We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice room bad breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Somerset Sukhumvit Thonglor Bangkok
Ranked #193 of 887 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 September 2012

I live in Thailand since 2001 i have been in many hotel in Banngkok,this in terms of room and location is one of the best,nice area across the stret there are many place for eat included starbucks and a nice supermarket,the pool is beautiful,and the Jym ok,not life fitnesss machine but ok,the problem is the breakfast.....horrible,I pay for the rooms 3500 bath a day and the breakfast buffet is terrible...Why?
Dear management you should provide quickly to fix this problem!

Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
4  Thank giovannizangari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (308)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

186 - 192 of 308 reviews

Reviewed 22 August 2012

This is my 2nd stay at Somerset Sukhumvit Thonglor. The experience is as good, if not better than what i experienced in Sep 2011. The staff are polite and provide good service to the guests. Check-in and check-out are fuss-free. And the apartments are very comfortable to stay in.

There are some differences in my experience this year though. I've noticed that they no longer provide toiletries in the apartment - i.e. individual packing of soap, shampoo, lotion, razor etc. Instead they use a soap/shampoo dispenser in the bathroom now, as part of going green and saving resources (and maybe cost cutting?). So when we checked in - a tray of the rest of the toiletries like bar soap, lotion, detergent, comb etc where presented to us to pick what we needed, and we had to bring it up to the apartment ourselves. I must say that this comes across as unprofessional and thoughtless, because we have our stuff to carry as well and it would have been better if they could have brought the toiletries we have selected up to our rooms instead.

Breakfast quality has also dropped from the previous year - fruits don't look that fresh and the dishes are not as tasty as before.

On a good note, we had problems with a cabdriver who brought us from Yaowarat back to Somerset via a tolled highway instead of the normal routes, jacking up the metre from the usual 99 baht to 170 baht. We managed to get one of the front desk staff to speak to him about it (as he pretended not to understand what we were saying). In the end, we only paid 100 baht for the cab fare and Somerset reimbursed us 45 baht for the highway toll. I must say that the staff dealt with the issue well - although she didn't seem very willing to assist us with the issue at first.

Overall, other than a drop in standards in a couple of areas, i must say that Somerset is still an excellent place to stay in Bangkok and we will not hestitate to come back again!

Room Tip: If you are booking a studio apartment, book the premier one. It is only a few dollars difference fro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Orangel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2012

I booked a room for my visiting friend there and he was very pleased with the room facilities, location,service etc. its located on main Thonglor right opposite Market place , a small mall with supermarket, lots of international fast food outlets and restaurants. excellent location makes it easy accessible by taxi, skytrain.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Suresh M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2012

This is my second stay at this hotel, and the problems from last year repeated themselves. It doesn't detract from very nice rooms at an excellent value. Surprisingly, taxi drivers are not aware of this hotel and you often have to provide precise directions to get to the hotel.

Once inside, its very modern. The room furniture is very nice and pleasant, although the king-size bed seemed smaller than king-size. First little problem is that they are ultra-cheap on the bathroom amenities; bottles of hair wash/body wash attached to the wall (if you want to take a bath, you are out of luck, bring a bar of soap). Its really something you find in a cheap roadside motel, and it doesn't fit a hotel of this stature.

The other problem is that the breakfast is simply awful. If this isn't important to you, there are Starbucks everywhere and its pretty easy to find alternative food. Its strange, because the two restaurants on the ground floor (I don't know if they are affiliated) are great. The fried eggs sit in a pool of grease and the coffee is out for a while and needs to be warmed. The fruit is browning. Very disappointing.

The pool is an infinity pool looking over the edge of the 9th floor. Its really nice (but really shallow). The jacuzzi was out of order - as it was a year ago when I visited the last time.

Finally don't expect any give on the part of the management for a late checkout. A lot of the flights leave around midnight, and the best they were willing to do was to give me an extra 6 hours for half the rack room price (you can get a whole day on their website for less). Its disappointing given this is my second stay, and like last year I left with a disappointing taste in my mouth.

I really like the neighborhood for this hotel, and the kitchen in the room is well equipped with a Tops Supermarket across the street, so its an easy place to stay and relax. On the whole its a pleasant experience.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Marc S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2012 via mobile

Location is very convinient walk able distance from BTS station, down the street many great restaurants available and also night clubs. Centralise location and not far from silom only 10 mi. by BTS good rooms and good price

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Panky007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2012 via mobile

Positive aspects first:

Location is great, the room is big with kitchen and washer, staff are really friendly and kind- they really make effort to have small chat with customers around. Swimming pool and gym are nice.

Negatives: cutting corners everywhere

Breakfast is pathetic. It seemed like those were cooked by inexperienced person. Minimal selection with seemingly cheapest ingredients.and cutlery and place mat- very old and scratched plastic mat- seemed sooo cheap.


Free Internet - which make u input room number and password-is soooo slow and it seemed like they want to charge you for faster connections.

The water pressure in the shower was also so pathetic I thought that there were options to phurchase higher water pressure like Internet. Amenities provider was just a soap from a plastic dispenser hung on the wall.


The bed was uncomfy and they put TV and speakers in a position without too much thought.

By the way,I arrived at the hotel at night and the staff at the reception was wearing t shirts.

I will not come back to this hotel which treats customers so miserly.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank canter0614
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2012

Everything said in tripadvisor is true and good in a good way.
I expect everything from tripadvisor's reviews.
No glitch at all. Stayed at superior or studio deluxe. A bigger studio room.
Stayed 7 days after a surgery in Samitivej hospital and spent almost the whole week at the room. No problem at all with the cleaning lady. She managed her schedule to accomodate mine. I even could bring my breakfast to my room considering i was immobile for few days.

There is a small shop arcade opposite the hotel with supermarket, starbucks, burgerking, posh restaurant around the area since thonglor is a hi-so neighborhood.


Very luxurious Ascott standard hotel. Expecting nothing less. Highly recommended if u stay in thonglor or east part of Bangkok.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Coittower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Thong Lor & Ekamai
Akyra Thonglor Bangkok
Akyra Thonglor Bangkok
#205 of 887 in Bangkok
256 reviews
Thong Lor & Ekamai
Centre Point Sukhumvit Thong Lo
Thong Lor & Ekamai
Grande Centre Point Sukhumvit 55
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sukhumvit
Somerset Lake Point Bangkok
Somerset Lake Point Bangkok
#133 of 887 in Bangkok
982 reviews
Thong Lor & Ekamai
Oakwood Residence Sukhumvit Thonglor
Sukhumvit
Adelphi Forty-Nine
Adelphi Forty-Nine
#4 of 887 in Bangkok
676 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Somerset Sukhumvit Thonglor Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Somerset Sukhumvit Thonglor Bangkok

Address: 115 Sukhumvit 55 Sukhumvit Road, Klongton Nua | Wattana, Bangkok 10110, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Thong Lor & Ekamai
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#60 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#94 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#155 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range: $112 - $202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Somerset Sukhumvit Thonglor Bangkok 4*
Number of rooms: 262
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Somerset Sukhumvit Thonglor provides the convenience and comfort of a serviced residence in a prime location for international executives, families and leisure travelers. Located in Soi Thonglor, one of Bangkok’s most popular expatriate districts and also aptly called Little Japan, this well-appointed residence is close to the financial and business districts with entertainment, nightlife, shopping and restaurants nearby. The residence also provides easy access to several supermarkets and 24-hour food outlets. Work with WiFi wireless internet access, swim in the pool, workout in the fully equipped gym and discover Bangkok with the resident’s programs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Somerset Sukhumvit Thonglor Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Somerset Sukhumvit Thonglor Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing