We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location - if you can ever check in”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Anantara Riverside Bangkok Resort
Ranked #24 of 858 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great location - if you can ever check in”
Reviewed 9 May 2012

Previously stayed here as Marriott, and I can see the changes....... Check in was a disaster, no one spoke English and my saving grace was a basic amount of Thai. After I eventually managed to get to my room, not exactly clean!!! I decided on a drink at the lovely poor bar - until I see the prices!!! These are ludicrous! I understand a hotel must charge more, but this is boderline theft!

The one redeeming feature of this hotel is the food! Seems this has not changed, with the friendly face of a foreign European chef, German maybe?? sorry I cannot remember, to explain and discuss my needs - thanks again!

Breakfast was good, but something different such as Ice cream or a really good premium cold cut would really make the difference!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank p w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claudia P, General Manager at Anantara Riverside Bangkok Resort, responded to this review, 12 May 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review and I am very sorry to read about your arrival experience. As you can imagine this is the opposite of what we want to deliver and strive for. I wish you would give me the opportunity to contact you directly so I could hopefully learn more details about your experience. If so, kindly contact me via cpronk@anantara.com with a convenient day and time that I could get in touch with you.

Warm regards,
Claudia Pronk
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,508 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,848
    1,280
    269
    84
    27
See reviews for
1,493
2,404
239
348
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,005)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
228 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2012

This Hotel combines the best of a Resort with a City location. Excellent open and spacious property, both internally and externally, with a great location on the River, and fantastic restaurants. Staff are attentive and courteous. Frankly, this Hotel review is best summed up in a few words. Its simply the best. Dont waste time staying anywhere else.

Room Tip: Riverside view supplements are wasted. All Rooms are in good locations.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RollerCoaster999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Widnes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2012

We stayed in Bangkok for two weeks. As we thought the Anantara hotel was quite some way down the river we spent the first week in the Lebua Tower Hotel. Although this hotel was nice it could not be compared to Anantara and we regretted not spending our entire holiday there.

The Ananatar is just 15 minute boat ride from the train and public river ferry-it took us almost that time to walk there from the Lebua. We took a taxi from the hotel to the Asia hotel to see the Ladyboy show, it cost 100THB (£2) and that was quite a long way. The taxi fare from the Airport is THB300, + 70 for tolls. Dont let the drivers tell you it is anything more and ensure they put on the meter.

From the moment you arrive in Anantara you are greeted with a warm smile, a cold drink and a cold perfumed hand towel. The room was exactly as it looks on the web site and the service was second to none. The maid would leave a different coloured orchid on our pillow each evening and nothing we asked was too much trouble for her.

We booked a day trip which left the hotel before breakfast, the hotel arranged for us to receive a packed lunch. It turned out to be the only food we ate until after 2pm.

We ate mostly in Trader Vic's the hotel resturant, the food was really good and a nice place to chill and listen to live music. The breakfast was amazing. One of the breakfast waiters actually advised us of really good places to visit - one being the weekend market - fantastic, cheap and everything you could wish for. The pool area is a paradise, warm pool and comfortable loungers. Go for happy hour when drinks are two for one - all the best quality spirits.

Although this was my first visit to Bangkok, my partnet has visited many time before on business. He always stayed in the 5* hotels along the river, including the Shangri-la Hotel. He felt that the Anantara was far superior to any of the hotels he had stayed in before and we both agree that Anantara made our holiday special. Would I stay there again? Without doubt, we intend to spend two weeks there before the end of the year - Bangkok is amazing, from the trips along the canal to the elephant rides. I guarantee you too will have a holiday of a life time!

Room Tip: We asked for a room overlooking the river on a high floor and that is what we got. It is lovely to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank murphy4609
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bangalore
Level Contributor
43 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2012

Our first trip to Bangkok, we got the rooms as soon as we reached the hotel even though our check in time was 2 pm. We had initial problems with the room plumbing and ac but these were resolved very quickly and efficiently. The boat trips were very nice. The buffet spread was really good at breakfast. I wish the hotel also has a free shuttle into the city. The only negative bit is the distance from the city and thus the extra money we had to spend on taxis. There were DVD's and a player in the room all free so we enjoyed some good movies as well

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sm_del
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claudia P, General Manager at Anantara Riverside Bangkok Resort, responded to this review, 6 May 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your lovely comments. We are very happy that you had a great stay with us and of course hope to welcome you back in the near future. There is just one thing I would like to clarify since we do offer a free shuttle boat service from our resort to the Saphan Taksin Pier at the BTS skytrain station to facilitate going into the city. I am so sorry that you were not aware of this.
Once again, hopefully your visits bring to you Bangkok and to the Anantara Bangkok Riverside Resort & Spa again, we would be very pleased to welcome you back.

Claudia Pronk
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2012

Just stayed at the Anantara for the third time. I stayed last year when it was the Marriott.

The resort is still as lovely as ever. Nothing much has changed. The grounds are beautiful, the setting very peaceful alongside the river. If you want to be away from the hustle and bustle of bangkok, then this is perfect. There is a shopping center just behind the hotel where you can get most things you need. There are a few resteraunts too.

The staff are very professional, friendly and helpful. We stayed in the Deluxe Premier Riverfront room (the new updated rooms on the southblock). These rooms are more expensive than the Deluxe Riverfront rooms but worth it. I stayed in the non updated rooms last year and although they were nice enough, they were in need of a refurb, particularly the bathrooms which were terribly dated. The bathrooms in the new Deluxe Premier Riverfront rooms are really modern and luxurious. The only thing that let the room down was there was no tables and chairs on the balcony which I thought was odd. (Last year when it was the Marriott every room had one) Most people I would've thought would want to sit and relax on the balcony and take in the fantastic view? We complained and asked for 2 chairs and a table, and were given them very shortly, which I thought was good service.

The only gripe I had about this hotel is the price of eating and drinking at the hotel. Yes I know you always pay more at a hotel, I was prepared for that. But by the time they add on the tax and service charge it came to another 17% on top of the bill which made it really expensive for Thailand.

The breakfast at the hotel are excellent. The choice is good and the quality of the food excellent.

If you fancy playing tennis at the hotel, they have a couple of courts on top of the car park. I played each day with the hotel `knocker`, (sorry I can't remember his name), but I really recommend him and he was a lovely guy.

So, overall, I would definately recommend this hotel. It has a really dreamy, relaxing feel on the river in beautiful grounds.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sweetpeakirk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2012 via mobile

We stayed in the Riverside resort and had a really great experience. The hotel staff is more than friendly and very helpful. The restaurants are very good and we can certainly tip the faboulus brunch buffet on sunday with sushi, lobster, steak, French cheeses and more!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pastoor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2012

This is our first trip to Thailand and the stay at the hotel was great. Decoration, attractiveness, staff assistance and dining all get 10/10. Kids menu available at all the restaurants, kids club and baby sitting services at a very reasonable 250THB per hour (approx £5.00).
We upgraded to a riverside view room - Great views but we never ventured out unto the balcony due to a fear of mosquito attacks. The upgrade included a discount of 1000THB per night off dining at any of the hotels restaurants. Staff were incredibly polite and falling over themselves to make our stay pleasant.

Complementary boat shuttle service to local skytrain station meant that the main shopping malls are easily accessible. Taxi service around Bangkok is also very reasonable.

I cant recommend this hotel enough. The only negative is the expensive dining.

Room Tip: Upgrade to riverside view, not really for the views but for any available discounts to dining at the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Globetrekka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Silom
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
#21 of 858 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 8,025 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sathorn
Anantara Sathorn Bangkok Hotel
The Peninsula Bangkok
#7 of 858 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,256 reviews
Sukhumvit
Sheraton Grande Sukhumvit, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anantara Riverside Bangkok Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anantara Riverside Bangkok Resort

Property: Anantara Riverside Bangkok Resort
Address: 257/1-3 Charoennakorn Rd. | Samrae, Thonburi, Bangkok 10600, Thailand (Formerly Anantara Bangkok Riverside Resort & Spa)
Region: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Bangkok
#5 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#7 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#15 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#17 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#22 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Anantara Riverside Bangkok Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 408
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tropical Serenity In An Urban OasisSet on the banks of the grand Chao Phraya River, Anantara Bangkok Riverside Resort & Spa is a thriving oasis offering a unique way to experience the City of Angels. Majestic palms swaying in the breeze. Spa treatments hidden within lush tropical gardens. Luxurious suites lit by the twinkle of the city skyline. Delectable meals fusing tastes from around the globe.Situated on 11 riverside acres of verdant gardens, Anantara Bangkok Riverside Resort & Spa seamlessly blends the thrill of urban living with the serene charms of tropical luxury. Imparted with Thai tradition and legendary Anantara service, this exotic Bangkok resort offers a respite from the hustle and bustle of the busy metropolis. Take in the sunset from the edge of the pier, watching as river life unfolds before your eyes. Indulge in pampering spa treatments set in the tranquil environment of your own private garden. Enjoy unforgettable meals at any of our 10 bars or restaurants, each offering individual delicacies. Embrace the unique harmony of luxury and nature within this stunning Bangkok resort & spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Anantara Riverside Bangkok Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anantara Riverside Hotel Bangkok
Anantara Riverside Spa And Resort
Marriott Bangkok Resort
Marriott Bangkok Hotel
Bangkok Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing