We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice hostel and good location”
Review of Lub d Bangkok Siam

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Lub d Bangkok Siam
Ranked #25 of 1,213 Speciality Lodging in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Balikpapan, Indonesia
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“nice hostel and good location”
Reviewed 22 May 2012

I stayed 5 nights in a Female Dorm and it was nice. The hostel is clean and well maintained. The location is near BTS national stadium so that I don’t need tuk-tuk and taxi to go around Bangkok area.The location is near a lot of shopping centers in siam area and restaurants. Would stay there again when I'm in bangkok.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fransisca S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,037 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    558
    363
    81
    18
    17
See reviews for
47
182
349
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2012

I live in Central Thailand and visited Bangkok for one weekend to have my teeth cleaned. I found some great reviews for Lub D and I am glad I did. I was traveling alone so the ladies' dorm was a perfect option for me. I didn't need the fanciness of a private room as long as the accommodations were clean and comfortable. The hotel/hostel blew me away, to say the least. The lobby staff are fun and friendly, willing to give you the scoop on anything you need to know. I speak Thai so it didn't matter if they spoke English, but from what I observed almost all of the staff, aside from cleaning, spoke English. An added bonus for travelers, I would imagine. My bed was in one of two bunk beds in an immaculately clean room. The price was 500 baht/night for Saturday and Sunday, this amounts to about $15 USD. I had a shared bathroom but it was so clean I didn't mind it one bit. It was convenient. The bathroom provided soap and shampoo which made packing nice and easy. Each dorm has a very efficient air conditioner, a must in Bangkok heat during hot season. There was a night bar crawl that the hotel orchestrated but I didn't tag along. However, typically during the daytime they organize a trip as well. On Sunday I went along to Chancujak market and it was tons of fun. Also, a friend met several friends in his dorm and we all went out to the bars together. We made lots of friends, had a blast, slept comfortably and all for 15 dollars. I will go to this hostel every single time I stay in Bangkok, hands down.

Room Tip: If you are flying solo and want to meet new friends, pick a dorm. If you have some extra cash they h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julia946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manchester, uk
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2012

Enjoyed our stay in this funky hostel. We had a private double room, which was decorated in a very modern way - it almost felt like a boutique hotel, at a fraction of the cost! Couldn't be handier for the BTS station - you can literally see it once you step off the train from the platform! This was a great boon, after we'd stayed in more 'high end' places that were a lot further from transport links, I'd pick this one for location hands down over other frills. Only complaint was that the breakfast options in the cafe were limited, but there's plenty of stuff nearby - head to one of the big malls in siam square for a super foodie treat! Overall, wouldn't hesitate to recommmend.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank melp2k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon, Portugal
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2012

Spend my last night on this hotel/hostel in Bangkok. Cheap, honest and with staff always ready to help. Near a BTS station and a short tuktuk/taxi ride to Khao San Road.
Booked it because it would be easy to get to the airport from the trip home, and it really is.
Stayed in a double room with bathroom. Small, but clean and well organized, with reasonable bed quality.
A big shopping center and a 7/11 just a few steps away and also really near Jim Thompson's house.
A good option for a medium-low budget.
Would stay there again, with no doubts.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank breky_nuno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2012

We stayed 2 nights in a Female Dorm and it was a very good experience! The hostel is very clean especially the sharing bathroom/showers which are very well maintained. The room was a little smelly but confortable and the staff is very friendly. Possibility to have breakfast and the location is near a lot of shopping centers, massage places, restaurants. Easy to reach from the airport with the skytrain and quite in the center of the city. I would definitely recommand this place for any backpackers or group of friends looking for an affordable but confortable option.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nathalie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary,AB
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2012

Spent 4 nights here in a private double after coming from Australia. It was very cheap compared to hostels there, but expensive compared with others in Bangkok. We didn't sweat the price as we had a fantastic stay and would definitely come back.

Pros - Great location, right across the street from MBK, the shopping and eating options are near endless. Also easy to describe to taxis if you don't speak Thai.
- Very helpful English speaking staff, everyone there was awesome!
- Cheap and filling continental breakfast, 80 baht if I remember correctly.
- The decor in our room were great, it's a concrete building so it can seem dingy, but we felt right at home in our room.
- A/C worked fantastic inside the room.
- Clean, our room and the bathrooms were always spotless. There was always a staff member cleaning.
- QUIET! the concrete building filtered out all the noise, the street was always busy outside but we had fantastic sleeps.

Cons - The breakfast meals were good, but the rest of the food that they offer are just frozen and reheated. We tried one meal and didn't have another.

We don't have much to complain about for Lubd Siam, we had a fantastic stay. Would recommend to anyone who travels to Bangkok. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
130 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 691 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2012

I spent 5 nights here at Lub*D Siam Square. I had a private room, and I must say it was beyond my expectation.

The staffs were friendly, helpful, knowledgeable and courteous. Although it is harder to meet people here than other hostels, and the staffs don't really help you much in meeting new people. But they do have events set up for you to meet other travelers, and you just have to talk to people more on your own.

The room was comfortable and the bed was restful. Although there was a construction next door, but I barely notice the noise, especially with my ear plugs. The shower has superb water pressure, it would be nice to have a fridge in the room, but I lived without it.

I booked the Ayutthaya tour and the Floating Market plus Elephant Ride through them. They were both totally organized and made my life much easier with the limited time I had in Bangkok.

The location of this hostel was superb. It was right next to a BTS station, Which made my 6 days here tuk-tuk and taxi free. I took the trains and the ferry boats to all the major attractions in Bangkok. The food court at Paragon Plaza about 5 minute walking distance away was my daily dining spot.

Overall, This place was fantastic, and I will def. be back.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Frank L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Siam
Ibis Bangkok Siam
Ibis Bangkok Siam
#155 of 863 in Bangkok
1,459 reviews
Siam
Muangphol Mansion
Muangphol Mansion
#745 of 863 in Bangkok
138 reviews
Siam
Mercure Bangkok Siam
Mercure Bangkok Siam
#102 of 863 in Bangkok
2,088 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Siam
Holiday Inn Express Bangkok Siam
Siam
Happy 3
Happy 3
#120 of 863 in Bangkok
346 reviews
Siam
Chao Hostel
Chao Hostel
#26 of 1,213 in Bangkok
266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lub d Bangkok Siam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lub d Bangkok Siam

Property: Lub d Bangkok Siam
Address: 925 / 9 Rama 1 Road | Wang Mai, Pathumwan, Bangkok 10330, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Siam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 1,213 Speciality Lodging in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Lub d Bangkok Siam 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Location. Location. Location.Lub d's new hostel is in the Siam Square quarter, renowned as the best hangout area in Bangkok. At Siam you've got it all: culture, entertainment, eats, espresso joints, shopping, bars, clubs, etc. Here, literally on your doorstep, is Bangkok's Skytrain (BTS) which connects you to the rest of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity.ca, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Agoda and Cancelon so you can book your Lub d Bangkok Siam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lub d Bangkok - Siam Square Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing