We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love the Bhuthorn!”
Review of The Bhuthorn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Bhuthorn
Ranked #88 of 728 Bangkok B&B and Inns
Reviewed 31 May 2014

This is a charming characterful little place to stay and the staff are very friendly.

We stayed in two rooms during our stay, one on the first floor at the start and another room on the ground floor at the end of our stay, so we got to see 2 of the 3 rooms available here. Both were spacious and very clean with beautiful curtains and shutters - traditional touches. The breakfasts are tasty and lovingly prepared with attention to detail. The traditional Thai pork mince breakfast was a novel experience for me! One morning we enjoyed breakfast sat amongst all the beautiful orchids in the garden area - just stunning.

The manager was helpful and suggested some great local restaurants, which we visited and enjoyed. This place is also just a short walk away from the royal palaces so we enjoyed walking to these sites and discovering some of the nearby streets.

The only downside for me was that there was a bit of street noise quite early in the morning from local stall holders setting up their stalls to serve people breakfast. Often noise really does bother me but here, it was all part of the Bangkok experience.

I would have no hesitation in staying here again.

Room Tip: There is a ground floor room ideal for anyone with mobility issues.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank historyboys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (185)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

14 - 20 of 185 reviews

Reviewed 15 January 2014

This is a beautiful hotel in a quiet neighborhood right in the center of the Old City. Easily accessible is the river, temples and palaces. The style reminds you of the Jim Thompson house and the service is wonderful. This is a little gem at a great price for a bed and breakfast stay in Bangkok. Meals include breakfast AND afternoon Tea.

Room Tip: This is a wonderful hotel right in the heart of the Old City and just steps from the Royal Palace an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank pmb2934d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2013

We'd planned to stay at the Bhuthorn two weeks ago having booked the accommodation a year in advance. Unfortunately our trip coincided with some of the protests occurring in Bangkok lately, and we were unable to get a taxi willing to take us into the area where the Bhuthorn is located. We were genuinely alarmed by this as well as being unable to get to our planned accommodation. We contacted the Bhuthorn and explained the situation, but to this day have still heard nothing back. We thought it looked to have exceptional service but are disappointed with the lack of communication over a serious safety concern. We were charged the full amount for accommodation in accordance with the hotel policy, but given the circumstances we would have liked a response or acknowledgement of our concerns. It's unfortunate that their hotel is based in an area that has been affected by events outside of their control, but the fact that they didn't respond suggests a problem with service.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hilly1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013

We just got back from our trip to SE Asia where The Bhuthorn was our first stop. Many other reviewers have described the three rooms and the wonderful Thai breakfasts so I'll just say that we agree that this is a great place to stay.

If you get a chance, take a morning stroll through the market street that is just a couple of blocks from the hotel. This is where they get the breakfast foods. Anyone at the hotel can give you the directions.

We'd also like to give special thanks to Chaiya. He was a great help during our stay and always tried his best to make our stay as comfortable as possible. He made our stay extra special.

My only complaint (and a small one at that) is that our bed was pretty hard compared to our home but we found this to be the case almost everywhere we stayed over there. It certainly wouldn't stop us from staying here again though.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Mauigirl808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013

We stayed in the "Nara" suite, which is the two story room with traditional beds on the floor. Everything about the inn and room was just beautiful, full of teak wood, antiques, and fresh cut orchids and jasmine, but inclusive of modern touches such as flat screen TVs. The staff was unobtrusive but so very polite and welcoming. The rate included breakfast and afternoon tea, which was full of surprises every day. While we ordered the continental breakfast (toast or croissants, yogurt and fruit plus juice) we were treated to additional Thai style items like mini coconut pancakes, Thai donuts, and fried peanut snacks with our breakfast. For the tea we had Italian sodas, cappuccino, mango with sticky rice, and coconut ice cream. The inn is tiny, but very quiet and conveniently located for exploring Old Town or anywhere along the river. Very important pluses to this place are: no mosquitos and excellent air conditioning. The very minor drawbacks to this place are: it's hard for taxis to find it, the shower pressure is low, and there isn't enough light in the vanity area. We really loved our stay here and hope to come back in the future.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Mahjarunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Felt as if we were back in time 100 years with very tastefully furnished rooms and small charming lobby. The courtyard was a wonderful place to eat our delicious breakfast each morning. The staff were all very polite and accommodating. Two thumbs up!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank pastarrr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

Our stay at the Bhuthorn was everything we hoped it would be. We wanted somewhere authentic, comfortable, friendly, quiet yet central and Thai and we got all of those things. And more. I have to admit I was a little concerned when I read how hard it was for taxi drivers to find the place but the photos had won me over and there was no going back.

We arrived late on a Friday night and after our driver checked the instructions that the hotel had sent me a few times and asked for help once, we got there. But once we knew where it was it wasn't hard to direct taxi drivers after that.

The hotel is like someone's private home. There seem to be 3 rooms available and ours was downstairs. We were the only ones there so had the place to ourselves and the staff. Breakfast every morning was the highlight of our stay. We had it in the little courtyard next door to our room and we had the Thai special which meant that it came in a tiffin carrier and consisted of 4 different delicacies fresh from the nearby market. Things like duck rice, fresh mango, spring rolls served up on a little banana leaf disc. Magic. Why would we want scrambled eggs or croissants when each day brought a new delight or 4.

The staff were always there to offer help or suggestions if we needed it and the sheet with what was nearby - especially restaurants and cafes was invaluable. We had a great meal nearby one evening.

The hotel is near to the Grand Palace and Wat Pho. We walked one day from the Water Express station home and never had any difficulty getting a taxi to wherever we needed to go.

Three days in Bangkok wasn't enough. There was so much not done or experienced. So we will be back and when we go, hopefully the Bhuthorn will have a room for us.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Begshaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Banglamphu
Neighbor Phuthon
Neighbor Phuthon
#139 of 728 in Bangkok
6 reviews
Banglamphu
Baan Noppawong
Baan Noppawong
#12 of 728 in Bangkok
219 reviews
Banglamphu
Arun Residence
Arun Residence
#39 of 728 in Bangkok
309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Banglamphu
Baan Dinso Hostel
Baan Dinso Hostel
#29 of 728 in Bangkok
312 reviews
Banglamphu
Inn A Day
Inn A Day
#4 of 728 in Bangkok
462 reviews
Banglamphu
Old Capital Bike Inn
Old Capital Bike Inn
#1 of 728 in Bangkok
564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bhuthorn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bhuthorn

Address: 96-98 Phraeng Bhuthorn Rd., | Phranakhorn,, Bangkok 10200, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Banglamphu
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #88 of 728 B&Bs / Inns in Bangkok
Price Range: $137 - $199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Bhuthorn 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bhuthorn,a newly operated hotel located in the heart of oldtown Bangkok, one of the well-preserved community registered to the Fine Art Department of Thailand. The Bhuthorn, a century-old shophouse has been converted into a boutique accommodation with exclusively 3 guestrooms. Each room has been decorated in their own individual characteristics with a colonial atmosphere. Our main targets are travelers who, while traveling, love to enjoy arts, history, people, and places. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity.ca, Agoda and Ctrip TA so you can book your The Bhuthorn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bhuthorn Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing