We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Well located and good value” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Legacy Express Sukhumvit by Compass Hospitality

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Legacy Express Sukhumvit by Compass Hospitality
Ranked #294 of 839 Hotels in Bangkok
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Well located and good value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2012

Our booking for the hotel was initially scheduled for last November. However due to the floods, the trip was postponed twice till early March this year. We would like to commend the staff and management of Legacy Express for being extremely gracious for honouring the booking without any additional penalty charges.

We stayed for a total of 4 nights. The taxi driver that took us from the airport brought us to Legacy Suites which is also located in Sukhumvit but at Soi 29. It took a while before we got to the correct destination. I think Legacy Express can try to improve the location map online by adding in some driving instructions in Thai. But not to worry, it was only a small glitch.

We are very pleased with the size of the superior room which comes with a very comfortable King size bed and many useful appliances (kettle, safe, hair dryer, mini fridge-hidden in the closet). The current booking also comes with a free half day city tour (admission fees to sights excluded).

The hotel breakfast spread is decent. In the morning, there are street vendors on the right side of the hotel selling breakfast items and during the night food vendors selling affordable and authentic bangkok food can be found just next to the hotel on its left. There is a 7-11 store and a clinic right outside the hotel.

The hotel is walking distance to Ploen chit BTS skytrain. Right underneath the bridge leading to Ploen chit BTS station (on the same side of the hotel) is a thai massage parlor that is very popular with tourists. The service is excellent and we managed to get some reprieve for our tired legs from the incessant shopping.

In short, I would choose to stay at the Legacy Express if I visit Bangkok again.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Phoebe_Lye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LegacyExpress, General Manager at Legacy Express Sukhumvit by Compass Hospitality, responded to this review, 19 March 2012
Dear Khun Phoebe_Lye,

Thank you for choosing Legacy Express for your stay in Bangkok. We understood that you had to amend the trip to Bangkok because of unforeseen circumstances in Thailand at the end of last year.

Regarding your review, we are glad to know that you were very pleased with our superior room, comfortable king size bed, and useful appliances in room. I also noted down the point of our location map that you mentioned and will improve on that.

Once again, thank you for your comments and this review on Trip Advisor. We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Best regards,

Ms. Nuntaporn S.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

407 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    102
    184
    92
    15
    14
See reviews for
59
131
94
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Phuket
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2012

We stay here for 5 nights, the room is not too big, but comfort. Staff is helpful, the lift in in the hotel is small and sometime it stop. Many arab and middle east people stay here. The Hotel is close to the BTS Pleon Chit Station, just 3-4 minute walk. 7-Eleven is just at the first floor of the hotel and the food center is just 1 minute walk from the hotel. You can go Siam Paragon, Terminal 21 and many place from here very easy.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hktinter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LegacyExpress, General Manager at Legacy Express Sukhumvit by Compass Hospitality, responded to this review, 16 March 2012
Dear Khun hktinter,

Thank you for the short review and choosing Legacy Express for your five-night stay in Bangkok. We believe that you like our location and convenience here.

We hope that we will have another chance to welcome you back again in the near future.

Best regards,

Ms. Nuntaporn S.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2012

If you are shopping hunter, this is the place for you! All the shopping mall are just 2-3 station away from this hotel. You can even walk to Siam Paragon, MBK ... just turn right and go straight! cool! If you fancy with red light district, just turn left and go straight as well.

Tips: Book the room directly through their website and you will get half day temple/city/river tour absolutely free of charge, you just needs to pay for the entrance fee.

If you visit Bangkok for temples (majority at Khao San road area), well ... a bit far as this hotel located at shopping street, but still reachable! You can connect the skytrain to pier, and from pier, you can take boat from one pier to the other. (get the map from Hotel or you can search it online). I would recommend travel by skytrain instead of meter taxi. This is the modern way to explore the city. Avoid the tuk-tuk at all. I survived for 6 days in bangkok by taking only skytrain and walk.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Goh C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LegacyExpress, General Manager at Legacy Express Sukhumvit by Compass Hospitality, responded to this review, 2 March 2012
Dear Khun GohChinPing,

Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor following your recent stay. We are glad to read that you like our location since we are well situated in downtown and easy access to many places.

We hope to see you again the next time you are here in Bangkok.

Best regards,

Ms. Nuntaporn S.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2012

Stayed here one night between flights. The hotel was a 2 minute walk to the sky train and a night market. We had already seen the old city a few weeks ago, so this hotel was a good location for us because we wanted to explore downtown.

The room was very clean, and the bed was very comfortable. The bathroom was a good size, and even had a closed shower stall so that the whole room never got soaked.

We didn't have much of a view outside our window as it was blocked, but the quality of the room more than made up for that.

We came down for breakfast 30 minutes before it ended, so there wasn't much left when we got there. I'd recommend getting there a bit earlier.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LithiumPhoenix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LegacyExpress, General Manager at Legacy Express Sukhumvit by Compass Hospitality, responded to this review, 27 February 2012
Dear Khun LithiumPhoenix,

Thank you for the short review and sharing us your feedback. We very much appreciate that you would stay with us again. We strive to do our best to ensure that you will have the similar experience for your next visit.

Best regards,

Ms. Nuntaporn S.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vienna
Level Contributor
44 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2012

This was my 4th trip to Bangkok and i selected this hotel for its location, reasonable rate, free wifi and included breakfast and got what i expected!

LOCATION:
Main reason that we stayed there was the nearly perfect location right on Sukhumvit Road, 200m from the BTS station "Ploen Chit" which made travelling around easy and fast (Siam Square 10m, weekend market 20m, airport 50m). There is plenty of different choices of food nearby and a 7/11 in the building.

PRICE:
We booked a "Superior Room" direct over their website for 1500 bht/n including
* Free ONE Half Day city tour (Except admission fee)
* Free daily breakfast for two persons
* Free in-room Wi-Fi
* Free international prepaid Sim Card
* Early check-in at 9am and late check-out at 4pm (subject to room availability)

ROOM:
The room was exactly as you see on the pictures, including AC, TV, radio, safe, fridge, complimentary water and shower, no bathtub and no minibar (no real problem because 7/11 on ground floor).
What i really disliked and was them finally cost a 5* rating was the unusual noisy AC, the varying water temperature in the shower and that there isn’t a power plug in the entire bathroom, which sometimes could be useful e.g. for shaving.

BREAKFAST:
In some of the reviews i road complains about the breakfast, but for us and we prefer the sweet continental type of breakfast it was fine for Thailand standards. Cereals, different kind of toasts, Croissants and other sweets, fresh fruits, tea, coffee, juice and all of the mentioned constantly replaced during the entire breakfast time frame from 6:30-10:30am.

HINT:
When you considering using the “Airport rail link” to Phayathai, than interchange to the sky train Sukhumvit line as we did (approx 50 minutes in total), than keep in mind that the Sky train stations have escalators only upstairs which means you have to carry your suitcases downstairs.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank -Man0nTheMove-
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LegacyExpress, General Manager at Legacy Express Sukhumvit by Compass Hospitality, responded to this review, 27 February 2012
Dear Khun –ManOnTheMove-,

Thank you very much for taking time to review your stay experience at Legacy Express.

We are happy to hear that you chose our property for your 4th trip in Bangkok. Moreover, our location, reasonable rate, free wifi, and included breakfast have met your expectations. However, we do apologize for some points that you mentioned regarding the noise of air conditioner, the varying water temperature, and power plug in the bathroom. I have noted down for the improvement.

We hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back again soon.

Best regards,

Ms. Nuntaporn S.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

I booked several nights at the Legacy Express based on the reviews here on Tripadvisor and I was not let down. The rooms were clean, the staff friendly and helpful, the double bed comfortable and large, and the location... well, it's close to ideal as near as I can tell! BTS stations are nearby and you have all of Sukhumvit Rd. to explore, for better or worse. Didn't notice any noise or other disturbances.

Some tips for first-timers: avoid the taxis and tuk-tuks just outside and learn how to use public transit. Also, one very small drawback: the breakfast was merely functional, but to place this comment in context, I have yet to have an excellent breakfast at any hotel in Thailand. Never mind that; if you're looking for a decent hotel with good value in a nice location you could do much worse than the Legacy Express!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexander X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LegacyExpress, General Manager at Legacy Express Sukhumvit by Compass Hospitality, responded to this review, 27 February 2012
Dear Khun Alexander X,

Thank you for choosing Legacy Express for your stay in Bangkok.

We are glad to know that our overall services and facilities have met your expectations and we are Good value in Bangkok. We strive to do our best to ensure that you will have the similar experience for your next visit.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Best regards,

Ms. Nuntaporn S.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
69 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

This hotel is well located and a decent value for the price. It is located near two Skytrain stations -- I actually preferred the Nana station as using the Ploen chit station required walking across a busy highway. Either way, it's only a few quick stops to the shopping area at Siam. The staff were welcoming enough upon checkin.

The rooms are fairly modern and quite clean. It is a busy noisy -- I was rather ill when I arrived and had to sleep during the day. The busy road outside made this a bit difficult. I also noticed that some of the furnishings were a bit worn, but overall I was quite satisfied with the room. The a/c works well, which is a definite plus in the heat of Bangkok.

The breakfast was fine -- nothing special but there are plenty of other eating options nearby. There is a 7-11 at the entrance which is convenient for getting snacks/drinks. The doorman always smiled when I returned to the hotel -- a nice touch.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank eobri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LegacyExpress, General Manager at Legacy Express Sukhumvit by Compass Hospitality, responded to this review, 27 February 2012
Dear Khun eobri,

Thank you for giving us the feedback regarding your recent stay.

We are delighted to learn that overall you were quite satisfied at Legacy Express – our modern room, air conditioner, cleanliness, convenience, and staffs. In addition, you like our location which is well located and decent value for the price. We hope to have a chance to welcome you again in the future.

Best regards,

Ms. Nuntaporn S.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Sukhumvit
On8 Sukhumvit Nana By Compass Hospitality
Sukhumvit
Majestic Suites
Majestic Suites
#201 of 839 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 509 reviews
Sukhumvit
Citrus Sukhumvit 11 by Compass Hospitality
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Wattana
Rembrandt Towers Serviced Apartments
Sukhumvit
Grand Inn Hotel
Grand Inn Hotel
#563 of 839 in Bangkok
3.5 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
Sukhumvit
Aspen Suites Sukhumvit 2 by Compass Hospitality
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Legacy Express Sukhumvit by Compass Hospitality? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Legacy Express Sukhumvit by Compass Hospitality

Property: Legacy Express Sukhumvit by Compass Hospitality
Address: 29, Sukhumvit Road | (Front Corner of Sukhumvit Soi 1), Bangkok 10110, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Sukhumvit
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #294 of 839 Hotels in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Legacy Express Sukhumvit by Compass Hospitality 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Legacy Express is one of Bangkok's newest brands, delighting travellers with affordable accommodation in a prime location on Sukhumvit Road, featuring bright, modern rooms fitted with every convenience and comfort. This newly built 3-storeyed low-rise accommodation has just 63 rooms guaranteeing personalised service and attention to detail. Our fully air-conditioned rooms are decorated in rich earth tones and are equipped with the latest in-room technology including wireless internet access and, 32" LCD TVs and an in-room safe. With 24-hour security, wireless internet access in the public areas in addition to two internet stations in the lobby, a restaurant serves a delicious variety of Middle Eastern, Thai, European cuisine and fresh seafood and a 7-Eleven convenience store is also located right outside. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Priceline, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com and Travelocity.ca so you can book your Legacy Express Sukhumvit by Compass Hospitality reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Legacy Express Bangkok Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing