We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Feung Nakorn Balcony Rooms & Cafe
Ranked #13 of 616 Bangkok B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Gloucestershire
Level Contributor
72 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2012

This place is amazing. The staff were so helpful and polite, the location is good, just a 10 minute walk from Koh San Road one way and a 5 minute walk to Wat Pho the other way. Tucked in a side street it is quiet, but very near to the hustle and bustle you would expect in Bangkok. The food that we ate there was ok, but obviously the street food is much cheaper, but this is only a matter of personal taste. The rates are very reasonable and I would recommend this guest house to families, singles and couples.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Petra W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

553 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    273
    235
    39
    6
    0
See reviews for
94
235
58
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ra'anana, Israel
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2012

1 km walk from kaohsan road, in a quiet and green environment

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Liat_Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2011

First up, yes, it's true. The hotel can be a bit difficult to find as my cabby too had difficulties. Technically it shouldn't be that difficult but perhaps a better map on the web site would be helpful. Now that I've been there, it's really quite easy to find.

In any case, that and a weak cable tv signal are my only complaints.

That being said, the location was a huge benefit to me. Close to the river, the Grand Palace and only a 15 minutes walk from Khao San.

The hotel is a three sided box with a very nicely manicured garden courtyard with some extremely attractive water features. The bar was also very, very nice.

I thought the staff were top notch. They were always helpful and consistently did anything they could do to assist.

The room was clean and crisp. The AC worked well and the washroom was fine albeit in the style of other places I've stayed in Thailand with a shower head in the washroom itself and not isolated in a stall although this one did have a shower curtain (just watch out for a wet floor). The room also had a nice sized safe (my Netbook fit with no problem), electric kettle, hair dryer and a small fridge/mini-bar with space for your own items too.

Back to the restaurant .... I thought the food was always very good and while someone here said it was too expensive, I did not find that to be the case as you are always going to pay a small premium for hotel food and drinks compared to Khao San or any other street location. I found the prices to eminently reasonable.

The room rate was very good too IMO.

I would like to thank the staff for a wonderful stay. Every individual did their best to please. I'd have no hesitation in staying their again depending on my location needs.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 December 2011

The hotel is really really nice, with a great looking bar area as well, though I never went to it. Your cab will have a hard time finding this place, so this is the GPS coordinate. Type it into your smartphone and you will get right to it: 13.748553,100.497875

The bed was large and the room was clean and new-feeling. It was quite easy to walk from here to the river or to Wat Po, maybe 0.5 miles or so. The neighborhood felt safe. Great place! They even took my laundry after it was too late, and thank god because I was out of underwear!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Cameronjpu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodstock, Canada
Level Contributor
34 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2011

This hotel was very comfortable and in a great location for quiet, yet close to any of the sights we wished to see while visiting Bangkok. Our room was very comfortable and spotlessly clean. The staff was very accommodating.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Woodstock_CanadaLand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2011

Firstly we got the hotel pick up in a taxi which was a tad expensive but no hassle as I had printed off the mp online. Having said that get any taxi and would expect to pay around 300 baht so much cheaper.

As soon as we arrived about 7.30am we were taken up to our room. The rooms in the guesthouse are spacious, cleaned to a high standard and have everything u need for a pleasant stay including hair dryer, kettle, towels etc.
The gardens and bar/ restaurant areas are what makes this place stand out from the rest. Feung nakorn is a little oasis in the frantic city of Bangkok, a quiet and peaceful haven away from the crowds.
To summarise if you want to stay somewhere with character, close to the grand palace and temples, near khao San road but far away enough from it, friendly staff and clean rooms then book now! You will not regret it x

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Parker1483
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2011

We paid $50 for our room and were pleased. The breakfast area was lovely & there was coffee in the room, so that made us immediately happpy. The location was quite good - it was easy to walk to the major tourist sites and cheap to get a taxi anywhere (metered, of course). We had the handy directions in Thai from the guesthouse but taxi drivers still could never figure out where the place was. However, we heard that's the case with many drivers, so keep that in mind.

Room Tip: The air-con creates enough white noise to drown out even the loudest noises!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TwoContinentsLeft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Banglamphu
Riva Surya Bangkok
Riva Surya Bangkok
#23 of 851 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,650 reviews
Banglamphu
Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel
Banglamphu
Tara Place
Tara Place
#55 of 851 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chinatown / Yaowarat
Shanghai Mansion Bangkok
Shanghai Mansion Bangkok
#90 of 851 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,286 reviews
Banglamphu
Villa Phra Sumen Bangkok
Villa Phra Sumen Bangkok
#33 of 851 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Feung Nakorn Balcony Rooms & Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Feung Nakorn Balcony Rooms & Cafe

Property: Feung Nakorn Balcony Rooms & Cafe
Address: 29 Soi Feungthong Feungnakorn Rd., Watradchabophit | Phranakorn, Bangkok 10200, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Banglamphu
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 616 B&Bs / Inns in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Feung Nakorn Balcony Rooms & Cafe 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the old neighborhood area with historical building and shop houses stand lively along one of the first road in Thailand. Feung Nakorn Balcony Rooms and Cafe is a one stop heritage destination and is perfect for tourists searching for a nostalgic experience in old Bangkok. Standing right at the center, it is just a few steps away from many major historical attractions – 10 minutes walk to the Grand Palace and Wad Pho, 15 minutes walk to Khao San road and 10 minutes walk to flower market.Feung Nakorn Balcony itself boasts a mix of Thai and western designs, a 4 story building, which has been converted from a local elementary school but retains many of its classic structure and design. Here you’ll find the main reception area, a cozy open-air restaurant, and a peaceful landscaped outdoor garden. There are 4 suites, 30 standard rooms and even 4 shared dorm rooms to accommodate backpackers. The rooms are decorated with an eclectic mix of Thai styles for a different experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity.ca, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Feung Nakorn Balcony Rooms & Cafe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Feung Nakorn Balcony Rooms & Cafe Hotel Bangkok
Feung Nakorn Balcony Rooms And Cafe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing