We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive but amazing”
Review of Prime Restaurant

Prime Restaurant
Ranked #420 of 11,033 Restaurants in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$28 - US$75
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, View, Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Sarn
Description: PRIME Steakhouse - Thailand's Best Restaurant award winning steakhouse for 7 consecutive years from 2008 - 2014. A classy contemporary restaurant, serving prime quality imported beef from Australia, America and Japan as well as top cuts of lamb, seafood, the chefs have created a fresh salads, sauces and classic accompaniments for every dish. The unique in Bangkok wood-fired grill only makes it all tastier. And a lot of people seem to agree: the restaurant recently won the 2014 Thailand's Best Restaurant award. All complimented with breathtaking riverviews.
Amersham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Expensive but amazing”
Reviewed 16 December 2011

Now you may be in a country where you can buy a delicious meal for under a pound but if you are willing to splash the cash like you are in London then this restaurant is most certainly worth it. With it being the last night of my trip I decided to give this place a try and once I stopped gasping at the prices I had one of the best meals I ever had. I had the "surf and turf", perfectly cooked filet mignon with splendidly fresh king prawns. Even the complimentary bread was gorgeous, warm and goey. All it took was one look at the cheese cake and I was sold on that too, it was truly amazing.

This really is the height of luxury at the height of prices, go here for an amazing meal and better service if you are a millionaire or willing to break the bank (like me!)

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Croyals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    100
    36
    6
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Brilliant”
Reviewed 7 November 2011

Great food and service. Not to be missed. we have eaten here twice whilst staying in the hotel and have found it to be the best steak and service we have ever had anywhere!!! Will cost you about £150 but worth every penny as a special treat.

  • Visited May 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Maynos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, England
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“Nice steak but ripp off water”
Reviewed 26 September 2011

Very good quality steak but the meal was spoiled by the pretentious git at the table next to us - loud, brash and rude - what a showoff - made the meal loose it's appeal. We were offered Voss water without giving us any other choices and were charged $12 for a 500ml bottle and when we asked for "plain" water were charged $5 for the privildege of water from a jug - made the meal even less appealing. Only 3 tables occupied in the restaurant and at the prices they are charging it was obvious to see why at $76 for a 14oz steak including taxes. More expensive than many New York and London restaurants. Plush chair and aesthetically pretty but the scratchy CD needs changing. I would have given it three stars if it wasn't for the lack of ambiance, the high prices and the rude fellow guest.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank escholte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Totally disappointed with the food”
Reviewed 23 September 2011

Went there for a birthday party, its private dining room looks really nice with wine bottles stacking on the walls. In the main dining room, you can also have tables overlooking Chaopraya river. It's supposed to be one of the best steakhouse in Bangkok but I was really disappointed with the steak there.. Ordered rare steak and got medium-well instead. Other dishes are ok but not worth going back there for the second time!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank pk_aroundtheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed 12 September 2011

I have visited this restaurant since the opening several years ago and the consistency is superb. The Restaurant Manager Pia is great and the food, service, ambiance and the wines are all excellent. Pricy though but you pay for quality.

  • Visited March 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank mikeinbangkok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Prime Restaurant also viewed

 
Bangkok, Thailand
 

Been to Prime Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing