We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, new boutique hotel, good location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Salil Hotel Sukhumvit - Soi Thonglor 1
Ranked #218 of 891 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 December 2009

I stayed at the hotel for a couple of nights and found it to be pleasant and comfortable. The rooms are new and clean and a decent size for the price. Free wi-fi was good. Breakfast was small and so-so, but acceptable. The usual bacon, eggs, tea, coffee, cereal and a couple of asian dishes (fried rice or noodles, vegetables).

Another good thing is that it is a short 5 min walk to the Thonglor BTS station. The free hotel tuk-tuk will also drive you the station if you like. Very convenient, and because it is away from the main road, the hotel is also quiet.

Cons - not enough hot water, for some reason. Just luke warm at best, though that's a minor compliant for me. (it's hot in Bangkok anyway!)

I didn't make use of their concierge service for any tickets or trips so I can't comment on that, and am sorry some other travellers had bad experiences.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank opus2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (589)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

391 - 397 of 589 reviews

Reviewed 10 December 2009

I really enjoyed my stay at Salil Hotel, but I rank POOR because of their concierge desk. Rooms were comfortable, clean and modern. Complimentary breakfast was delicious and the front desk/bell boy staff was very helpful. The greatest flaw was their concierge service. The women charged us up front almost $10,000 baht for transfers and tours, and nothing came through. We were left stranded at the airport and waiting often for taxis for tours that never came. I was furious and demanded a full refund which she provided, but what a waste of time to be tricked with lousy touring service.

The Thonglor/Sukhumvit neighborhood is NOT for tourists, however I loved being in a true neighborhood. It felt so authentic and the prices of food and clothes were so below the tourist trap areas, that I enjoyed being in my own nook of Bangkok. Look for the Sparkles Cupcake bakery. Delicious treats!

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank taurenlegend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2009

Salil hotel pros
PROS
- Smartly decorated hotel and rooms
- Rooms and bed are very clean
- Quiet
- 5 to 10 minute walk to BTS

CONS
- No hot water, room temperature showers at best
- The staff is polite but not helpful and totally inept
- The high speed Internet does not work with certain electronics
- Terrible location for tourists. You are far from all sights and the hotel is very difficult for taxis to find.
- The safe in the room is not bolted down, rendering it useless
- Very welcoming of sex tourists
- The rooms are tiny. Not a problem for me but some of you will be annoyed.
- Do not book anything through the tour desk at the hotel. You will be taken advantage of and possibly stolen from.  
- The breakfast is not good. Everything is cold. I'm not really sure why they sit the good over those buffet warmers if they're not going to turn them on

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pifflove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2009

We stayed here for about 5 days, and it ran us about 1300 THB a night, which wasn't too bad. The hotel was in the process of installing an elevator, so there was a little bit of noise in the day time. Breakfast is horrible, for the most part everything was cold, being the fact that I wake up around 630 am and their cafe open at 630am.

The hotel overall is clean, the staff is okay, but can be a little bit more friendly. They do offer a tuk tuk ride to the Thong Lo BTS, which is nice.

Okay, now to the horror part of the hotel. After checking out, they claim that I made their sheet a little bit black of some sort of dirt, and they charged me 200 THB, and they claimed I drank an Ice Tea, which I never did, so they charge me for that as well. My plan was to return back to this hotel after going to Pattaya for a few days, but because of all the surprise charges, I will have to decline. I would not recommend this hotel to a friend, unless they like to eat cold breakfast and love surprises.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lynhdan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2018, travelled with friends
Thank 長Naga峰Mine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SalilManagement, ผู้จัดการฝ่ายส่วนหน้าสำนักงาน at Salil Hotel Sukhumvit - Soi Thonglor 1, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank atxthat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SalilManagement, ผู้จัดการฝ่ายต้อนรับลูกค้า at Salil Hotel Sukhumvit - Soi Thonglor 1, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Maxime W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SalilManagement, ผู้จัดการฝ่ายต้อนรับลูกค้า at Salil Hotel Sukhumvit - Soi Thonglor 1, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Thong Lor & Ekamai
The Salil Hotel Sukhumvit 57 - Thonglor
Thong Lor & Ekamai
PlayHaus Thonglor
PlayHaus Thonglor
#226 of 891 in Bangkok
229 reviews
Sukhumvit
Salil Hotel Sukhumvit Soi 11
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Thong Lor & Ekamai
Volve Hotel Bangkok
Volve Hotel Bangkok
#258 of 891 in Bangkok
49 reviews
Thong Lor & Ekamai
Somerset Sukhumvit Thonglor Bangkok
Thong Lor & Ekamai
Aspira Hana Residence Thong Lor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Salil Hotel Sukhumvit - Soi Thonglor 1? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salil Hotel Sukhumvit - Soi Thonglor 1

Address: 44/14-17, Soi Sukhumvit 53, Sukhumvit Road | Khlong Tan Nuea, Watthana, Bangkok 10110, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Thong Lor & Ekamai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #218 of 891 Hotels in Bangkok
Price Range: $70 - $94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Salil Hotel Sukhumvit - Soi Thonglor 1 3.5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away in a small street, Thonglor Soi 1, this stylish hotel boasts an awe-inspiring Spanish architectural style to all visitors. The hotel comprises of three main wings housing 122 guest rooms. Surrounded by greenery away from the hustle and bustle of Sukhumvit Thonglor, incredible peace and quiet prevail. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Salil Hotel Sukhumvit - Soi Thonglor 1 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing