We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really Nice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Focal Local Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 710 Bangkok B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 May 2012

Great service, nice breakfast, confortable room, Karam the owner will make you feel so confortable and he is just so helpfull, its a pleasure to stay there. Is well located and you can move around the center of Bangkok :) They do the laundry for good prices, its a safe place. Karam will give you many precious advises about what do in the city.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank andreinita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Focal-Local, Manager at Focal Local Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2012

Thank you very much for the review and for choosing Focal Local as a first start of your trip. I hope you had a safe and fun journey afterward....All the best :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (450)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

286 - 292 of 450 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2012

Karan and his wife were just the perfect hosts for our first night in Bangkok! We arrived to Bangkok quite early in the morning so our room wasn't ready when we arrived to Focal Local. However Karan told us that we can leave our backbags there and recommended some good breakfast places.
Rooms are in good shape and they are clean. Focal Local isn't in the busiest part of Bangkok wich is really good thing! And it's not that close to Khaosan! However it's really easy to take a riverboat to go explore the city.
Only "bad" thing was that the WiFi didn't work, but there is a computer in the reseption that you can use. Breakfast was really good and I can recommend the Thai style breakfast.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HenriSuopanki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Focal-Local, Manager at Focal Local Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2012

Thank you so much for your review. We're glad that you enjoyed your stay here, even though we're not in the centre of Bangkok. Sorry about the Wi-fi conection, we'll always make sure that it works consistently. Hope we'll have a chance to accommodate you again...Take care :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2012

I stayed at here for 3 night and the beginning of a 8week trip and ended with 2 nights before my flight home. It really is a wonderful place to stay. Great rooms with different themes, spotless, awesome shower. It is a short ride to the BTS station or sawthorn water taxis. I like using the motorbike taxis really quick and inexpensive. Everyone at the Focal local is smiling and helpful from the check in with the cool drink, to the terrific breakfasts, to the great advice on sites and ways to get around Bangkok. U should stay here! Thanks to Karan and all the friendly staff I'll see you again.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paulkvan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Focal-Local, Manager at Focal Local Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2012

Thank you so much for your review. It's our pleasure accomodating you at the begining and the end of your trip in Thailand. We'll look forward to seeing you again :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2012

My partner and I stayed at Focal Local for three nights from the 11th to the 14th of May 2012. Everything about our stay was perfect and looking back there is nothing we would change.

Despite being slightly outside the heart of the city centre it was only five minute (hotel subsidised) tuc-tuc to the passenger ferry terminal (Sawthorn Bridge) and sky train station. The benefit of being out of the centre in a more residential area is that it is very quiet at night. There are also lots of good eating places within five minutes of the hotel for dinner.

Our bedroom was spotless and like the rest of the hotel was finished to a very high standard. The breakfasts in the morning were delicious and rated amongst some of the best food we tasted in Bangkok. Karan and his staff were extremely friendly and attentive and were always on hand to offer help and advice.

We would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Bangkok and if we go back any-time soon we will definitely try and stay there

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rossweir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Focal-Local, Manager at Focal Local Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2012

Thank you so much. Your enjoyable stay is a great reward for us. we'll retain our good works and will look forward to accommodating you again in the future...Kob Kun Krub :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2012

Focal Local was a wonderful place to start our trip. My husband and I currently live in Vietnam. Asia is not known for their comfortable beds. It was such a treat to sleep in Focal Local's bed. It was even better when we took a shower. It had great water pressure, which is a luxury to us. The staff were so friendly and helpful. They wrote out all our destinations in Thai in case we got lost. They really did try to go above and beyond. Also, it was really nice to have a key to open the main entrance so you can come and go as late as you want.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vi P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Focal-Local, Manager at Focal Local Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2012

Thank you very much. We're so happy to know that the directions in Thai we wrote, has worked well with you and many other guests :D We'll look forward to seeing you again :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2012 via mobile

Focal Local was an excellent place to stay. It has such a cute homey character and amazingly helpful and friendly staff. This B & B was just what we needed when arriving in a huge unknown city. We really appeciated Karan's advice each day, he pretty much planned our day with us each morning! We thoroughly enjoyed our tasty Thai breakfast each morning too! Loved the themed rooms, we felt very relaxed at the end of a busy day. Thanks again Focal Local, we would definitely go back!

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ShaanandJessica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Focal-Local, Manager at Focal Local Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2012

Thank you very much for your review. Our little B&B will always welcome you for your next Bangkok visit...Take care :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2012

Focal Local is a relatively small B&B in the Thonburi District of Bangkok, out of the way of tourists, but quite well placed if you wish to get a glimpse of the Thai way of life. It's owner and manager, Karan is a young Thai, who is quite willing to take an active part in making your stay a remarkable one: he can arrange more or less anyhing from fetching a tuk-tuk for you or booking restaurants to getting a doctor. He also prepares the breakfast each morning, each morning something different, and invariably something specifically Thai.
The rooms are each furnished individually with a different style and they all offer a comfortable stay. You have all the basics of an excellent stay, you'll get to appreciate the airco, hot water and Wi-Fi after a few day's stay in Thailand. Do not expect luxury, this is a B&B after all, but the warm and personal service of Karan and his team make up for the missing spa, pool or whatever you'd fancy in an international hotel chain. We'd go back any time.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank psz_trademarked
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Focal-Local, Manager at Focal Local Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2012

Thank you so much. We are glad to hear that Focal Local made your stay enjoyable. Even though we do not have a pool or luxury spa :D Hope we'll have a chance to serve you again in the future :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Silom
Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok
The Peninsula Bangkok
#11 of 885 in Bangkok
4,475 reviews
Sathorn
Eastin Grand Hotel Sathorn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Silom
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
#22 of 885 in Bangkok
8,465 reviews
Banglamphu
Old Capital Bike Inn
Old Capital Bike Inn
#1 of 710 in Bangkok
559 reviews
Banglamphu
Inn A Day
Inn A Day
#3 of 710 in Bangkok
454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Focal Local Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Focal Local Bed and Breakfast

Address: 289 Soi Charoennakorn 28 | Charoennakorn Road, Klongsan, Bangkok 10600, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 710 B&Bs / Inns in Bangkok
Price Range: $70 - $86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Focal Local Bed and Breakfast 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Focal Local is a boutique Bed and Breakfast located on Thonburi district in historic downtown Bangkok. Formerly known as the old capital of Thailand, Thonburi district offers the perfect getaway from busy city life without compromising on transport. The ideal location to visit a local touch of Bangkok, with local temples, daily markets and local food stalls. Focal Local is just 5 minutes away from the BTS sky train station and Chao Phraya River by Tuk Tuk [Thai Motor Tricycle Taxi]. Our different themed rooms are designed to match the diverse tastes of all our guests. In addition, the authentic Thai or Western complimentary breakfast is served upon guest's preference. We offer guests extra services including in-room WiFi, Internet corner, and free shuttle Tuk Tuk to BTS sky train or the pier. We can also assist you booking some tours in and outside Bangkok. We look forward to making your stay enjoyable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Ctrip TA so you can book your Focal Local Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Focal Local Hotel Bangkok
Focal Local b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing