We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, bad hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Duchess Hotel and Residences
Ranked #267 of 885 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 December 2011

I choose this hotel because of its location and it definitely was conveniently located, about 5 minutes from 2 BTS stations, lots of good restaurants and shopping.

However that is where the positive points end.

Reception was O.K. but not too friendly and no one took me to the room.

When I entered the room it smelled terribly of cigarette smoke. I called reception and they said the entire hotel was smoking.

The room is old, there are cracks on the walls that have not been repaired and stains on the furniture. A lot of the wooden surfaces are chipped.

No LCD TV, only 2 very old models. There was good channel selection with 3 movie channels and news.

The bathroom was somewhat modern but the sink is much too low and the shower head kept falling off. The tub is large.

The pillows were not comfy and there is no pillow menu. The bed was quite hard.

The big problem is all night long there is some kind of bird that calls out. It is extremely annoying as just when you get to sleep it wakes you up.

Breakfast was poor. The orange juice was sugared tang, no yogurt or soy milk options. With 30% of the world lactose intolerant it would seem normal to have an option. When I spoke to the restaurant manager she informed me that they did not carry any of these things but I could buy some yogurt from her! She did offer to buy the things for me the following day. However the following day the staff had no idea what I was talking about. Eventually she arrived and sorted it out.

I asked to have my room changed but was told that it was not possible. I then asked to talk to the general manager. Eventually he showed up. I explained all of the above points and he rudely told me that the hotel operated at 97% occupancy and there was no way I could change my room. I spoke about the bird and he said he was fully aware of it but that was the natural sounds of Thailand so too bad. I spoke about the breakfast and he said that they did not carry and would not carry and of the items I asked for. He made it very clear that he would be happy if I left. Amazing. If they do operate at that high occupancy I would think it is not due to returning guests.

I did leave and went to the hotel across the street, a Marriott, and was very pleased with the service and room. It was a little more expensive but it was worth every penny to get a quiet room, decent breakfast and very helpful staff!

Room Tip: Do not stay here if you are a light sleeper!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nonoiseplease
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChuckyBangkok, General Manager at The Duchess Hotel and Residences, responded to this reviewResponded 22 December 2011

As I was personally involved with the complaints of this customer, I feel that the review is not fair. We do have one of the best breakfasts in town that is catered by Lenotre the leader in confectionary in the world. Yes we do not have a pillow menu. We do have three choices of Fresh juices and yoghurt available everyday. With regards to the sounds of the birds in the early hours of the morning, I did reccommend to the customer that I would be more than happy to move him to a five star hotel next door that is an affiliate hotel at no additional costs as a gesture of goodwill as there was absolutely nothing that could be done to stop the natural calls of the birds. My manager also personally bought some non-sugared products for the customer. The customer tried to extend his stay but could not as we were running a full house. This may have compounded his discontent.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (538)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

223 - 229 of 538 reviews

Reviewed 21 November 2011

We stayed for 2 nights on the 4th and 5th of November in a 1 bedroom apartment on 19th floor at a rate of 3000THB/night inclusive of a nice breakfast.

Location:
To start with I shall let you know that the locality and surrounding is very decent, semi residential area with restaurants and two 7-11s, but it is some solid 15 mins walk from chit lom BTS station. I chose this location as it was far from the noise and bars/nightlife n a peaceful area and is in vicinity of BTS station.

Rooms and hotel overall:
-What it lacks in closeness to BTS station, it more than makes up for it in the decor and tasteful lighting in the hotel and the rooms. The long walks back from BTS were always worth it when you return to a beautiful apartment. They are very spacious and luxuriously decorated with all the amenities one can imagine in an apartment.
- there are 2 LCD TVs, 1 in the lounge and the other in the bedroom.
- Lounge sofas were very soft and comfy, though the bed was a bit hard for my wife but ok for me.
- The kitchenette is stacked with all the things you can imagine, crockery/plates, glasses (both wine and normal), pots, utensils etc. A rice cooker, tea kettle, microwave, tea/sugar etc.
- Very Spacious bathroom with glass partitioned shower area and separate bath tub. All bathroom amenities are available and are replaced daily
- Good breakfast with variety of pastries (danish etc) and croissants, fruits, and other dishes. Breakfast is from 7:30 to 10:30 but usually extends till 11:00

Staff and service:
- The staff is very helpful. The doorman is nice and guides you to the locations to see in bangkok.
- Whenever you need something just call from your apartment and they will come back to you in either case, but the effort is there to fulfill the customer's needs.
- We called for slippers and got them in less than 10 mins.
- Daily housekeeping is amazing as in addition to cleaning, all bathroom and kitchen amenities are refilled and even the dirty dishes are washed and stacked properly in the cupboards. a true serviced apartment.
- Staff always tries to accomodate all your requests

In short you can't go wrong with this hotel, I wish I could have such an apartment where I live. I would certainly stay here again!

Go for it and live like Kings in Bangkok. Laze away the day in your apartment watching movies if the weather outside is not favorable.

Room Tip: Go for it and live like Kings in Bangkok. All apartments are amazing and truly serviced apartments...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Besanc0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2011

Stayed here many times 4-5 years ago and it was very good.
On latest stay - no parking spaces for guests - leaking shower - they forgot to clean my room ! - -curtains did not keep out the light and reception was rude and clearly not bothered about guests.
There are many good serviced apartments close to here and Center Point has just had a nice refurb for the same money,
Overall a real shame as it was very good in days gone by.

Room Tip: Stay at Center point or Marriott Mayfair next door
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank benbee1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2011

The location means a walk of about 5-10 minutes for a healthy person.

The hotel have some impressive surroundings, depending of room level and location you can get beautiful window scenery. The flatscreen with stereo addition was great and the bed was very good.

A bathtub in my room, i prefer a shower. A kitchen part and iron possibilities in the room was a nice addition. Good safety box in the room.

Very nice employees.

The pool was a little small, slightly covered by roof (in case of rain = great), not a city view when swimming in water however, you had to standup on the toes by the side to see some city scenery.

The gym was a "little" dissapointment; lack of selection of machines and aged a quite bit. Didn't feel like "Skip Sport".

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LarsScreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2011

Stayed 3 nights in large apartment - great for our little 2yo. Very nice hotel, maybe getting a little old though. Reasonable location about 500m from bts. Good value for the price

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2011

I was in a studio - like an ordinary room but with a kitchen area outside the bathroom. It was nice room, well equipped and clean, and of a decent size. The restaurant/bar on the ground floor, with an outside area overlooking the road, is excellent. Their desserts are remarkable.
The only gripe is with the genius who designed the bath/shower. No matter what I did it was impossible to stop water from the shower pouring all over the floor and soaking the bathmat. Even though it eventually drained away and dried, it is further evidence that much of the design industry should be strung up for being indifferent to practical functionality.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Nicholas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2011

Overall not a bad stay. Place is clean. Fabric couch has some yellow stain but is fine. Nice quiet area that is near major shopping centres. Can even walk down all the way to Emporium and even Siam Paragon(if you need a bit of exercise!) Nice clean gym and pool which I did not get to use. Did not try the breakfast. St outside had small stalls on weekdays selling noodles and coffee. Love the coffee. Can see working adults around the area in the morning peak 8 -9 am. Short walk to BTS and there's a small shop a few blocks away or cross the road to the opp. there's a supermarket that sells most stuff, even wine and hard liquor. Below BTS station there's some stalls in morning selling some thai snacks or breakfast, fruits as well.

Just beware of bellboys trying Hard to get cab for you at 1000 Bhat to 500 bahts(bargain down price). Just wait along st, to get cab. Plenty of them. This spoils the whole experience for what could be pleasant and nice stay.

Beware of dog poobs along st as well!

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank marfy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Centre Point Hotel Chidlom
#75 of 885 in Bangkok
656 reviews
All Together Suite
#640 of 885 in Bangkok
28 reviews
Cape House, Bangkok
#60 of 885 in Bangkok
659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sukhumvit
Rembrandt Towers Serviced Apartments
Kantary House, Bangkok
#339 of 885 in Bangkok
165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Duchess Hotel and Residences? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Duchess Hotel and Residences

Address: 61 Langsuan Road, Lumpini | Pathumwan, Bangkok 10330, Thailand (Formerly Natural Ville Executive Residences)
Region: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#136 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#144 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#191 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range: $81 - $185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Duchess Hotel and Residences 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, ACCOR, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Cancelon, Travelocity.ca, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Duchess Hotel and Residences reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Natural Ville Bangkok Hotel Bangkok
Natural Ville Hotel Bangkok
Bangkok Natural Ville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing