We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Services as always”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Athenee Hotel, a Luxury Collection Hotel
Ranked #14 of 896 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 September 2017

I am very regular here, and always felt very good to be back here every now and then. Staffs are very nice, and willing to offer whatever I will need. All facilities always got upgraded to their best conditions. Location-wise, are one of the best in Bangkok. I will always come back here definitely, and strong recommended to everyone.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
29  Thank polthorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gilles E, Manager at The Athenee Hotel, a Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2017

Dear Polthorn,
Thank you for your note regarding the Plaza Athenee and we are so glad that you feel good while staying with us. We are in the center of Bangkok and one of the greenest location near the BTS, very near Lumpini park full of activities and great for a walk.
We appreciated very much your recommendation to your friends and hope we can see you again very soon at our hotel
Yours truly
Gilles E
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,598)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

332 - 338 of 2,598 reviews

Reviewed 19 September 2017 via mobile

Great hotel, facilities are nice! Has a classic feel when you walk into the lobby! The rooms are well kept and beautiful.
Witchuda, the women who checked me in was very friendly and provided wonderful and professional service!

Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
17  Thank Jay K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gilles E, Manager at The Athenee Hotel, a Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2017

Dear Jay K
Thank you for your review and we did indeed, kept an Royal Thai heritage for our remodeling of the hotel. The Plaza Athenee is actually located on Royal ground where once was located the Khandavas Palace, home of Princess Valaya Alongkorn.
Our guest rooms were design from patterns from Thai palaces and surrounding areas.
Thank you for recommending Witchuda and that you found our check in very professional. We will be glad to host you again at our hotel while vising Bangkok.
Yours truly
Gilles E
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2017

I have been visiting Bangkok for business trip often in the last several years and I always stay in this Hotel. The hotel is recently renovated and becomes even better. Room is designed very well with very comfortable bed, sofa, working desk and so on. The breakfast is delicious with so much choices, with many professional people (such as Waraporn and Maris) greeting you with smiles and serving you. As a platinum member I have access to their Club Lounge. They serve cocktails and food in happy hours from 6pm to 8pm. The service is excellent with a lot of drinks you can choose and a lot of tiny delicious foods. Their pool and gym are very good too, with a small garden near the pool you can walk around.
The Hotel location is convenient too. It is just minutes away from Sky train (BTS) station and a new shopping mall Central Embassy, where there are many brand name restaurants such as Ding Tai Feng, Somboon, Hongbao...

Room Tip: I usually stay in a King bed single room, in Royal Club stories.
See more room tips
Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
18  Thank qinchengz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gilles E, Manager at The Athenee Hotel, a Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2017

Dear qinchengz,
Thank you for visiting and posting a review about the renovation of our hotel.
We are glad that you have been with over several years and found our newly remodeled room very comfortable. Thank you for your positive note about our team especially Waraporn and Marissa.
As our loyal customer, with SPG platinium status, we are also pleased to read your appreciation of our Club lounge and the services provided by our team.
We hope to see you again very soon while visiting Bangkok
Yours truly
Gilles E
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2017

Very nice hotel in colonial style with a beautiful pool and relax area on the rough of the 3rd floor. The fitness room is good for a visit, too. The breakfast is great with a lot of option from all over the world.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
17  Thank QuarktascheWalter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gilles E, Manager at The Athenee Hotel, a Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2017

Dear QuarktascheWalter,
Thank you for your review and we are very pleased to read that you enjoyed our remodeling and style of the hotel, which is focusing on our Royal Thai Heritage. We have indeed renovated our pool surrounding and are one of the greenest in the city. Breakfast at the Rain Tree is also very important to us in order to give the right start to our guest from all over the world. We will be glad to see you again very soon at our hotel.
Yours truly
Gilles E

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2017

It is a nice hotel, a real super 5 star hotel deserve repeating to stay. They have best location, convinient access to BTS, excellent services, nice room and the breakfast is amazing. I would recommend both business and private purpose stay in this hotel.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
17  Thank Seapeak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gilles E, Manager at The Athenee Hotel, a Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2017

Dear Seapeak
Thank you for your input on Trip Advisor while staying at the Plaza Athenee Bangkok.
We appreciate your recommendation for business or leisure, and that you have loved our breakfast. Our location is indeed in a very green area of the city and very close to Lumpini park and easy access to BTS which will take you to all sights of Bangkok.
Will be glad to see you again very soon in our hotel
Yours truly
Gilles E
Hotel Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2017 via mobile

We stayed several days at the Athenee and nothing to complain. Additional service at the Lounge highly recommended. It is worth to pay the extra costs. Breakfast is amazing and 6star level. Location perfect to explore the city. If you need a 6star pool experience you should not book this hotel. But we did not use the pool as the surroundings were not sooo beautiful but for a swim it should be ok, too. We also enjoyed the famous Sunday brunch. Here are some photos!

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
17  Thank Mortischia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gilles E, Manager at The Athenee Hotel, a Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2017

Dear Mortischia,
Thank you for visiting us at the Plaza Athenee and your recommendation of our Royal Club lounge. This is a very peaceful area with a few extra offerings much appreciated by our guests. Glad to read that you also enjoyed the large selections for breakfast with an amazing display of specialties to fit all taste.
Fantastic to see that you had the opportunity to try the brunch and thank you again for posting the various photos of our dishes.
I hope we can welcome soon at our hotel for your next stay or visiting another restaurant.
Yours truly
Gilles E
Hotel Manager,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2017

This is a very elegant hotel. The staff at the entrance, elevators, and check-in were very friendly and quick to help. The buffet breakfast in the morning is phenomenal and the staff was helpful (but sometimes slow to bring coffee/tea). We enjoyed the pool and garden area with great views of the city. The pool is good for families because there is a shallow area (with a barrier) for young children to play/swim and then the larger, deeper pool area for those who know how to swim. The pool was never busy when we visited. The location of this hotel is also great. It's only a short walk to the BTS station.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
19  Thank Jenna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gilles E, Manager at The Athenee Hotel, a Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2017

Dear Jenna B
Thank you for your nice comments about our hotel and staying with us.
We are pleased you have enjoyed our pool area which is one of the greenest in the city and good for young children to play. Breakfast is one of the most important meal of the day and we make sure our selection will please all our customers. We are indeed a very short walk to the BTS sky train.
I hope we can welcome you again very soon at our hotel with your family
Best regards
Gilles E
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Sukhumvit
Sheraton Grande Sukhumvit, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sathorn
Eastin Grand Hotel Sathorn
The Peninsula Bangkok
#10 of 896 in Bangkok
4,697 reviews
Silom
Shangri-La Hotel Bangkok
Shangri-La Hotel Bangkok
#24 of 896 in Bangkok
8,885 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Athenee Hotel, a Luxury Collection Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Athenee Hotel, a Luxury Collection Hotel

Address: 61, Witthayu Road | Lumphini, Pathum Wan, Bangkok 10330, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Pathumwan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#13 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
#40 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#40 Business Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range: $235 - $460 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Athenee Hotel, a Luxury Collection Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 374
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of central Bangkok just steps from Phloenchit BTS skytrain station, The Athenee Hotel, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Bangkok is built on the former site of Kandhavas Palace and is one of Bangkok’s most fashionable places to stay and play host. Each of the 374 guestrooms and suites provides impressive views of Bangkok skyline and showcases a Thai-colonial design blending historic Thai culture with the most modern conveniences. Guests looking to relax have an array of facilities to enjoy, including a choice of eight award-winning food and beverage venues, rooftop lagoon-style swimming pool, and spa treatments curated for every blood type, to name a few. Family-friendly options include a choice of Family Room or Family Suite, child-friendly swimming pool, and amenities tailor-made to make your child’s stay more memorable. With the recent completion of a remodeling project, the hotel has been awarded the prestigious Five Star Asia Pacific Property Award 2015-2016 in the category of “Best Hotel Interior Thailand.” The hotel is also the first hotel in the world to achieve an ISO20121 certification for sustainable operations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Starwood, getaroom.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Athenee Hotel, a Luxury Collection Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meridien Bangkok
Plaza Athenee Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing