We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet, near the nightlife on Silom”
Review of Baan Silom Soi 3

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Baan Silom Soi 3
Ranked #117 of 752 Bangkok B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 July 2012

Baan Silom is a small, recently redecorated hotel on Soi 3 in a good location for enjoying the Thai nightlife. Patpong is a 300 meter walk, crossing Silom. The room is basic, but very clean. It had a large window covered with slat blinds which we never opened as the view was only of the dirt behind adjacent residences.

We stayed five nights on two different visits. The second time we had a car and the owner kindly let us park for two nights in one of the four spots in front of the hotel. The outside veranda is very comfortable with nice touches in the garden with small pond. I sat there for some time using the free wireless internet, which by the way never seemed to be working properly on my floor.

It's a good value for this area, and we would stay there again in the future for sure.

Room Tip: I always ask for a corner room or end of the line, but that's me.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Professor_Jeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (143)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

68 - 74 of 143 reviews

Reviewed 14 July 2012

We'we lived here for 6 days and 5 nights. Excellent location, near metro, this hotel is a pleasant surprise. Lots of shops, restaurants and food stalls nearby. Room space for large light and very clean, the air conditioning is a little noisy. Staff is very friendly, 24 hours security and counter staff, very safe, though in a lively area, but the hotel is very quiet in the alley is the choice of value for money, if the opportunity or will choose to live here.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pablo A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2012

We stayed for 4 nights before heading back home. I booked the room at 9.30 the morning and went to the place at 12.30 pm in the afternoon. We had no problem even checking in a little earlier than we should. The lady was very nice and helpful, so as the security guy. The location is excellent. You can, technically, walk to both Saladeang or Chong Nonsee BTS station less than 10 minutes. The room was average, definitely not fancy, but not too bad at all. Street food is all around the area so as the more expensive restaurants. This place is, by far, the best budget hotel I've ever stayed at.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NisaTLSanFrancisco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2012

Okay so we stayed here for two nights. Booked the room because it had good reviews on TA. I'm happy to say it met my expectations.

Pros:
LOCATION: great location near the night market and party scene. Also, there's food everywhere and within walking distance. Although its in a very busy area the hotel is tucked away on a quiet street right across 7/11. Sky train is close by as well. We loved the location bc it's walking distance from the party scene.
HOTEL ITSELF: very clean, didn't smell, friendly staff, easy taxi access. They have a safe in the room and a Hyde bathroom. The AC worked perfectly even though it kept getting TOO cold if you wanna be picky. I didn't see any bugs or roaches thank god. I was actually surprised because even some 5 star hotels have a bug or two.

Cons:

THE INTERNET WIFI SUCKS!! It pretty much is unusuable and we couldnt get online not ONCE!! But literally right next door there's an Internet cafe that charged 30baht for 30 minutes to use their computers. So it was okay.

Overall I'd definitely stay here again. Really recommend this place if you want to be in the heart of all the action but also be able to sleep at night :-)

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elmoglo143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2012

Rooms:
Stayed here for a week from March 4th 2012 to March 15th. The thing I really liked about the hotel was the room, good size, well laid out with high ceilings. We didn't feel cramped in this hotel and for the price we paid, it seemed well worth it. The room is elegantly furnished with very little decoration or clutter, which makes for a spartan but somewhat elegant feel. The bathroom was another thing I really liked in the is hotel. I don't know if all the rooms have this kind of bathroom but in the room we were staying in(201), it was cavernous, well laid out, and and the clothes closet located inside it.

Location:
This hotel is located on soi 3 a narrow street with no sidewalks which is a little scary to walk on when there is a lot of traffic.. However, there are plenty of food vendors and local restarants and bakeries so there is plenty of cheap, good Thai food. If you are a little tired of the local fare there is also a lot fast food joints very close by on Silom. Saladaeng BTS, and MTR are about 7 minute walk away enabling you to get to all the major sites in Bangkok.

The only thing I think this hotel needs is a better lobby/public area. There is a nice huge verandah area out front with beautiful wicker furniture however it's to hot to sit there for a long time. The lobby area is somewhat small with a small office desk where you check in.

However for the money we paid, the rooms and location made this a great deal.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2012

Good spot, close to Patong night markets and the Sirocco. Spacious, clean room, and free WiFi.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MereldeBoer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2012

Very friendly staff, quiet but very close to markets, great place to stay in bangkok, hard beds, but at 30 bucks a night i would sleep on anything but the floor, worth the stay here thats for sure.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dougalass111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Silom
The Siam Heritage
The Siam Heritage
#200 of 894 in Bangkok
931 reviews
Silom
Trinity Silom Hotel
Trinity Silom Hotel
#206 of 894 in Bangkok
1,731 reviews
Silom
Silom Serene
Silom Serene
#267 of 894 in Bangkok
520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Silom
Silom City Hotel
Silom City Hotel
#118 of 894 in Bangkok
797 reviews
Silom
The Heritage Bangkok
The Heritage Bangkok
#774 of 894 in Bangkok
1,612 reviews
Silom
Amber Boutique Silom
Amber Boutique Silom
#37 of 752 in Bangkok
237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baan Silom Soi 3? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baan Silom Soi 3

Address: 16 / 11 Silom Soi 3 | Silom, Bangrak, Bangkok 10500, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Silom
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #117 of 752 B&Bs / Inns in Bangkok
Price Range: $48 - $63 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Baan Silom Soi 3 2.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique accommodation, 16-room, located right in the heart of Bangkok. Spacious rooms start with 35sqm, the best as its price. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Baan Silom Soi 3 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baan Silom Soi 3: Boutique Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing