We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (187)
Filter reviews
187 results
Traveller rating
158
17
11
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
158
17
11
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswalking distance to the palacerooms are beautifully decoratedbustling bangkokin south east asiakhao san road
Filter
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 187 reviews
Reviewed December 29, 2013

We'd planned to stay at the Bhuthorn two weeks ago having booked the accommodation a year in advance. Unfortunately our trip coincided with some of the protests occurring in Bangkok lately, and we were unable to get a taxi willing to take us into the area where the Bhuthorn is located. We were genuinely alarmed by this as well as being unable to get to our planned accommodation. We contacted the Bhuthorn and explained the situation, but to this day have still heard nothing back. We thought it looked to have exceptional service but are disappointed with the lack of communication over a serious safety concern. We were charged the full amount for accommodation in accordance with the hotel policy, but given the circumstances we would have liked a response or acknowledgement of our concerns. It's unfortunate that their hotel is based in an area that has been affected by events outside of their control, but the fact that they didn't respond suggests a problem with service.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hilly1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 24, 2013

We just got back from our trip to SE Asia where The Bhuthorn was our first stop. Many other reviewers have described the three rooms and the wonderful Thai breakfasts so I'll just say that we agree that this is a great place to stay.

If you get a chance, take a morning stroll through the market street that is just a couple of blocks from the hotel. This is where they get the breakfast foods. Anyone at the hotel can give you the directions.

We'd also like to give special thanks to Chaiya. He was a great help during our stay and always tried his best to make our stay as comfortable as possible. He made our stay extra special.

My only complaint (and a small one at that) is that our bed was pretty hard compared to our home but we found this to be the case almost everywhere we stayed over there. It certainly wouldn't stop us from staying here again though.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Mauigirl808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 29, 2013

We stayed in the "Nara" suite, which is the two story room with traditional beds on the floor. Everything about the inn and room was just beautiful, full of teak wood, antiques, and fresh cut orchids and jasmine, but inclusive of modern touches such as flat screen TVs. The staff was unobtrusive but so very polite and welcoming. The rate included breakfast and afternoon tea, which was full of surprises every day. While we ordered the continental breakfast (toast or croissants, yogurt and fruit plus juice) we were treated to additional Thai style items like mini coconut pancakes, Thai donuts, and fried peanut snacks with our breakfast. For the tea we had Italian sodas, cappuccino, mango with sticky rice, and coconut ice cream. The inn is tiny, but very quiet and conveniently located for exploring Old Town or anywhere along the river. Very important pluses to this place are: no mosquitos and excellent air conditioning. The very minor drawbacks to this place are: it's hard for taxis to find it, the shower pressure is low, and there isn't enough light in the vanity area. We really loved our stay here and hope to come back in the future.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Mahjarunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 21, 2013

Felt as if we were back in time 100 years with very tastefully furnished rooms and small charming lobby. The courtyard was a wonderful place to eat our delicious breakfast each morning. The staff were all very polite and accommodating. Two thumbs up!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank pastarrr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 20, 2013

Our stay at the Bhuthorn was everything we hoped it would be. We wanted somewhere authentic, comfortable, friendly, quiet yet central and Thai and we got all of those things. And more. I have to admit I was a little concerned when I read how hard it was for taxi drivers to find the place but the photos had won me over and there was no going back.

We arrived late on a Friday night and after our driver checked the instructions that the hotel had sent me a few times and asked for help once, we got there. But once we knew where it was it wasn't hard to direct taxi drivers after that.

The hotel is like someone's private home. There seem to be 3 rooms available and ours was downstairs. We were the only ones there so had the place to ourselves and the staff. Breakfast every morning was the highlight of our stay. We had it in the little courtyard next door to our room and we had the Thai special which meant that it came in a tiffin carrier and consisted of 4 different delicacies fresh from the nearby market. Things like duck rice, fresh mango, spring rolls served up on a little banana leaf disc. Magic. Why would we want scrambled eggs or croissants when each day brought a new delight or 4.

The staff were always there to offer help or suggestions if we needed it and the sheet with what was nearby - especially restaurants and cafes was invaluable. We had a great meal nearby one evening.

The hotel is near to the Grand Palace and Wat Pho. We walked one day from the Water Express station home and never had any difficulty getting a taxi to wherever we needed to go.

Three days in Bangkok wasn't enough. There was so much not done or experienced. So we will be back and when we go, hopefully the Bhuthorn will have a room for us.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Begshaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews