We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (445)
Filter reviews
445 results
Traveller rating
181
141
64
38
21
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
181
141
64
38
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rooms are basic budget hotel swimming pool bangkok institution oldest hotel quirky hotel no lift fourth floor hotel pool central bangkok laundry service busy city thai food skytrain station foyer anong hammocks
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 445 reviews
Reviewed December 11, 2017

From the charming Anong, who has been at the restaurant for 40 years (enjoyed the food and drinks), to the chillax cats, dogs, garden and old-world pool, writer's desk—the Atlanta Hotel is a fascinating place that is truly from a bygone era. That being said, we were in a spacious 2 bedroom "suite" with rather basic amenities and decor. The rooms are far from fancy and our first impression of the beds were more old-world "hospital" so there's a big difference between the vibes of the lobby and the rooms but we did not pay fancy prices either. What the rooms lacked in creature comforts, the Atlanta Hotel made up for in character, inspiration and unpredictable decor touches.

I can't recall another hotel with so much "character" and so many own idiosyncratic rules. Overall, we got more than what we paid for in terms of a very memorable stay. There are now so many converted boutique hotels in historical locations that are essentially soulless, and this place is certainly not one of them.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank emaleth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 3, 2017 via mobile

I wanted to like the Atlanta, I wanted to enjoy its eccentricity and quirkiness but unfortunately what I found was a miserable, uncared for relic long past it’s best with dirty walls and the atmosphere of a TB sanitarium.
I can’t comment on the cafe as I wasn’t prepared to eat there based on my impression of hygiene in the hotel generally. Me and a mate booked a two room suite but booked out again after one night, cutting short our 3 night booking for another hotel, the one positive about the Atlanta was that they didn’t quibble about early checkout.
Having said this, with the right management and a bit of a facelift the character of this grand old dame could really come through but as it it stands it is a waste of potential.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank Simhne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 21, 2017

We love the Atlanta Hotel and stay there every time we are in Bangkok. When you arrive you'll be greeted by the house pets (dog and cat) as well as a cold drink. Many of the rooms have recently been renovated and all of them are clean and comfortable. The staff, many whom have been at the property for years, are courteous, friendly and extremely helpful. There is a lovely pool and garden area in the back of the hotel, along with the turtles, where you can sit and relax with a cool drink or book after a long day of exploring Bangkok. The restaurant is very reasonable and the food tasty. Wifi is available on all floors. I like the rooms overlooking the garden since they are a little larger (C12) but rooms overlooking the street with balcony are also nice (C5).

Stayed: October 2017
1  Thank Andrea L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 9, 2017

A quiet, friendly place to stay in Bangkok. The food is good quality and the restaurant enjoyable and open from early to late. The pool is large and clean with pool-side refreshment service available. A recommended haven when in Bangkok.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled solo
Thank Aarnold L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 21, 2017 via mobile

Friends introduced us to the Atlanta and we'll definitely be returning when in Bangkok. A quirky but comfortable hotel in a very convenient location. Fabulous breakfast pancakes. Rooms are basic but comfortable- pillows are exceptionally good. Extremely good value.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Libby W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews