We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spacious Rooms conveniently located”
Review of Baan Silom Soi 3

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Baan Silom Soi 3
Ranked #126 of 728 Bangkok B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 January 2017

We booked 3 rooms in the Baan Silom Soi 3 in November for a family group as a base to visit Bangkok before going further North to explore Thailand further. We had touched down in the early morning and got to the hotel at about 9am. I had emailed ahead asking if there was any chance for an early check in and the hotel had already stated that they were fully booked the previous night and they would make rooms available to us at the earliest opportunity. When we got there there had not been any early check outs, but we were able to leave our bags with the reception and go out and explore for a few hours - when we got back our bags had already been moved to the rooms.

The main selling points for this hotel is it's location and the size of the rooms.

It's midway between Chong Nonsi and Sala Daeng, and close enough to the bustle of Silom yet far enough away in a side street (Soi 3) that the noise is not significant. The adjacent food street market (note: closed on Sunday) is also a bonus as the hotel doesn't do any catering of its own other than the hot/cold water dispensor and free tea/coffee/snack supplies in the reception area. It does have a convenient lounge/waiting/informal dining area at the front of the reception area, and a handful of parking spaces (chargeable).

Our Superior Twin rooms were exactly as described and spacious; although not spotless they were clean. The rooms all had a slightly different layout but the facilities were essenatially the same. The rooms facing the street had slightly more road noise but there wasn't that much difference.

Good things
Spacious rooms, quiet enough
Although it's chargeable at THB250 for 8 hours, they do have a limited amount of parking outside. We had a hire car to head up Northern Thailand and this was a key criteria for us
Unlimited tea/coffee/snacks in the reception
The hotel helped us scan our passports for an online visa application for no cost.

Minor annoyances:
The layout and availability of power outlets did vary from room to room, so one room didn't have a bedside power outlet.
Reception would only let us have a single room card per room so if you wanted to slipt up and couldn't predict who would be back first, or someone wanted to sleep and the other one wanted to go out you had to mess around leaving the card at reception or getting the reception/security to let you in
There was no soup at the wash basin, you had to reach into the shower to get some soap from the fixed dispensor there
Although there was nothing wrong with the tea/coffee in reception, it would have been nicer to have a kettle and drink making facilities in the room
From memory, all the TV channels were Thai only

Bed firmness - quite firm, 8/10 in the plunet bed firmness rating. I like a firm bed and this was just about perfect.

Wifi - this was a bit variable and had different APs with different names on each floor. I experienced download speeds varing from 1M to 11M and upload was usually around 2M. Just a shared WPA2 key, no registration portal or limit on number of devices.

Would I go back - yes. All the annoyances were minor. It's more budget than high luxury but perfectly serviceable.

And just in case it's useful, below is the address of the hotel in Thai, I couldn't find this online before I left and got the hotel to email it to me. The location of the hotel on google maps is accurate.

บ้านสีลม ซอย 3
16/11 ซอยพิพัฒน์ สีลม3 เขตบางรัก
หลังธนาคารกรุงเทพ สำนักงานใหญ่
โทรฯ 02-2354300

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back of the hotel if you want less road noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank plunet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (140)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

9 - 15 of 140 reviews

Reviewed 27 November 2016 via mobile

My wife and I have stayed here numerous times over the last couple of years and it is a nice but basic hotel, staff are really friendly and the location is excellent for the BTS. Silom and Patpong market are extremely close and there is plenty of restaurants to eat at nearby.

Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank lebaillys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2016

Baan Silom is a nice quiet hotel in the heart of Silom road. It is off the main road down soi 3 but not very far. Everything you want is only 5 minutes walk away and it is close to the MRT to go outside the Silom area. I enjoyed my stay and will stay there again.

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Ed T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2016 via mobile

Hotel near to BTS and patpong night market. Morning market just right behinds hotel where u can get your morning breakfast. Massage is avaliable everywhere within walking distance. Hair Salon too. CLOUD 47 less than 5 minutes walk.
Hotel should replace blind with curtain!

Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Alice L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2016

I had a very comfortable air conditioned room.....spacious, scrupulously clean, very friendly and helpful staff. A short walk to Patpong Market and Pintsman Bar ( a lovely place for a cold beer and a good meal).

Stayed: April 2016
1  Thank BabyBilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2016 via mobile

Things i like-
The room got lots of glass panel , i love walking up to sunshine pn my face!
The owner is super nice! During Songkran they will gather and have food feast infront of the hotel and customers are invited , home cook at it best!
I like the spacious toilet too!
But on top all, locationx3!! The nearest hotel is holiday inn express, silom forest and silom convent and all priced higher than baan silom , value for money!
I went to bangkok like 4x yearly and the first hotel i would look for availability will be baan silom.
Gona stay here during 2016 songkran and will update my review again.

Stayed: December 2015, travelled solo
Thank jeremyrizz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2016

As a past client of this hotel, I am incredibly disappointed with the action of the hotel management yesterday. After booking 6 nights accommodation at the hotel, approx 2 months ago, I received an email from them yesterday, the day we were supposed to check-in, confirming they had overbooked the hotel and could not longer accommodate us for the first night. They blamed the receptionist (of course management are never at fault) for the overbooking. They kindly held a room for us at the hotel next door and believed they had done enough. The hotel next door was disgusting, to say the least. A filthy, rundown establishment, with stained bed linen. We looked at one room and walked straight out. It was then approx. 8pm in Bangkok and for no fault of our own, we were now walking around Silom looking for accommodation in the dark. Their contempt of us and our patronage was evident in the appalling standard of the 'alternative' hotel they so graciously held for us. They made no effort to find an 'equivalent' standard hotel, no effort to pay for it, based on us paying for their accommodation and were happy to blame the receptionist for their inability to effectively run their own establishment. I have worked in tour operating for 25 years and have never experienced anything like it. Book this hotel at your risk, but expect nothing. Be prepared to find an alternative hotel if the poor receptionist continues to receive bad training and a total lack of professional support from management.

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Warren S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Silom
D Varee Diva Bally Silom, Bangkok
Silom
The FAH Silom
The FAH Silom
#104 of 728 in Bangkok
17 reviews
Silom
Silom One
Silom One
#27 of 728 in Bangkok
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Silom
Good One Hostel & Cafe Bar
Good One Hostel & Cafe Bar
#11 of 1,335 in Bangkok
210 reviews
Thomson Residence @ Ramkhamhaeng
#468 of 1,335 in Bangkok
24 reviews
14 Mansion
#248 of 728 in Bangkok
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baan Silom Soi 3? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baan Silom Soi 3

Address: 16 / 11 Silom Soi 3 | Silom, Bangrak, Bangkok 10500, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Silom
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #126 of 728 B&Bs / Inns in Bangkok
Price Range: $42 - $64 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Baan Silom Soi 3 2.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique accommodation, 16-room, located right in the heart of Bangkok. Spacious rooms start with 35sqm, the best as its price. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Baan Silom Soi 3 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baan Silom Soi 3: Boutique Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing