We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$179
US$153
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$209
US$128
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$115
US$92
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Banyan Tree Bangkok(Bangkok)
US$179
US$130
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$119
US$92
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$96
US$65
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$123
US$111
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Peninsula Bangkok(Bangkok)
US$243
US$197
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$518
US$327
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$519
US$446
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (438)
Filter reviews
438 results
Traveller rating
176
140
63
38
21
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
176
140
63
38
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrooms are basicbudget hotelswimming poololdest hotelquirky hotelno liftfourth floorthai culturehotel poolcentral bangkoklaundry servicebusy citythai foodskytrain stationfoyeranonghammocks
Filter
Updating list...
290 - 295 of 438 reviews
Reviewed December 1, 2009

My partner and I stayed here for a couple of days in February and thought the place was fine. The staff arent rude they just let you get on with it, there not searching for tips every 5mins for doing mediocre tasks like some hotel staff seem to do.

The place is very clean, safe and the food is fine. There is Wifi and there are computers there (require you to make a honest contribution on how much time you've spent on them).

I suppose i could summarise by saying that i will probably forget about the Atlanta in a few years as although we enjoyed our stay there, it was uneventful which is sometimes all you ever need.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank rowlandz1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 17, 2009

Quite unique place, the first hotel to acquire a swimming pool in Thailand. The rooms are from a budget hotel, but clean enough, but renovation is something that has never passed through the lips of the owners. There is a policy of "No sex tourists" despite it being right in the centre of the action, "Annies" of soapy massage fame, is on the same soi ! Well I was greeted with a (free) pineapple juice, that was extremely welcome after the searing humidity of the Bangkok evening that sapped all the liquids from the body.
By far the most impressive thing about the hotel is the art deco furnishings of the lobby and restaurant, it has featured in several films ("movies"). The philosophy of the owner was plain to see, with victorian opinionated paternal values pasted everywhere, which seeemed to be a very amusing anachronism. The staff WERE a little strange ! It seemed as if they were recruited for their eccentricities.
The restaurant consisted of Thai food for farangs, well i say farangs, all the food was conspicuous for it's complete LACK of spiceyness (Not Thai at all !). This is to cater for the French, Belgians , Italians, not for the spicey Brits who are brought up on curries and Chilli con Carne, no the lowest common denominator food was disappointing to this Brit, who likes his Tom Yum to be quite spicey. The range of juices were very good and cheap, i think that i completed the full menu !
The Atlanta is at the end of a soi of deluxe modern hotels and a few soapy massage places as i said. It is a finger up at modern hotels and to the world around it. A unique experience ! Buty i have to say that the rooms were very basic but at a VERY VERY good price ! A place for tasteful Backpackers , i recommend it !!

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank WellingtonNewkiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 19, 2009

Great location, Great Price, Charming Art - Deco Lobby, Free wifi, TERRIBLE STAFF. Basic but reasonably clean rooms. Hotel has a 'no sex tourists' policy but judging by the surly staff the sign should read 'no tourists'.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank GeorgeSmyley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 8, 2009

Just checked out of my room after a two night stay and left because of the unfriendly, bordering on rude, staff. There was only one lady working on reception that was friendly, or even cracked a smile in two days. The waitress in the restaurant only smiled when bringing you the bill.
I wondered what the problem was, but due to their heavily advertised "No complaints" policy I never found out. I am a solo male traveller maybe this was it? However,
- I was back at the hotel for the night by 10 pm both nights
- I was not drunk
- I was not bringing women back to the hotel
- I was quiet
- I met their dress code

I have stayed a 7 or 8 places in BKK in the past and the Atlanta hotel is easily the least friendly.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank Scottyrocket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 7, 2009

This hotel was recommended to me by a friend who came here with his partner.

I was travelling with my 11 year old son and we staryed here for three nights. We did witness the careful selection of guests when a group of four western men were denied service at the restaurant "sorry sir, we have no tables available" when the place was nearly empty. The food was excellent and extremely well priced.

Sure it is shabby, but the fabulous location, warm service and super-cheap price more than make up for it. I would not want to stay anywhere else in BKK.

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank msedenpark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews