We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Class”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Renaissance Bangkok Ratchaprasong Hotel
Ranked #47 of 863 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
York, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“First Class”
Reviewed 9 March 2012

We stayed at the Renaissance for 5 nights and i have to say i find this one of the best hotels we have every stayed in. I was fortunate to have access to the exective lounge where the staff were fantastic. Whilst it in the main is a business hotel we were made to feel very welcome and comfortable. The hotel could not be more convenient for the sky train at Chit Lom. I am already looking forward to our next trip.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mikepay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,142 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,083
    831
    154
    35
    39
See reviews for
570
1,006
271
706
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (581)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Laupasat
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2012

My wife and I spent 3 nights in this hotel. Wonderful location: main building just off the main road, so u don't get all the noise from the road but just 3 mins and u reach the BTS station of Chitlom. Across the road are the major shopping centres, including Central. Food of all types are readily available.

Relatively new hotel - about 4 years old. Ample sitting in the lobby with nice music playing in the background. Decor of the lobby is modern and really attractive. Rooms are of good size and clean. Aircon not overly cold. King size bed with very comfortable mattress. Bathroom has separate shower area and bathtub.

Staff very helpful and polite. Enrolled me as Marriot member when i checked in and this gave me the free wifi in the room. When i failed to connect to the wifi in the room, they send the technician in very quick time to help with the set up. The staff readily replenishes water to the room upon my request.

I like the swimming pool located on the 23rd floor. It's covered so no direct sun and comfortable to laze around without fear of getting burnt. The spa is located on the same floor - 50% discount if you have your spa appointment between 10am and 3pm. And they have very good therapists.

Overall a very attractive hotel that i would highly recommend.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Casper65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2012

Stayed at this hotel for 4 nights in Feb. I loved the location as it is in a ritzier area of Bangkok and opposite the luxury mall, if shopping is something you are into. There are not a lot of places to eat, other then the mall, nearby, but a short tuk tuk drive can solve that problem.

Check in was smooth and we got a room right away. This has got to be the only hotel I have seen with such beautiful elevators! We got a room on the club floor as the free wifi, breakfast, club access and laundry was worth it. They even gave us a free 15 min shoulder massage.
Rooms were very modern and tastefully done. Space was just enough. Tv channels were great. Service was excellent.
breakfast at the club was expansive but it got boring after a few days. They need to change it up more.
We used their spa and it was just wonderful. I wish I could go back tomorrow. I will def. stay here again if I should go back to Bangkok.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank soaddictive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 5 Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2012

I stayed at the St Regis last time but felt a bit robbed so i though i would give this place a try and was very impressed

Book via the hotel website and you will save a packet, I got this hotel for 2900 thai a night about $94 a night, the other booking sites were a total rip off!!

Most taxi drivers dont know where the hotel is as it is very new! the doormen at the hotel have a card which has the hotel address in thai, a map and other usesful attractions in english and thai, get this it will save you a load of hassle!!

With this hotel you have to get a high floor overlooking the golf course at the back, my room was 1821(18th floor). When i checked in i looked at 3 rooms before i got one i liked

Join up for marriot rewards to get free internet for you whole stay!

The restaurants in the hotel (italian and chinese) were pretty good

gym and pool is very nice

I ordered some fruit for breakfast and it came with a bug wandering lonely around my plate! I rang them and after 20 min of waiting got no response, so i took it down to the front desk who took it off my bill!

Overall i like this hotel, sensibly priced and a great location, i would stay again

Room Tip: Get a high floor overlooking the golf course
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rugbyplayer25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nonthaburi, Thailand
Level 6 Contributor
34 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2012

Environs:
The hotel opened for business in 2010 and located on Sukhumvit road, near the renowned Erawan Shrine on Ratchaprasong intersection. Many high-end shopping malls (Central World, Central Chidlom, Isetan, Gaysorn Plaza, Siam Paragon, etc.) are within walking vicinity through Chidlom BTS Station Skywalk right in front of the hotel. The famous IT mall, Pantip, and the equally famed largest street fashion mall, Platinum, are also within easy reach. You need not worry though of hearing the Bangkok hustles and bustles since the hotel itself is built way in from the main street by about 200 m. Words of caution: for those who want to use BTS Skywalk to cross over to the opposite side, there’s an escalator going up but no escalator going down. You either take flights of stairs on the way down or you can walk to Gaysorn Plaza and use its escalator inside the store. As suggested by other reviewers, you can also take an elevator in Maneeya Building (bldg on the left in front of the hotel) and get off on the 3rd floor to access BTS skywalk. Shoppers are very fond of Bangkok Skywalk since they can avoid heavy traffics and do their shopping quicker at afore-mentioned renowned malls, joined through skywalk. It starts from Central Chidlom and extends to Siam Paragon at Siam BTS. Another section starts from Siam Discovery to MBK and ends at National Stadium BTS station. For long legs and fast pacers, that’s about 20-30 min walk.


Room:
We stayed 7 nights in a Deluxe Twin room which is the starting type at this hotel. The room is quite spacious with lots of storage space, plus the wooden and leather furnishings make the room look real classy. The wardrobe is quite roomy with all the needed equipments including steam iron and board. The Renaissance signature beds are as always impressive. Big bathroom with all the finest amenities by Pecksniff’s of the UK. Big bath tub is separated from comfortable shower compartment, installed with both handheld shower and rain shower. Don’t be shy by the glass wall around the bath; you can have your privacy by turning on the electric shades which is very convenient. By the way, the marble shower bench is quite slippery when soaping in sitting position; elders like me should take great care albeit handrail nearby.


Breakfast:
Buffet breakfast is served at The Flavors, one of the in-house restaurants, serving all day dining. Buffet line is international and plentiful, with few items changed everyday. Fresh orange juice is served right away after you are escorted to your seat or you can order your choice of smoothies as many glasses as you can take. Hot coffee and varieties of tea are also served. On my first day, I couldn’t find a glass of drinking water on any station at all. I needed just a small glass to take my medicine. When I requested for one, the attendant said drinking water is charged by a bottle. I nodded bafflingly and at the end of the meal remarked on a comment card; didn’t think anyone would read. I was wrong! The problem was immediately rectified the next day. Every table is now served with a glass of drinking water as well. Khun Apinya, the most senior attendant on that day, sincerely apologized to me for the little incident. Wow, very professional!


Reception:
Reception hall is spacious and glamorously designed. Check in and check out were quick. The staffs on duty, including doormen, were very efficient and attentive. They always greeted you with smiles and eager to offer help in any way they could. A nice gimmick at the reception counter is a bowl of local toffees made out of Thai preserved dried fruits, wrapped in colorful papers. Each color represents different kind of fruit, e.g. purple – banana, pink – tamarind, orange – mixture of mango/banana, etc. These delicious chewy toffees are offered for free to hotel guests. Try it out and you’ll love it. I know I did.^^


Final Words: I find that Renaissance Bangkok Ratchaprasong is the top of her class, ambience wise, room wise and service wise. The only serious setback I found so far is the “thin wall” in guest rooms as raised by many others. We stayed in room 2107, next to the club lounge. We often heard footsteps, some banging sounds like moving furniture, doors closing, drawers opening and closing, etc. from both club lounge and guest room next to us. This is quite disturbing to light sleepers. A better soundproof system would elevate Renaissance Bangkok Ratchaprasong to a real 5* category it deserves!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank agingduo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2012

I stayed here for 5 nights on a business trip, and could not have been more pleased. I was upgraded to a corner suite as a Marriott Rewards member, with a view from both sides of the room – fantastic! The room was modern and sleek - the wood floor and accents really make a huge difference in making it feel warm and comfortable. Loved the slippers in the room.

The bathroom was huge and gorgeous – all glass and also with a view! The shower had amazing water pressure, a must for me! The bed at first seemed a little firm for my taste, but turned out to be perfect. The service is excellent – when you need something, they bring it to you very quickly, and are always friendly and willing to help. They also speak better English than in some of the other hotels in the area. The complimentary water bottles every day are great, and the toiletries were really nice. Tip – there is a drawer in the bathroom I never bothered to open until the end, and it turned out there was a TON of extra stuff in there! The pool area is beautiful, and the massages at the spa are top rate.

The only negative is that the walls are REALLY thin – I was lucky that my neighbors were quiet and I only heard them in the morning when I was working, but I imagine if they were loud it would have been a different story. The area is safe, and there are many shopping and dining options within walking distance. I will definitely stay here again on my next trip to Bangkok!

Traveler’s tip – many taxi drivers do not know where the hotel is. I found this out the hard way – a little scary! In a pinch tell them to take you to the Intercontinental – they all know where that is, and it is just across the street.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shannonbyrne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level 6 Contributor
48 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2012

We stayed 3 nights at this property and were extremely happy with our choice.

At check in we were upgraded (Marriott Gold) to a Corner Room with amazing views of the city. The room had every amenity you could ask for and also included daily water delivery and free WiFi for Marriott members.

The lounge is amazing - breakfast starts at 6:30 and includes a plethora of options for both Western and Eastern tastes. A chef stands by to prepare any dishes that are not already available. Water, coffee, tea, soft drinks and snacks are provided through the day and an afternoon tea of cakes and snacks takes place every afternoon. The evening cocktail hour is a great way to start the night with a full bar.

The location is pretty central and only about 45 minutes to the airport. The Chit Lom BTS station is across the street with access to many sights within Bangkok.

We also appreciated the hotels dedication to guest safety.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SO T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Pathumwan
InterContinental Bangkok
InterContinental Bangkok
#20 of 863 in Bangkok
3,148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pathumwan
Anantara Siam Bangkok Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Bangkok Ratchaprasong Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Bangkok Ratchaprasong Hotel

Property: Renaissance Bangkok Ratchaprasong Hotel
Address: 518/8 Ploenchit Road | Lumpini, Bangkok 10330, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#19 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#33 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#34 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#43 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Renaissance Bangkok Ratchaprasong Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 322
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Renaissance Bangkok Ratchaprasong Hotel, guests are greeted by a 200 metre exotically landscaped driveway that leads them to our iconic blue glass building. Set back from the hustle and bustle, you're in Bangkok's most vibrant neighbourhood yet secluded in your very own oasis. The hotel is a stone's throw away from Central Chidlom, Central World and Siam Paragon, Bangkok's swankiest malls, and just around the corner from the Chit Lom BTS Station. โรงแรมเรเนซองส์ กรุงเทพฯ ราชประสงค์ยินดีต้อนรับคุณด้วยทางเข้าน้ำตกยาวกว่า 200 เมตรสู่ตัวโรงแรมซึ่งมีความเป็นเอกลักษณ์ด้วยตัวตึกสร้างด้วยกระจกสีน้ำเงิน ใจกลางย่านธุรกิจ และเป็นศูนย์รวมแหล่งช้อปปิ้ง ทั้งห้างสรรพสินค้าเซ็นทรัลชิดลม ห้างสรรพสินค้าเซ็นทรัลเวิลด์ สยามพารากอน และร้านค้าอื่นๆ อีกมากมาย เดินทางสะดวกสบายโดยรถไฟฟ้าบีทีเอสสถานีชิดลม ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity.ca, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Renaissance Bangkok Ratchaprasong Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Bangkok Ratchaprasong Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing