We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (450)
Filter reviews
450 results
Traveller rating
182
143
65
39
21
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
182
143
65
39
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rooms are basic budget hotel swimming pool bangkok institution no lift fourth floor hotel pool central bangkok laundry service busy city thai food skytrain station foyer anong hammocks thailand pets
Filter
Updating list...
244 - 249 of 450 reviews
Reviewed July 29, 2012

Staying at the Atlanta is sort of like visiting your grandmother's house -- dated and a bit worn, with quirky rules but ultimately homey, warm and welcoming.

The place puts on sort of a Soup Nazi pose and pretends that the restaurant manager is stern and scary, but it's just a pose. She's a sweetheart. The food is good, prices hard to beat and there's atmosphere galore.

Note that there is no a/c in the lobby and no lifts, and there never will be. Wifi is free but doesn't reach the rooms. The clientele is a mix of tourists and regular visitors (one of our neighbors was a American reporter for a Cambodian newspaper).

The rooms are spacious and clean but spartan -- no television, nothing even hanging on the walls. We stayed in both the "small suite" and slightly cheaper "room with airconditioning." There's not much difference but "small suite" has a small sitting room that you probably won't use.

They do NOT accept reservations via Internet, only by fax and snail mail -- and they're as likely as not to lose them. Despite faxing and calling to verify, they had no record when we arrived, and we had to move around among three different rooms over five days. But we liked it enough that we returned after a week in Phuket.

The hotel is at the very end of Sukhumvit 2 -- tell the airport taxi driver "sook-um-wit soi song, krap." And check that he starts the meter. :-) BTS Phloen Chit and Nana stations are within walking distance.

There's a tour desk that is very pro-actively helpful. We used it only to book our cab back to the airport, but I'd highly recommend her ("Lek").

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yelvington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 28, 2012

We stay here every time we come to Bangkok. With its strict policy against sex tourists and low prices, this is the place to stay for us. The rooms are humble but clean, the food is inexpensive and good, the atmosphere is wholesome but artistic. So many European families bring their rosy cheeked delightful children here, and it's safe for single women. It's clear that the owners take pride in this old gem with it's sweeping wrought iron balustrade, and improvements are always being made in one form or another. Right now they tell me the fourth floor bathrooms are being completely renovated and the rooms painted. Also, there's a new Egyptian restaurant a couple of doors down with delicious food. Close to Sukhumvit Road and two sky train stations, I feel sure that the owners could sell this property for an amazing amount of money, so I feel grateful every time we get to stay here. Not for folks who can't climb steps. No elevator. The service here, though, is amazing for the price. You can get room service, and a porter will bring up your luggage. Long live the Atlanta!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 13, 2012

I went at the Atlanta first in 72 as a backpacker. Not much has changed since.
I love the swimming pool it has aged but still good.
Staff friendly. Food in restaurant quite good and cheap.
Aircon in rooms good.(no aircon in lobby)
Rooms and bathroom in need of renovation but still good value for money.
No lift to go upstairs but porter will carry your laggage for you.
All in all glad to see these sort of places still around.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Friendofeverybody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 22, 2012

I really liked what they tried to with the hotel. However there were some annoying things. The first, no wifi in the rooms. Each time I checked my email required a long trip downstairs (from the 5th floor). Also no AC in the lobby so you have sweat like crazy while using the Internet. A long way away from the main thoroughfare. Which was a drag to walk everyday. The staff are pleasant and helpful and the food in the restaurant was good.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Darren J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 20, 2012

The large but less than elegant budget rooms are amply compensated for here by the atmosphere, the decor, the pool and the food. The Atlanta is a real haven in Bangkok.Each time we've arrived in the evening we've been greeted with a complimentary refreshing drink and our backpacks have been carried to our room. It's so relaxing to eat in the restaurant: the food is cheap and excellent, there is a wide range of papers and magazines and the staff are helpful.
The pool has aged a bit but it is clean and there is a poolside gym.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynette2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews