We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“quite nice as a whole”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
ibis Bangkok Sathorn
Ranked #224 of 858 Hotels in Bangkok
Write a Review

1,205 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    208
    658
    256
    60
    23
See reviews for
94
270
279
112
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
St. John's, Canada
Level Contributor
39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

This hotel is a good value for the price of a room. It's very basic but it's very clean and well maintained. Don't expect a lot of amenities or services. The buffet breakfast is very bland and doesn't change at all from day to day. The rooms are tiny, as are the bathrooms. There is only 1 electrical outlet in the rooms as well. The beds are rock hard.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank holly709
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TJaroonteeravanitch, Manager at ibis Bangkok Sathorn, responded to this review, 7 May 2012
Thank you for your compliments on our hotel :) ibis aims at providing great price, warm welcome, pleasant stay at the great value for money to our guests.

Regarding breakfast and bed, we have noted your comment and will pass this to our hotel management to improve accordingly.

We hope to welcome you again soon at ibis Bangkok Sathorn as well as other ibis hotels in Thailand!

Best regards,
Thitima Jaroonteeravanitch (Ms)
ibis Thailand - Communications Centre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. John's, Newfoundland, Canada
Level Contributor
92 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2012

I stayed in this hotel for 2 weeks for a program I was traveling with. I wouldn't recommend staying there (or in Bangkok) that long but it was a great location & fabulous price. The rooms were tiny but clean and modern. Good selection at breakfast. If this hotel had a swimming pool, and maybe some balconies, it would be perfect!

Check out the Moon House restaurant right across the street. Meals are incredibly cheap ($1-2) and really tasty!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lesleyknits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TJaroonteeravanitch, Manager at ibis Bangkok Sathorn, responded to this review, 28 March 2012
Thank you very much for your positive feedback. It is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay ibis Bangkok Sathorn.
If you desire to have a dip at one of our Bangkok property's swimming pool we would advise you to try your next stay at ibis Bangkok Riverside which is one of our most beautiful hotels located alongside the Chao Phraya river offering great view and great location.

Best regards,
Thitima Jaroonteeravanitch (Ms)
ibis Thailand - Communications Centre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mitcheldean, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
279 reviews
112 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 261 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2012

A new hotel set in a busy back-street area.
Perfect spot for the gay sauna if inclined that way.

Very busy during the day as near the business district of Lumphini Tower.

Not convenenient for shopping unless you take a taxi or one of the open motor-cart 'TUK-TUKS' but the taxi fare works out cheaper in some cases.

To get to the best gay night-life in Silom Road (''Tan-ohn See-Lohm') a short taxi ride about 70 baht one way to SALAH DANG station. (pronounced SAR-LARH DAHNG!''.

This Ibis hotel is modern with the usual Scandinavian interior to match and nice wood.
Taxi's to this area may have a problem finding it so can take Soi 1 off Sathorn or come from the Lumphini-Tower area and go around the back of there. cANT' MISS this hotel as the largest in ths street. Near here is also a backpackers area but this is changing fast.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vegetarian4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TJaroonteeravanitch, Manager at ibis Bangkok Sathorn, responded to this review, 28 March 2012
Thank you for your review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed staying at our hotel and were satisfied with our location and interior design.
We are looking forward to welcoming you again at ibis Bangkok Sathorn or our other hotels in Thailand.

Best regards,
Thitima Jaroonteeravanitch (Ms)
ibis Thailand - Communications Centre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carcassonne, France
Level Contributor
167 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2012

THE IBIS SATHORN is an ok Ibis by European standards but not great value,I paid azlmost $50 and had to fork out 12 more for the 24 hr wifi.(free in lobby)This without bkfst is not great value considering the room size.The hotel seems new and everything was clean with staff polite and most helpful..Fortunately The Malaysia is across the tiny street.at nearly half the price with a good pool,It was a nobrainer to swop.

Room Tip: WIFI is free in lobby but expensive in room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peter c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TJaroonteeravanitch, Manager at ibis Bangkok Sathorn, responded to this review, 28 March 2012
Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry for your unexpected experience.
At ibis, we aim at providing our guests with friendly welcome, warm services, and great value for money for a wonderful experience, therefore your feedback is very important to us. To enjoy a great deal, we would like to recommand you to book your room in advance for your next visit.
We are looking forward to welcoming you again soon at ibis Bangkok Sathorn and any other ibis hotels in Thailand!

Best regards,
Thitima Jaroonteervanitch (Ms)
ibis Thailand - Communications Centre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2012

We've been staying here with friends in October 2011. We moved here from A-One Bangkok hotel and were not disappoint for a second.

Ibis shows the quality. A nice tidy 7-levels hotel in the middle of Sathorn. Most of taxi drivers do not know ho to drive there (it's pretty much tricky way from highway through stinky Sathorn slums). The rooms are just standart, nothing more - nothing less, but, hey, it's a good characteristic for Thai. The freezer is too small - the only thing you can put there is a half of a normal watermelow.

Cross the road - and you will get to Lumpini park - the nicest and most peaceful park i ever been. Take a cab - it will take you 5 minutes to get to Siam Paragon and Central World. Or go down to the Underground (yeah, Bangkok has one) - the charge is 20-30 bahts one way.

Generally, Ibis Sathorn is a great place to stay. Convinient location, nice rates, great service. Go for it!

P.S.:When we got back home to Russia the hotel had sent me an A-Club card. I'm loving it, thank you Ibis.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Serge_Rush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TJaroonteeravanitch, Manager at ibis Bangkok Sathorn, responded to this review, 28 March 2012
Thank you for your wonderful comments!
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay at ibis Bangkok Sathorn. The location of the hotel does make it easy to access main attractions in the city.
We are looking forward to welcoming you back soon at any of the ibis hotels in Bangkok, Phuket, Samui, Pattaya and Hua Hin!

Best regards,
Thitima Jaroonteeravanitch (Ms)
ibis Thailand - Communications Centre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
197 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2012

Because of a booking problem with a hotel very close to this one we literally crossed the road hoping that a room would be available. The large reception area with coffee shop is spotlessly clean and somewhat clinical, in saying that the Hotel would appear to be a new build with a light and airy ambience.

We enquired about a Double room and upon presentation of our Airline Id's we were given a rate which really surprised us. Reception staff were helpful and polite and the whole process took only a few minutes. The bell boy had our cases ready to go before we had even finished the checkin process.

The room was great, spotlessly clean with a lovely bathroom and all the expected amenities. The hotel operates a strict no smoking policy so we spent many a time enjoying the great coffee sitting outside. As mentioned by another review there do seem to be tour groups present and they were obvious especially when the beer got flowing, however it didn't present a problem.

We didn't try the Breakfast as we prefer to venture out locally, however if the snacks and coffee are anything to go by then I am sure it would have been good.

Location is ok Silom approximately 15mins walk or there is the MTS. Taxis are everywhere and as with anywhere in Bangkok make sure that they operate with the meter 'ON' otherwise seek another. The hotel is also close to Lumphini park which is a beautiful oasis in the centre of this crazy city.

Another positive point was that we needed assistance with our onward travel plans (language issues) the staff at reception willingly helped and everything was sorted quickly. Thanks.

Overall this was a great and comfortable stay which wasn't planned, of all the staff we encountered a special mention must go to the Concierge/Bell staff, helpful, friendly and always willing to help.

Room Tip: Only visited once and our room did not present any issues. We were on 2nd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paulwflyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TJaroonteeravanitch, Manager at ibis Bangkok Sathorn, responded to this review, 28 March 2012
We thank you for your positive comments and we are glad that our hotel made your stay enjoyable !
We are happy to hear that ibis Bangkok Sathorn met your expectations. ibis as an economy hotel brand aims at providing everything our guests need at an attractive price. We hope we will have the chance to have you here at ibis Bangkok Sathorn again.

Best regards,
Thitima Jaroonteeravanitch (Ms)
ibis Thailand - Communications Centre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Sukhumvit
ibis Bangkok Nana
ibis Bangkok Nana
#248 of 858 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,886 reviews
ibis Bangkok Riverside
#167 of 858 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,483 reviews
Sathorn
Pinnacle Lumpinee Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Siam
Ibis Bangkok Siam
Ibis Bangkok Siam
#154 of 858 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,410 reviews
Bangkok Loft Inn
#60 of 858 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,489 reviews
Klassique Sukhumvit
#69 of 858 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 694 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ibis Bangkok Sathorn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ibis Bangkok Sathorn

Property: ibis Bangkok Sathorn
Address: 29/9 Soi Ngam Duphli, Rama IV Rd. | Sathon, Bangkok 10120, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Sathorn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#58 Best Value Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — ibis Bangkok Sathorn 3*
Number of rooms: 213
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The unique character of the IBIS Sathorn Bangkok matches the colourful personality of Bangkok. Young and modern yet also warm and inviting. Right in the heart of Sathorn business district and close to subway (MRT Lumpini) and skytrain (BTS Chong Nongsi) stations. Shopping, sightseeing, clubbing, it is all right here. 213 modern rooms, all equipped with WiFi Internet. Snacks and drinks available day or night. Warm smiles at the reception. With one step through the door, you will immediately feel at home.IBIS Sathorn Bangkok has got everything you need, and at the best value! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your ibis Bangkok Sathorn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Accor Sathorn Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing