We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliantly quirky!”
Review of Atlanta Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Bangkok
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Atlanta Hotel
Ranked #284 of 891 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 August 2012

We LOVED this hotel! It looks as though nothing has changed here since it opened in the 50s, but we loved the antique decor. The staff are friendly and helpful - they carried our bags, offered us a welcome drink, and gave us plenty of useful transport and sightseeing advice. We ate in the restaurant on our first night here and the food was excellent and very reasonably priced. There are very strict rules at the hotel, with signs up everywhere saying that sex tourism is banned, but as we weren't sex tourists, we were more than happy with this policy. The pool also has a large outdoor swimming pool to relax in, which although, like the rest of the hotel, was a little dated, was lovely and clean and great for relaxing in after a hard day's sightseeing. The hotel is pretty centrally located, and the rooms are basic, but large, comfortable and clean. The room rates at the Atlanta are very reasonable indeed - this unique, quirky place is excellent value for money, and also offers discount to NGO workers. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hannah K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (429)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

232 - 238 of 429 reviews

Reviewed 29 July 2012

Staying at the Atlanta is sort of like visiting your grandmother's house -- dated and a bit worn, with quirky rules but ultimately homey, warm and welcoming.

The place puts on sort of a Soup Nazi pose and pretends that the restaurant manager is stern and scary, but it's just a pose. She's a sweetheart. The food is good, prices hard to beat and there's atmosphere galore.

Note that there is no a/c in the lobby and no lifts, and there never will be. Wifi is free but doesn't reach the rooms. The clientele is a mix of tourists and regular visitors (one of our neighbors was a American reporter for a Cambodian newspaper).

The rooms are spacious and clean but spartan -- no television, nothing even hanging on the walls. We stayed in both the "small suite" and slightly cheaper "room with airconditioning." There's not much difference but "small suite" has a small sitting room that you probably won't use.

They do NOT accept reservations via Internet, only by fax and snail mail -- and they're as likely as not to lose them. Despite faxing and calling to verify, they had no record when we arrived, and we had to move around among three different rooms over five days. But we liked it enough that we returned after a week in Phuket.

The hotel is at the very end of Sukhumvit 2 -- tell the airport taxi driver "sook-um-wit soi song, krap." And check that he starts the meter. :-) BTS Phloen Chit and Nana stations are within walking distance.

There's a tour desk that is very pro-actively helpful. We used it only to book our cab back to the airport, but I'd highly recommend her ("Lek").

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yelvington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2012

We stay here every time we come to Bangkok. With its strict policy against sex tourists and low prices, this is the place to stay for us. The rooms are humble but clean, the food is inexpensive and good, the atmosphere is wholesome but artistic. So many European families bring their rosy cheeked delightful children here, and it's safe for single women. It's clear that the owners take pride in this old gem with it's sweeping wrought iron balustrade, and improvements are always being made in one form or another. Right now they tell me the fourth floor bathrooms are being completely renovated and the rooms painted. Also, there's a new Egyptian restaurant a couple of doors down with delicious food. Close to Sukhumvit Road and two sky train stations, I feel sure that the owners could sell this property for an amazing amount of money, so I feel grateful every time we get to stay here. Not for folks who can't climb steps. No elevator. The service here, though, is amazing for the price. You can get room service, and a porter will bring up your luggage. Long live the Atlanta!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2012

I went at the Atlanta first in 72 as a backpacker. Not much has changed since.
I love the swimming pool it has aged but still good.
Staff friendly. Food in restaurant quite good and cheap.
Aircon in rooms good.(no aircon in lobby)
Rooms and bathroom in need of renovation but still good value for money.
No lift to go upstairs but porter will carry your laggage for you.
All in all glad to see these sort of places still around.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Friendofeverybody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2012

I really liked what they tried to with the hotel. However there were some annoying things. The first, no wifi in the rooms. Each time I checked my email required a long trip downstairs (from the 5th floor). Also no AC in the lobby so you have sweat like crazy while using the Internet. A long way away from the main thoroughfare. Which was a drag to walk everyday. The staff are pleasant and helpful and the food in the restaurant was good.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Darren J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2012

The large but less than elegant budget rooms are amply compensated for here by the atmosphere, the decor, the pool and the food. The Atlanta is a real haven in Bangkok.Each time we've arrived in the evening we've been greeted with a complimentary refreshing drink and our backpacks have been carried to our room. It's so relaxing to eat in the restaurant: the food is cheap and excellent, there is a wide range of papers and magazines and the staff are helpful.
The pool has aged a bit but it is clean and there is a poolside gym.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynette2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2012

I first had the pleasure of staying at the family run Atlanta in the late 80's and have made regular pilgrimages back to get my 'fix' of all it has to offer.

The hotel has a wealth of art deco 1950's charm and is a home away from home for people from many walks of life although sex tourists and junkies are not welcome here.

The hotel boasts a lush tropical garden with a good sized swimming pool ( due to undergo renovation) with sunbathing patio. There is also a small gymnasium room for the fitness conscious.

The hotel offers a number of different sized bedrooms, all of which are über clean, simply furnished with quality mattresses and pillows. The budget room bathrooms are currently undergoing renovation of which half have been completed with European quality fixture and fittings.

This is very much an animal lovers hotel.
Over the years, the hotel owner has rescued many cats who reside in the staff quarters and are let out into the guest areas a few at a time and are often found sleeping on a chair in the lobby or enjoying the garden.

The Atlanta's restaurant is full of old world charm, is extremely reasonably priced and once you have sampled some of the mouth wateringly good dishes from the very unique and informative menu, you really won't want to eat anywhere else!

There is wireless Internet, a small travel agency in the lobby and a book swop library.

The Atlanta strives to continue making improvements to the hotel without impacting on the price of a stay and once you have experienced this hidden gem, rather like me, you'll be looking forward to your next visit!

It is now possible to book your stay on line at atlanta.reservations@yahoo.com





  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HeidiRJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Banglamphu
Rikka Inn
Rikka Inn
#359 of 891 in Bangkok
1,341 reviews
Sathorn
Malaysia Hotel
Malaysia Hotel
#397 of 891 in Bangkok
306 reviews
Sukhumvit
Ariyasomvilla
Ariyasomvilla
#3 of 891 in Bangkok
1,567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Banglamphu
Casa Nithra
Casa Nithra
#65 of 891 in Bangkok
1,136 reviews
Sukhumvit
Sukhumvit 12 Bangkok Hotel & Suites
Sukhumvit
The Continent Hotel Bangkok by Compass Hospitality
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atlanta Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlanta Hotel

Address: 78 Soi 2 Sukhumvit Road, Bangkok, 10110, Bangkok 10110, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Sukhumvit
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#153 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range: $30 - $112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The historic Atlanta Hotel in Bangkok is, literally, untouched by modern pop culture. Walking into The Atlanta is like walking into another world, a long lost world. Most of what a guest sees and hears is old and classic - and authentic. ***The Atlanta Hotel in Bangkok, founded in 1952, features many superlatives, notably, the most photographed and oldest unaltered hotel lobby in Thailand, the first hotel swimming (diving) pool in Thailand, the largest selection of Thai vegetarian dishes in the world, a unique jungle-like garden right in the middle of Bangkok. The western menu features dishes made in the 1950s style - dishes that were on the original menu of The Atlanta, and prepared in the same way. ***The historic Atlanta Hotel in Bangkok has strict policies: sex-tourists, drug users, trouble-makers, and undomesticated people are not welcome. Any of these found on the premises are dealt with summarily. Because of these strict policies, The Atlanta Hotel has many detractors or even enemies. The Atlanta Hotel upholds its principles and policies without compromise. As of 1st September 2013, smoking will no longer be permitted anywhere on the premises. ***The Atlanta Hotel is also home to destitute cats and terrapins. Injured and abandoned cats seem to find their way to The Atlanta. Many are rescued from elsewhere. There are at the time of writing 36 cats. Some live in an enclosure on one side of the garden; others live in the staff section of the hotel. The terrapins are all rescued and saved from loss of habitat. There are at the time of writing 27 terrapins. They live well in and around the pond of the jungle-like garden of The Atlanta. Two staff are employed full-time to look after the animals, and visiting vets often volunteer their services, which The Atlanta welcomes. There is a celebrated drawing by a regular guest of The Atlanta of the lobby featuring cats lying on the round sofa. The caption reads (in Italian), "Cats, the real guests of The Atlanta." Guests of The Atlanta are typically animal lovers. *** The Atlanta, being at the bottom of a lane, has no passing trade. All our guests are either regulars or friends of regulars. The Atlanta has many returning guests who have been coming to The Atlanta since the 1960s, 1970s, 1980s and, of course, much later. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Atlanta Hotel Bangkok
Atlanta Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing