We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Great modern upmarket hotel...” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Le Meridien Bangkok

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Le Meridien Bangkok
Ranked #12 of 844 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great modern upmarket hotel...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2012

Great, spacious, modern upmarket hotel in an excellent location in the middle of Silom, just off a busy two-lane road and a really short walk from the market, bars, shops, restaurants, transport links, etc.

Despite the cool design and formal appearance the atmosphere is very relaxed. The staff are super polite, attentive and very helpful, especially the Concierge and the door staff. The lobby is spacious and bright. There is a mini bar on one side of reception, which also services a small covered outdoor terrace just next to the main door, where to spend some relaxing time sipping a chilled drink and watching people by. Also in the lobby, by the Concierge's desk, there is a wide staircase that leads to the restaurant, Latest Recipe - which I review separately but let's just say it's very good!

The rooms are spacious and comfortable, and come with all sort of amenities. There is sufficient storage space and the bed is a dream. The bathroom is also big and modern, with a big shower and a separate tub.

There is free WiFi in the lobby. Access in the rooms is chargeable but I found that the Internet tokens you get from reception also worked in the room, so didn't have to pay at all!

The hotel has a spa, with a modest outdoor pool and a rather good gym.

All in all, excellent value for money. I stayed at Le Meridien for a few days at both ends of a recent trip to Thailand. The decision to stay here again on the way back was taken based on the good experience I had on the first time and I certainly wasn't disappointed.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank xavitat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeMeridienBKK, Director – Sales + Marketing at Le Meridien Bangkok, responded to this review, 23 July 2012
Dear Reviewer,

On behalf of the entire team at Le Méridien Bangkok, we thank you for taking the time to detail your experience with us. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay.

Le Méridien Bangkok has indeed an unique design and ambiance. We are very proud to hear that you liked these elements that contribute to our identity. We are also pleased to hear that you enjoyed our service culture, culinary moments, pool area and the hotels location.
We would like to share your comments among our service team and we look forward to welcoming you back to Le Meridien Bangkok very soon.

With Kind Regards,

Nick Zilinski
Director – Sales + Marketing
Le Méridien Bangkok
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,283 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,380
    754
    107
    28
    14
See reviews for
296
1,207
532
604
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (528)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
138 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2012

This hotel meets my preferences on so many levels. Services is outstanding, with the staff now starting to know me by name and providing a welcome smile and personal greeting. The rooms are very spacious with double-showers, bath, awesome bed, desk, lounge. I love the espresso coffee machine in the suites. The pool is lovely although its not always in the sun due to buildings surrounding it. Location wise, the hotel is on Surawong road - convenient to Patpong Market, Silom Road and Surawong road bars, restaurants and massage.

Breakfast at Latest Recipe is first rate - great selection of international and local dishes, plenty of Asian fare, fine pastries, great fruit, breads, cereals etc.

Internet access is speedy and reliable throughout rooms and public areas.

All up, great hotel, great location, great design.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MangoRacin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeMeridienBKK, Director – Sales + Marketing at Le Meridien Bangkok, responded to this review, 23 July 2012
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you very much for staying with Le Méridien Bangkok during your visit to Bangkok. It brings us much joy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we truly appreciate your compliments.

At Le Méridien Bangkok, we pride ourselves in delivering to our guests personalized services and in satisfying their every need. We are pleased that you were able to experience this first hand.

Making sure you start an inspiring day by providing the best Breakfast experience is one of our key priorities. It is great to hear that you enjoyed our signature dishes.

When you do decide to return to Le Méridien Bangkok please let us know, as we will be very happy to oversee a reservation for you.

With all our very best wishes,

Nick Zilinski
Director – Sales + Marketing
Le Méridien Bangkok
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dudley
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2012

Arrived at the hotel at 4.30pm to find our rooms were still being cleaned...after a 12 hour flight this was not ideal, however, we were offered complementary drinks and invited to the restaurant at 6.30pm for a complementary meal - this did make up for the late check in.

We were also upgraded to a corner bed room due to the room we had booked were only smoking rooms left and therefore after a ten minute discussion, the hotel agreed to upgrade us.

Rooms were very nice… large and open with a bath and walk in shower.

Location – over the road from the interesting scenes of Bangkok and therefore this hotel is situated in a great/central location. The only downside for me was the locals always pestering us to come into the ping pong shows….

Great hotel and would stay again.

Room Tip: high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shep99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeMeridienBKK, Director – Sales + Marketing at Le Meridien Bangkok, responded to this review, 30 July 2012
Dear Reviewer,

Sincere thanks for taking the time to share your detailed experience during your recent visit to Bangkok.

Many details and thoughts have gone in to increase the experience of our guest stays.
We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again in the near future.

Nick Zilinski
Director – Sales + Marketing
Le Méridien Bangkok
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2012

If you are interested in the night life at Bangkok, this is a perfect place. Right next to the night market with lots of bars, restaurants and tourist areas, you won't be bored for sure!

The hotel is with lots of cool design with style. Having been bored with traditional hotel design, this is a good place to try to have another thought of a hotel can be. There are some nice art pieces at the lobby too!

Service is acceptable but not perfect. Not because I had to wait for my room ready with more than 2 hours in the afternoon, but the staff are a bit "cool" which may be purposely matching the hotel cool design. But overall it is acceptable.

One thing I don't really like is the WiFi. They provide high speed internet access in the room with a charge. I don't mind to pay for that, but it is only a wired board band internet, not WiFi for my apple devices. I have to go to the lobby in order to have WiFi, which is free of charge, but very slow. And the worst thing is you have to get a log in every 3 hours!!!!

Honestly there are quite a few better choices at Bangkok with similar price. Choosing this hotel if you like its location.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patrick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

On first impression, the entrance was not grand as compared to other hotels, the foyer looks kind of squeezy.

But the room is spacious and clean, seems new with modem 'dark wood' decor.Wireless Internet is vailable but chargeable, by hour or by day(s).There is a bathtub wth a separate shower cubicle, complementary bottled water as well as tea/coffee bags. The bathroom/toilet is separated from the bedroom on one side by a sliding door - not sure what is the purpose. Take note of that. For meals, hotel provide both western and asian selections.

Location is good - walking distance to Sala Daeng Skytrain (BTS) and Silom subway stations. So Hua Lamphong (Chinatown) and MBK Center (for shopping) are only a few stations away. Chatuchak weekend market is in the other direction. Taxis (and tuk tuks) are plenty as well but can be a lot more expensive (250 bahts instead of say, 20 bahts by train), many cab do not use the meters. If you are using the trains, you can get a day pass for 120 bahts.

If you have children, you can bring them to the Lumphini Park (walking distance as well) where they can run around and come face to face with some monitor lizards.

Streets hawkers are pretty much part of the scene.If you have no stomach for the local food, you have a choice of fastfood and Asian restaurants. If you are into Jim Thompson's products (handbags/wallets/scarves/etc), there is a boutique just across the road.

You do want to take note that it is near to the Patpong open air night market where things come very much alive at night.You may get accosted by guys waiting at the corners asking you to 'check it out' .

To get to the city from the airport, go up to the street level and join the queue at the public taxi booths. Much cheaper - about 400 baht. avoid the hotel shuttle and limo.
At the hotel, get directions and map from the concierge.


You can get a VAT refund if you spend 2000 bahts or more at one shop, so plan and combine your purchases with friends to save. Do remember to reserve some time on your return to the airport for this, the refund process may take a while. The VAT refund office is located at the departure area - after you have cleared the immigration.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank qt030801
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2012

Perfect Modern Hotel in the middle of all the action. All Staff excellent and spoke perfect english. Stay was a wonderful suprise.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CK L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeMeridienBKK, Director – Sales + Marketing at Le Meridien Bangkok, responded to this review, 23 July 2012
Dear Reviewer,

Sincere thanks for taking the time to share your detailed experience during your recent visit to Bangkok. We are glad to hear that our services exceeded your expectation – hence, making your stay a memorable one.

We hope to see you again in the near future.

With all our very best wishes,

Nick Zilinski
Director – Sales + Marketing
Le Méridien Bangkok
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2012 via mobile

The hotel is new with modem interior. Located at at Silom area which is surrounded by pub and very near Patpong. I would prefer Silom area instead of Pratunam (shopping centre area), at least you can still walk back to the hotel middle of the night instead of taking cab. They have young, energetic and friendly staff. The rooms come with comfy bed, and very big bathroom with big bathtub. That's the hotel I always stay when come to Bangkok!!!

Note: taxi driver may not like to take you to Silom area due to the bad traffic, just ask them to use Express way (passenger pay toll), then they will be more than happy to send you there

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Gim Hoe K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeMeridienBKK, Director – Sales + Marketing at Le Meridien Bangkok, responded to this review, 23 July 2012
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for choosing Le Méridien Bangkok and also for taking the time to share your compliments with us.

Many details and thoughts have gone in to increase the experience of our guest stays.
It is wonderful to know you had taken the pleasure to enjoy the hotel facilities and our service culture.

We look forward to welcoming you once more back to Le Meridien Bangkok.

With Kind Regards,

Nick Zilinski
Director – Sales + Marketing
Le Méridien Bangkok
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Sukhumvit
Sheraton Grande Sukhumvit, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Silom
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
#18 of 844 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 7,603 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sathorn
Banyan Tree Bangkok
Banyan Tree Bangkok
#26 of 844 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,783 reviews
The Peninsula Bangkok
#7 of 844 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,052 reviews
Sathorn
Eastin Grand Hotel Sathorn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Meridien Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien Bangkok

Property: Le Meridien Bangkok
Address: 40/5 Surawong Road | Silom, Bangrak, Bangkok 10500, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Silom
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#11 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
#16 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#18 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#22 Business Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Meridien Bangkok 5*
Number of rooms: 282
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Silom commercial district and just metres from the energetic Patpong Night Market. An innovative restaurants, a bar and a stylish lounge entice guests with menus introducing stimulating cuisine, creative cocktails and an international range of coffee blends. Also available are the intimate meeting rooms, a unique lifestyle floor with Spa, fitness and outdoor pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity.ca and Ctrip TA so you can book your Le Meridien Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien Bangkok Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing