We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great german food - start to finish”

Ratsstube German Restaurant Bangkok
Ranked #989 of 12,539 Restaurants in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$15
Cuisines: German
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighbourhood: Sathorn
Description: Home - style cooking is a proud tradition at RATSSTUBE.In fact our Restaurant is rated among the best German Restaurants in Bangkok for its superb home- made german Cuisine and great Decor of an electric mishmash of antiques Clocks, Cupboards,Paintings,and Mirrors .By all means,if you re craving delicious german Dinner,Ratsstube wont dissappoint you and your Friends.Our Restaurant has aquired a faithful clientele and a word-of-Mouth reputation for its fine Food among sophisticated Thais and Members of the foreign Communitys.For a quiet and very romantic dining experience,Ratssutbe is the right Place for some of the best German Cuisine in Town.We are happy to welcome you to our Restaurant.
Reviewed February 28, 2017 via mobile

I love German food and this place does not disappointment ,starting with the hot rolls - too good to have just a couple , we always end up ordering more . The potatoes and sauerkraut are excellent the menu is huge extensive variety of dishes. I really like the schnitzels and the sausage plate and I love the pork knuckle .I ,ve not had a dish i didnt like it.The portions are very generous for reasonable price. If you are going with a group suggest ordering a variety and sharing .Well worth eating here its highly recommend.

1  Thank Simonannop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
napattara66, Manager at Ratsstube German Restaurant Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2017

Dear Simonannop
Dear Simonannop, thanks a lot for your feedback and the nice words about our Restaurant food and service Staff. We hope to see you again at Ratsstube.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (112)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

21 - 25 of 112 reviews

Reviewed February 26, 2017 via mobile

Really bad news! Anyone seeing the beautiful surroundings would expect something nice at this place somehow connected to the German community. What a mistake! Any old railstation restaurant in Germany would have better food and veriety. The menu has shrunk over the years but the potato portions grown along with the prices. The pork shnitzel was two large squares of obviously pre-prepared frozen type tasteless kind of junk shnitzel! Nice enough ambience like any coffee shop in Pataya but worse food. Poor beer selection and seemingly no wine selection at all. That with the paper napkins says it all. Anyone seeking German food don't be fooled! What is strange is that it's located within the German cultural center ! They really should do something about this horrible representation of their cuisine.

Thank travelalotBangkok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
napattara66, Manager at Ratsstube German Restaurant Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2017

Dear travelalottBangkok
Thank you for writing a negative review for us. We apologize that it didnt meet your expectation .
Still, we cant figure out your frustration. We think you might be confused between our Dessert menu and our Food Menu. Please note that we do not serve any frozen Food to our Customers. To make sure, I would like to point out that we serve only fresh cooked Meals and mainly regional ingredients are used,so please, dont compare our Restaurants with locals ones like at the Railway stations, since the cultural differences cant be compared. To our Beer card I would like to draw attention that we do serve a huge variety of german and local beers and all german beers are imported from Germany and are also very popular there and its almost served in all germans Restaurant all over Thailand . Refer to the Paper napkins that you judge from just looking at it that everything has to be negative, its really strange for us to understand and accept, we are sure that they are quite common in many Restaurants in Thailand, and please note that the Thai-German cultural center does not have anything to do with the Restaurant. Among the many reviews I have read from you, I think that probably you might dont feel yourself comfortable at home or either somewhere else or in Thailand,anyway thank you for coming to visit us and wish you all the best.
Best regards

J. Mueller

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 8, 2017

It is not a purely German restaurant, more of a nice mix between, Swiss/Austrian/German and also Thai dishes. The majority of the guest are locals, so dont expect the typical beergarden feeling restaurant although they have a very good variety of beer there.
Of course the food is not 100 percent like at home but still very delicious and reasonable prices. A big MUST is the pork knuckle and the sausage platter!!!! Service is most of the time attentive and friendly.
The design of the interior is more antique Thai wooden style with western influence.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
6  Thank SvKrB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
napattara66, General Manager at Ratsstube German Restaurant Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded February 9, 2017

Dear SvKrb
Dear SvKrb, thanks a lot for your feedback and the nice words about our Restaurant food and service Staff. We hope to see you again at Ratsstube.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 3, 2017 via mobile

A bit overrated in here I gave it a try. I don't expect it to taste like back home, but somebody should have showed them in all that years and proximity to the Goethe institute- how to cook proper German food and improve what they do now with little effort. One timer for me

Thank 828,262
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
napattara66, Manager at Ratsstube German Restaurant Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2017

Dear 828262
Thank you for your review and very sorry to hear that it didnt meet your expectation, but anyway thank you for visiting us .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 18, 2017 via mobile

was with friend! good portion, good service and very tasty food at very reasonable price! for lunch on week day, can get a free coffee or tea on any main dish ordered.
Pity however there is not any set lunch

1  Thank les_ona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
napattara66, General Manager at Ratsstube German Restaurant Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2017

Dear les_ona Thank you very much for your kind words, and your visit. We are glad to hear that you were satisfied with Ratsstube Bangkok. Looking forward to welcoming you soon again at our Restaurant. Warmest regards Anna Baumann Mueller

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ratsstube German Restaurant Bangkok also viewed

 
Bangkok, Thailand
 

Been to Ratsstube German Restaurant Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing