We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Worth every penny” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of InterContinental Bangkok

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
InterContinental Bangkok
Ranked #26 of 838 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Worth every penny”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2012

We stayed at four 5 star hotels during our almost 3 week holiday in Thailand, two of which were in Bangkok, and the Intercontinental was one of the best all-rounders. We opted for a club level room and were placed on the 34th floor and this was certainly worth the extra money.

The view was incredible but it's the benefits of club level that make it worth it. Breakfast on the 37th floor in a private area, fast check-in/out, access to a club level concierge and freebies like free happy hour cocktails, snacks and afternoon tea. You also had access to an iPad or computer should you need it. You were also treated incredibly well, with a professional but friendly service.

We did have a couple of small problems - the air con wasn't working properly one evening and our iPod dock didn't work, but one quick phone call later someone was sent (immediately) and the problem was solved with little fuss. We even got letters of apology.

The room itself was spacious, comfortable and had everything we'd expect from a 5 star hotel. The location was also perfect (central and easy as a base if you're holidaying here). We'd definitely go back and recommend it to family and friends

Room Tip: Club level is worth the extra money. Book online - if you book at the hotel the rates are a LOT more...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KellyAngelHeart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FOM I, Front Office Manager at InterContinental Bangkok, responded to this review, 17 February 2012
Dear Guest,

We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your feedback and comments on TripAdvisor regarding your recent visit to our property.

We are extremely delighted to see that you enjoyed and happy with our facilities and services, especially at our beautiful Club InterContinental. It is most rewarding to learn that our facilities and service are appreciated by our guests. We will do our best to keep up the standard to always meet with our guest's expectations.

Once again, thank you very much for your observations and fine compliments. We look forward to the privilege and pleasure of serving you again at InterContinental Bangkok.

Kind regards,

Krissana Uthaisri
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,863 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,080
    606
    117
    38
    22
See reviews for
543
766
280
761
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (567)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2012

My husband took me to this indulgent buffet for our Valentine's Day celebration and we will go back!
One of the best seafood spreads in town! Espresso's unique shellfish offerings with Maine Lobster, a selection of quality caviar, and Alaskan crab would have cast a shadow over the other buffet selections if it weren't so appropriately paired with an equally exciting range of global fare--from Wagyu Beef to Austrailian rack of lamb and a Mongolian BBQ set up. With a trifecta of quality food, excellent service, and great value Espresso sets the bar for the luxury buffet scene in the heart of Bangkok! Definitely a must for visitors and locals, alike!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tammy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FOM I, Manager at InterContinental Bangkok, responded to this review, 17 February 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting a review of your dining experience in our hotel.

It is indeed a pleasure to learn that we have succeeded in creating a memorable dining experience for you and helped you and your husband to have a brilliant time on your Sunday Seafood Brunch in our well-known Espresso restaurant.

Once again, thank you for your kind observations, and recommendation on the review. We look forward to the privilege and pleasure of welcoming and serving you again at InterContinental Bangkok.

Warm regards,

Chris Hamilton
Food & Beverage Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2012

Good service. Room is spacious and customer service is excellent!
The front desk Officers were excellent and they were empowered.
Their reminder helped - i almost left my iPAD in the room!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Adrian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FOM I, Front Office Manager at InterContinental Bangkok, responded to this review, 17 February 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your nice review. We are glad you had a wonderful experience during your stay with us. Your fine compliment on room and staff is really appreciated.

Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Krissana Uthaisri
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai, Thailand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2012

I haven't stayed in every hotel here in Thailand. That said I have stayed in many.

I will make a bold statement because they are deserving. InterContinental Bangkok is the hotel I use to compare service levels wherever I stay around the world. It's good enough for one staff member offering his trademark service for 43 years.

I feel satisfied spending a little extra for at least one night of Club InterContinental. Their service allowed me to relax and unwind. I truly enjoyed St Valentine's Day with my partner.

A special thank you to Khattiya for her last minute dash to give me a birthday cake!

Room Tip: Club InterContinental is exceptional if you can spoil yourself
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sammy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FOM I, Manager at InterContinental Bangkok, responded to this review, 17 February 2012
Dear Guest,

Your beautiful comment on the staff served as further inspiration for us to do what we do best which is providing memorable experiences for our guests.

Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience in our hotel, especially on the service at Club InterContinental. It is our great pleasure to know that we met your expectations and have created a delightful experience for you.

Thank you once again. We look forward to your next visit.

Yours truly,

Natthanan Kovacic
Club InterContinental Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
perth
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2012

Took my mother to Bangkok for her 80Th birthday.I new she would like it here as i have stayed here twice before.From the moment we arrived we were treated like queens.The hotel is so
well located close to shops. restaurants,and the sky train also the taxi's are very cheap.The gym is fantastic and open 24/7.The rooftop pool is great to have a quick swim to cool down after shopping all day. But the most importantly the STAFF are amazing.Do yourself a favor and
stay at this fantastic hotel.Also the club room is soo special.
My special thanks to Markus,Nat and Khattiya for making are stay so wonderful.

Room Tip: Up grade to club
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tenderloin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FOM I, Front Office Manager at InterContinental Bangkok, responded to this review, 17 February 2012
Dear Guest,

We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your feedback and comments on TripAdvisor review regarding your recent visit to our property.

We are extremely delighted to see that you enjoyed and happy with our facilities and services. It is most rewarding to learn that our facilities and service are appreciated by our guests, especially your recognition on Mr. Markus Platzer our General Manager and our staffs at Club InterContinental Natt and Khattiya.

Once again, thank you very much for your observations, and fine compliments. We look forward to the privilege and pleasure of serving you again at InterContinental Bangkok.

Yours sincerely,

Krissana Uthaisri
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2012

Just come back after another fantastic trip to Bangkok where we split our time between another hotel then spent 8 blissful nights in the Intercontinental.

As always the experience from start to finish was calm and relaxed with nothing too much trouble for the hotel staff.

Our room was on the 34th floor with a great view over the city, rooms here are beautifully finished and the beds give one of the most comfortable nights sleep i've had in a hotel - room a bit close to the lifts which make a pronounced whine but once you got used to it it didn't get in the way of a good nights sleep or my usual afternoon nap :)

Having club lounge access here REALLY adds to the experience as it provides a little "bolt hole" that you can come to in order to chill out and relax out of the city heat. Breakfast is always relaxed and the mix of buffet and hot items from the menu mean you are spoilt for choice. Afternoon tea is a complete treat with lots of cakes, scones and sandwiches to choose from and the evening service sees the table groaning with an excellent selection of hot and cold canape's inspired by the Hotel's various restaurants.

My best memory will be sat in the club lounge watching the sun go down over the city with a glass of good red wine and some delicious nibbles.

HUGE thank you to Andrea and all the boys and girls in the Club lounge for looking after us during our stay - look forward to seeing you all again in June!

x

Room Tip: Having an IC hotels priority club membership is a HUGE bonus!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Edinburghlad70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FOM I, Manager at InterContinental Bangkok, responded to this review, 17 February 2012
Dear Guest,

We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your kind feedback and comments on this review.

We are pleased to learn that you were happy with our facilities and services while you were staying with us. It is most rewarding to see that our facilities and services especially at our Club InterContinental are appreciated by our guests.

Once again, thank you for your kind observations, and recommendation on the review. We look forward to the privilege and pleasure of welcoming and serving you again in June :)

Yours truly,

Natthanan Kovacic
Club InterContinental Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2012

From the second I entered the hotel until the second I left I was enjoying this hotel. Everyone here smiles and tries everything to please you and help you until the intercom in Mauritius.

They upgraded me to a suite since I am an Intercon Ambassador, the only thing which bugged me was the pool is small but apart from that this hotel is excellent very well located very clean.

I will always stay there!

Room Tip: Go as High as you can as the streets are noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gomaam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FOM I, Manager at InterContinental Bangkok, responded to this review, 17 February 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your nice review. We are glad you had a wonderful experience during staying with us. Your compliment on benefit of our Loyalty program and staff is really appreciated.

Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Best regards,

Kwanchai (Quincy) Yokto
Assistant Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Pathumwan
Anantara Siam Bangkok Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Holiday Inn Bangkok
#101 of 838 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,288 reviews
The St. Regis Bangkok
#15 of 838 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Bangkok

Property: InterContinental Bangkok
Address: 973 Phloen Chit road | Lumphini, Pathum Wan, Bangkok 10330, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Pathumwan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#14 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#17 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#19 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#23 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Bangkok 5*
Number of rooms: 381
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental Bangkok is located right in the heart of Ratchaprasong, the core of the Bangkok's business and commercial districts. Nearby are many international companies, numerous embassies and top-flight medical facilities. The fascinating Erawan Shrine and major shopping destinations such as Central World, Gaysorn and Siam Paragon are within walking distance while access to other parts of Bangkok is fast and efficient by Skytrain, the nearest station being literally steps from the hotel's entrance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity.ca and Agoda so you can book your InterContinental Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Bangkok Hotel Bangkok
Bangkok Intercontinental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing