointment. If they solve this, they could get 4,5 of 5 points !
Right now, I think 3,5 (with tendency to 4) overall rating is more justified. Sorry... -- please just work on this !!!

  • Stayed: December 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
12  Thank wimbox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2007

The hardest thing about our stay in Taipei was finding someone who spoke English, so I was happy to find our friendly and helpful reception staff at the Wonstar hotel. They wrote Chinese words down for me and drew maps so I could get around town.
Don't be fooled by the dusty exterior, the rooms inside are clean, modern and cozy. They provide free water, internet and snacks. And the rate was around $75/night - which was great considering the superb service and nice rooms.
The hotel is located right next to the trendy Ximending shopping district and the MRT station is also two blocks down.
All in all, a great experience in Taipei - a city where I thought there is not much to see, but was proven wrong. I have never experienced such nice hospitality as I did in Taiwan.

  • Stayed: December 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank RadianceLee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taipei hotels
0.2 km away
Wonstar Hotel - Ximen
Wonstar Hotel - Ximen
#308 of 585 in Taipei
80 reviews
0.5 km away
Orange Hotel - Ximen Taipei
0.1 km away
Green World Hotel Zhonghua
Green World Hotel Zhonghua
#128 of 585 in Taipei
289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Just Sleep Ximending
Just Sleep Ximending
#13 of 585 in Taipei
1,377 reviews
0.2 km away
Via Hotel
Via Hotel
#48 of 585 in Taipei
482 reviews
7.0 km away
Wonstar Hotel (Songshan)
Wonstar Hotel (Songshan)
#468 of 585 in Taipei
37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wonstar Hotel Zhonghua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wonstar Hotel Zhonghua

Address: No.82 Section 1, Zhonghua Road, Wanhua District, Taipei 108, Taiwan
Region: Taiwan > Taipei
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #283 of 585 Hotels in Taipei
Price Range: $93 - $300 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wonstar Hotel Zhonghua 3.5*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, Booking.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Wonstar Hotel Zhonghua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing