We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Peninsula Bangkok
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (4,803)
Filter reviews
4,803 results
Traveller rating
3,853
697
164
51
38
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,853
697
164
51
38
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsacross the riverbalcony roomgrand deluxe suitemei jiangfax machinethai restaurantwrong sideboat servicechao phraya rivershuttle boatbreakfast buffetriver viewmandarin orientalour honeymoonluxury hotelconcierge deskfour seasons
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 4,803 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed at the hotel as part of the wedding party. All the staff went out of their way to assist us with whatever strange and interesting questions & requests we had and provided us with outstanding service, always with a lovely smile on their face. One of the people we would most like to thank for their help is Pink, one of the many concierge's who's professionalism was outstanding, no request was ever to difficult for her to arrange. Many thanks! We couldn't fault anything with the hotel, the staff or the facilities! What a lovely stay! Mark and Jade

Room Tip: The rooms higher than 20 overlooking the river have the BEST views over the river life as well as the city.
  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Jade V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peninsula_BKK, Guest Experience Manager at The Peninsula Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Jade V,

We are gladly to know that our staff, especially Khun Pink from Concierge very well looked after and made you stayed comfortable and wonderful. Thank you very much for take time to share us, please rest assured we will pass your feedback to team members. We are looking forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Best regards,

Kaewta Phinyochanasin
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The Peninsula is situated right on the Chao Phraya river and almost all of the rooms overlook the river. We had a delightful balcony room on a higher floor that gave us an amazing view of the river and the whole city. The room was huge! We liked the separate closet area where we can store our luggage. Very spacious bathroom with separate shower and tub, and his/hers sink areas. Everything in the room is controlled electronically, from lights to curtains. The staff and service were excellent. They gave us beautiful flower wrist garlands upon check-in.

We enjoyed afternoon tea service in the lobby on our first day. Everything was delicious and beautifully presented. We had breakfast daily at the River Terrace Cafe. They had a very robust selection of western-style breakfast items (eggs, bacon, potatoes, sausages) in addition to Asian foods (fried noodles, fried rice, soup noodles, porridge, salted eggs, rice wraps, stir fry). The fresh mangoes were the ripest and sweetest mangoes I've ever had. Mangoes are in season in Thailand in March-July, so I'd recommend getting mangoes (with or without sticky rice) wherever you go.

There are 3 pools of varying temperatures located right along the river, plus a full suite of steam room, sauna, hydrotherapy pool, and cold dip pool in the spa/fitness center.

My favorite part of the stay was the cute rice barge boats that take you across the river. It's usually on demand, and we've never had to wait more than 5-10 minutes for it. You can take it to the Saphan Taksin BTS station to get on the main sky train. On Fri, Sat, and Sun evenings, you can take it to/from the outdoor Asiatique Mall.

We had a wonderful stay and would not hesitate to return!

Room Tip: Higher floor with balcony
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank gisathegato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We enjoyed Bangkok and were able to move somewhat efficiently from this hotel, despite the fact that Bangkok has the worst traffic I have ever experienced and I live in LA! The hotel is elegant, a bit older. Buffet is extensive. The shuttles to the other side of the river ( across from the Mandarin and environs) is frequent, gratis and easy. The room was fine with some caveats. The bed was hard without a mattress topper. Unusual in a 5 star these days. Also the luggage area and door to walk into the bathroom were tight and we were two women. Staff were pleasant. The pool area is iconic overlooking the river with good service. I would not say this is a mind-blowing 5 star in any way especially for Peninsula, but the easy access location makes it a return for me. We were considering an incredibly gorgeous and special boutiuqey five star that we ended up going to for dinner and it was really out of the way for getting around. I was happy we chose Peninsula and visited the other one.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
Thank tripindicular1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Very good all Round and not much changed in 10 years of coming here

Hotel is busy with groups so solo traveler can get lost amongst the crowd if u need something

Room staff will clean at any time of day by press of button and very quick and amazing service

Food at buffet is smaller and not as exciting as previous stay. Feels like cost cutting

Dinner was bbq and average

Breakfast still plentiful and fresh

Pool side was super busy.

Sauna was not working and spa needs razors and amenities that used to be available

Overall a good stop and good value.

Airport cars are first class. Traffics is 1hr of transit usually to and from

Boats to train and piers xcellent and fast

Concierge first class and helpful









Stayed: April 2018, travelled solo
1  Thank mabudo_likes_travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peninsula_BKK, Manager at The Peninsula Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Dear mabudo_likes_travel,

Greetings from the Peninsula Bangkok!
Thank you very much for being a loyal guest of the Peninsula Bangkok. Especially comments from well traveled guests like yourself help us to improve our services and facilities. We would like to apologize for the inconvenience cost regarding the out of service Sauna. Please be ensured that the Sauna has been repaired.

Thank you very much for your valuable comments.

Best wishes,

Falko Flamme
Food and Beverage Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

It is a great place to stay in Bangkok, right on the river, incredible pool and spa facilities, but it is showing its age. The rooms are spacious but laid out in an odd fashion, with a hallway that separates the room from the bathroom and closet areas. The decor also strikes, as my wife put it, of colonialism, lots of dark wood and oversized furniture, corridors are dark and imposing. This may seem snobbish but the hotel is directly next to what looks like a slum area, shacks and hollowed out former industry, we overlooked this from our room. Surprised a developer hasn't bought up that land to put another luxury property. That said, we had a lovely stay, service was excellent, I wish we could eat the buffet breakfast every day of the year, especially the fresh tropical fruits and juices. Enjoyed having cocktails in the River Bar outdoors overlooking the river at night. Overall, it's a nice hotel but I would explore other options if I'm in Bangkok again.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Andrew W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peninsula_BKK, Manager at The Peninsula Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Andrew W,

Greetings from the Peninsula Bangkok!

Thank you very much for your valuable feedback and your time.

We are glad to hear that you have been enjoying our beautiful property directly on the Chao Phraya river. Our resort within the city is most certainly one of the most luxury ways to relax after a busy day in the city. Our service and our breakfast are very important to us and we are very pleased that you have loved it. Comments like yours make our profession so special.

Thank you again for your helpful feedback and your time.

The Peninsula Bangkok is looking forward welcoming you back soon in our beautiful property.

Best wishes,

Falko Flamme
Food and Beverage Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews