We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, very friendly owners”
Review of Sam Sen Sam Place

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sam Sen Sam Place
Ranked #35 of 728 Bangkok B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 February 2012

A great place to stay in Bangkok. Walking distance to the pier and to many downtown tourist attraction. The owners and staff are very friendly and helpful. We will stay there again on our next trip to Bangkok.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ullrich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (343)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

165 - 171 of 343 reviews

Reviewed 6 February 2012

We stayed for three nights at this small guesthouse last January.
What we liked:
- Very helpful and friendly staff
- Close to Khao San Rd but not right on it
What we didn´t like:
- Rooms too small for the price
- Hot and not very well ventilated rooms
- One day they didn't make the beds and the room was poorly cleaned even though we left early
- Internet wi-fi signal is poor in the room so you have to go to common areas to get internet

Room Tip: If you decide to stay here and need good internet signal and space ask for a different room from Ban...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank guidillo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2012

We were pleasantly suprised when we arrived after booking a fan room with shared bathroom. The room was cool enough and had a decent wifi connection. For a little extra we moved to an air con room with TV and again this was clean and comfortable. When it came to extending our stay there was only a superior room left which was way out of our price range. When the owner realised there would be little chance of renting it to anyone else she reduced the rate and we were thankful as it would not have been worth the original price she was asking, it was extortionate for a guesthouse room. Breakfast is small but ok with quick service. Like the review before we also were caught out with high charge for the use of the telephone despite only being on it for a couple of minutes. We also wanted to use a computer to upload some of our pictures but it would not work and the internet was really slow yet we still had to pay. The staff were friendly enough when we first arrived, however on some days throughout our stay they were less friendly than others which we found really strange and caused a slight atmosphere. I would probably stay here again as the rooms are clean and the location is good but just watch out for those added extras and the odd atmosphere!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kayleigh O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2012

This is a difficult review to write because in many ways our stay at Sam Sen Sam was enjoyable. The location is great, the people are friendly, the guesthouse is clean and safe, and there's breakfast, albeit of the 'continental' variety. Really, as a rustic boutiquey hotel this place is a fantastic option. However, our experience here was sadly not as good as other places we've stayed in Thailand so far. We transferred here from another nearby guesthouse because we decided to extend our stay in Bangkok and our guesthouse was full. I had been going here for coffee every morning and because the staff was sooo friendly we decided to stay. Overall it was a nice stay but we had many problems. First, the wi-fi did not work in our room. I didn't think this would be a huge problem but I needed wi-fi for work and planning out future trip plans and sitting out in the common area for any length of time became uncomfortable due to the plethora of hungry mosquitoes which happily feasted on us the longer we stayed out there. Our room, which was off the kitchen, was small but comfortable and more than sufficient except that every evening and morning the smell of unventilated sewage would slowly start creeping in. I think it actually came from outside of the guesthouse but it was hard to tell. The shower drain drained too slowly so the bathroom floor would quickly flood with water. That being said the shower was otherwise great and the hot water heater worked quite well. The only other thing that bothered us was the little charges that kept popping up. The first morning I was there I decided I wanted an egg with my toast. Not possible. I had to order two eggs and they charged 30 baht for it. Now, $1 doesn't sound like much but considering that you can eat an entire meal around the corner for the same price, and eggs cost about 2 baht a piece, it starts to feel a little rich. Next we wanted to do laundry. Great the wash machine costs 30 baht and you can hang your clothes, which is preferable to drying them but they charge you an extra 10 baht for the soap. Now considering most people do not travel with their own laundry detergent I can't understand why they wouldn't just charge 40 baht and be done with it. Also, every place we've stayed in provided a bottle of water with the room, including the one I'm currently writing this review from, Sam Sen Sam charged for it or you bought your own. I like simple convenience but small extra charges irk me. As a traveller I have slept in hammocks 6 inches too short, tents with bedbug infested mats, too many dorm beds to remember, 5-star hotels and everything in between. Sam Sen Sam was definitely on the better end of in between so I hate to nitpick about the little things but to me its the little things that make the difference between a 3/5 and a 5/5 review.

I hope your experience here was as good as the others I have read, I'm a bit disappointed in my own.

Cheers and happy travels!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank coconutfarmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2012

I stayed here 1st on 2009 with a best friend and i came back again on 2010 with 6 girlfriends. It's a very nice and very comfortable place to stay. Strategic and near Khaosan Road. The staff also been very helpful and friendly!! . The room is very nice, very clean and comfortable. I would definitely come back again if i came to Bkk the 3rd time.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vivi z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2011

My girlfriend and I stayed here 2 times actually. Once at the beginning of our 5 week trip and once at the end. We stayed 2 nights in a fan room in November and one night in an a/c room in December. We ended up wanting the a/c room in November and not needing it in December. Rooms were very clean, beds were comfortable and the staff was great. Lots of good information was given to us so we wouldn't get ripped off. The location is great for travelers first getting to Thailand because its close enough to all the action but far enough away where it made for a nice, quiet sleep. Strongly recommend this place. And you can book in advance.

Also make sure to check out May Kaidee vegetarian restaurant around the corner on Samsen road. And Adhere the 13th Blues Bar. Great music.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kevin0353
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2011

Sam Sen Sam Place is the perfect place to stay - close enough to walk to the Khao San Road and access to the ferries up and down the river to see Grand Palace, etc. but perfectly peaceful and relaxing. Staff are amazing and very helpful with regard to booking trains, buses and ferries, thank you Lek, you saved us so much time. We wished we had had time to stay again before leaving, but ill definitely stay on our next visit. Love to all, Lek, especially Potato and Phi Phi!!!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patricia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Banglamphu
Penpark Place
Penpark Place
#51 of 728 in Bangkok
300 reviews
Banglamphu
Once In Bangkok Guesthouse
Once In Bangkok Guesthouse
#47 of 728 in Bangkok
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Banglamphu
Lamphu House
Lamphu House
#18 of 728 in Bangkok
714 reviews
Banglamphu
Au Bon Hostel
Au Bon Hostel
#31 of 728 in Bangkok
160 reviews
The Journey Hotel
#66 of 728 in Bangkok
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sam Sen Sam Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sam Sen Sam Place

Address: 48 Samsen Rd., Soi Samsen 3 | Banglumpoo, Bangkok 10200, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Banglamphu
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 728 B&Bs / Inns in Bangkok
Price Range: $22 - $60 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sam Sen Sam Place 2.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity.ca, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, HostelWorld, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sam Sen Sam Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sam Sen Sam Place Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing