We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Grand Hyatt Erawan Bangkok
Nearby Hotels
US$130
US$110
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Peninsula Bangkok(Bangkok)
US$254
US$206
The Peninsula
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$119
US$101
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$152
US$81
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Shangri-La Hotel Bangkok(Bangkok)
US$183
US$152
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$127
US$97
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$163
US$147
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$97
US$73
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Siam(Bangkok)
US$613
US$569
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$500
US$465
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (4,101)
Filter reviews
4,101 results
Traveller rating
2,906
890
197
71
37
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,906
890
197
71
37
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslower lobbycentral worldthe club loungesiam paragonf bexcellent locationbusiness tripbusiness hoteleasy accessbreakfast spreadbts stationshopping mallspassoghskywalkmeegym
Filter
Updating list...
3,316 - 3,321 of 4,101 reviews
Reviewed April 1, 2012

I stayed at the Grand Hyatt Erawan in Bangkok for a conference for 4 days. The hotel has clean, spacious rooms and attentive staff. It has a grand entrance and one of the nicest hotel lobbies. The bars and restaurants in the hotel are good. The meal I had in the Erawan Tea House was incredible with high quality fresh food and good service. Try the wine bar @494. It is exceptional with lots of variety and has good food. There is also a night club in the hotel which was popular with many of our conference attendees.

The good and bad news is the location. It is located in the center of Bangkok. It is connected to a fancy shopping mall and is and less than 5 minutes’ walk to the nearby Chitlom BTS monorail station and a ten minute walk to the Siam/Central Station via the Skywalk. The Bangkok Skytrain is easy to use, safe and quite cheap and is the best mode of transport if you want predictability to go to places in Bangkok as the traffic jams will play havoc on your planning and schedules. Traffic in Bangkok is simply horrendous, and unpredictable. A taxi ride to/from the Suvarnabhumi Airport takes about 30 minutes as long as you aren't in rush hour.
If you’re traveling to Bangkok for the first time try the online concierge before arriving to arrange airport pickup and to arrange a tour of the city. The pickup is very efficient and they’ll contact you immediately through email, to arrange specific arrangements. If you are here for leisure try a river tour or the floating market tour.

Our conference was held in The Residences section of the hotel, which is a classy section of the hotel. The food served by the hotel for the conference was exceptional.

I recommend this hotel particularly as a conference hotel. It's good if you are okay with staying in a traditional international hotel in a very busy part of town, while you’re in anything but a traditional city like Bangkok.

Room Tip: Room Tip: Get a room on a high floor facing the golf course, and away from the busy street
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank flyingcolonel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 31, 2012

I have stayed at the Grand Hyatt Erawan for many years and it is always a pleasant stay. During my trip in March 2012 my experience was again good, but it is important for travelers to know that changes are afoot.

First, readers need to know that the Grand Hyatt has survived a number of recent threats. The 2011 Thailand insurrection occurred in the same neighborhood of the hotel and Central World shopping mall located across from the hotel actually burned down. This was followed by the Thailand floods which did not impact the hotel, but certainly hurt business.

When I stayed a few weeks ago I found the same friendly faces, excellent service and determination to help guests. The service is flawless, polite, not pushy and considerate. As with most hotels it is the work of skilled and experienced hotels that make the visit.

Rooms and public areas in the hotel are showing their age. Worn carpets, older furniture, fading wood, etc. But, the hotel is undergoing a full refurbishment of all guest rooms and public areas! Construction has started and there is a bit of noise during the day which you must keep in mind.

I am a frequent user of the fitness center and the SPA both of which exceed expectations of what you normally find in a hotel. Facilities are clean, well appointed and up to date.

The Grand Hyatt food is good and in some cases excellent. I stay normally on the 16th floor which has access to the Club Lounge. Experienced staff makes this a wonderful venue and the food is OK, better now with the advent of three warm breakfast offerings.

One bit of caution. The Spaggos Bar in the lower level of the hotel is a nice place to eat, but about 10:30pm it turns into a active scene whereby the local ladies for hire invade the place and smile at anyone who is foreign. This is very fun to watch and not unusual...hey it's Bangkok. But for those who are overly conservative or prudish, it might be a shock.

Enjoy the Grand Hyatt Erawan, it's a wonderful hotel.

Room Tip: Stay on the 16th or 17th floor and take advantage of the club lounge. It is worth the investment.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IndyGuynside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 28, 2012

We have been looking for a hotel for regular trips through Bangkok and the Grand Hyatt was our latest try. It is a hotel that deserves its 5* rating and we will stay there again in future. It is elegant, well-run, has excellent facilities, accomplished staff and a perfect location for tourists who aren't fussed about staying by the river. Very close to Centralworld, Gaysorn and Amarin Plazas and with covered access to the BTS Skytrain station at Chit Lom, this is an excellent location.

Rooms are good and - a rare find - have decent bedside reading lights. Housekeeping service was impeccable. Our room had a spectacularly dull view over the adjacent multi-storey car park, but that didn't really bother us. Breakfast in the main restaurant was very good with a wide range of high quality items; attentive staff too. There is a good range of restaurants in the hotel and the pool area is very good for a central city hotel with lots of space between the comfortable sun beds.

Our check-in and check-out was very quick and we would have given this largely business oriented quality hotel 5* but the only niggle was the charge for wifi access, which nowadays is really as much an essential hotel item as bath towels. 750 baht per day is just unacceptable: wifi charges are the new minibar for hoteliers - a licence to print money. The Peninsula in Bangkok, for example, offers hotel-wide complimentary wifi and a Grand Hyatt hotel manager told me "we are reviewing our wifi policy". They did give me 24 hours free, which was good of them.

Overall, we would be happy to stay there again - recommended.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sue14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 14, 2012

Perfect hotel and perfect location. The hotel is modern, truly like Hyatt's! The best point is the 10/10 location. We have stayed in Silom, Marriott, Sheraton and we really thought that Silom and Marriott had better locations and were not too keen on changing locations, but I feel this is the best location of all. The hotel is excellent with lotsa eating options. Even a bakery! The location is very close to many shopping options. Almost walking distance to Siam for late night movies. Central, Gaysorn, Big c very very close by. U will miss the night market of Silom or sukhumvit, but that is just max 5 Minutes from here by cab. Breakfast is very lavish which u will truly enjoy! 7-11 or something is right opposite after crossing the red light. Temple is adjoining. Italian restaurant is very popular and good. Hard rock cafe not too far. Food court of central hardly 5 min walk. Overall a stay worth it's money and time. I wud definitely want to be back there.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank vineet1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 9, 2012

We stayed for three nights at the Grand Hyatt Erawan Bangkok and enjoyed the vacation very much. The location was very convenient and the service excellent.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ThomasToronto_Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews