We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“efficient hotel in nice neighbourhood”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
New World City Hotel
Ranked #494 of 858 Hotels in Bangkok
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“efficient hotel in nice neighbourhood”
Reviewed 26 January 2012

rooms are big, but not not luxurious. Shower could have been better. Wifi worked well. Seems to be a favourite hotel with tourgroups. The neighbourhood is really nice, with some cafes but also lots of non touristy; just a neighbourhood where people live.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank steven852
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    130
    82
    38
    28
See reviews for
25
86
40
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2012

This hotel was clean, well located, and our room on the 3rd floor was facing the river. We started out in a room at the back, but soon shifted to facing the river front.. It had everything, breakfast was reasonably good, and to include it in the room cost was neglatable. It is close to the shopping, and easy to get a taxi from. The restuarant accross the road served good meals at a good price.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Collins, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 January 2012

I have used the New World City Hotel on numerous occasions. The location is very nice. Far enough from Kho San road that it's quiet outside, and close enough to the river for boat transportation. All in all, a nice place to stay. The rooms are clean, and have A/C. The breakfast isn't all that fantastic, but there are some great places right behind it in Soi 2. Plus its stumbling distance from the Blues Bar, right across the street!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tokyo
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2012

Once it was very nice cosy hotel with large rooms and small balcony in nice quiet environment.
Now they built new hotel just behind this hotel, that made soi2 side rooms balcony view very poor (only new hotel's wall).
They keep renovating and keep raising the room rate. Still hot shower facility and wash basin are guest house level.
Wifi connection is poor although it's not free. In some rooms it's impossible to connect, and I believe they are aware of that.
They don't refund wifi fee but insists to connect in lobby area where mosquitos flying about.
Try to get canal side rooms. Impression is totally different.
7/11 is only next door. Nice cafes, reasonable massage, cheep laundries nearby.

Room Tip: Try to get canal side room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank naonaoTokyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2011

The hotel is located close to the historical part of the city, convenient to visit temples. There is no public transportation near by, so you would have to take a taxi or tuk tuk to get around. Having said that, this hotel was not bad at all for the price we paid. The room was clean and spacious. The service was good. We liked the breakfast buffet which offer warm food during the breakfast hours. They have both western-style and Asian-style food. I would recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SFTraveler94123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
roma
Level Contributor
163 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2011

hotel well positioned, close to Kao San Road, an excellent base for visiting the main monuments and attractions of the city, but to move on foot at night, perhaps a little too far. good value for money, friendly and helpful staff and reception. however it is recommended. they wait for us, altough we arrived very late at night

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank claeale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
india
Level Contributor
45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2011

I have been staying here for over five years because I find it to be good value and consistent.

The check in is painless and swift with pleasant and efficient staff; The rooms are huge! I do my Pilates exercises every morning and have no problems with swinging my legs from side to side. I have honestly never stayed in a room this size in any hotel in the world.

The slight negative of this hotel is the bathroom There is no doubt that it is old and some of the rooms are worse than others. That said, it is clean and gives hot water at decent pressure and the lavatory flushes. I'm sure that it is not 5 star but it is not bad.

I have booked wake up calls that have not occurred. When pointed out to management, they have been very apologetic and on my last stay there (I made 4 in the last 5 months) there were no problems. I requested: wake up call at 4 am; bell boy for bags at 4:30 and meter taxi for the airport at 5am. All went very smoothly.

Their new hotel which is attached to this is fabulous and it has only contributed to the ambiance of the area.

For me, at 1000B per night for a capital city opposite the best music bar in Bangkok and a wonderful local street eatery and bookshop, it's a no-brainer!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ibbles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Banglamphu
Nouvo City Hotel
Nouvo City Hotel
#173 of 858 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,176 reviews
Banglamphu
Diamond House
Diamond House
#300 of 858 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
Banglamphu
Thai Cozy House
Thai Cozy House
#722 of 858 in Bangkok
3.0 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Banglamphu
Chillax Resort
Chillax Resort
#138 of 858 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,490 reviews
Banglamphu
Bhiman Inn
Bhiman Inn
#350 of 858 in Bangkok
3.5 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
Banglamphu
Lamphu Tree House
Lamphu Tree House
#153 of 858 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,807 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New World City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New World City Hotel

Property: New World City Hotel
Address: 2 Samsen Soi 2, Samsen Rd | Banglumphu, Pranakorn, Bangkok 10200, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Banglamphu
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #494 of 858 Hotels in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New World City Hotel is conveniently located in the heart of Bangkok close to Khaosan Road on Rattanakosin Island old city and historical part of Bangkok. It's also easily accessible to the Royal Grand Palace, The Emerald Buddha Temple (Wat Phra Keaw),Wat Pho (Temple of the Reclining Buddha), the Golden Mountain and National Museum. Just a 10 minute walk to Banglumphu Market and Khaosan Road, the place for the best in nightlife, shopping, and dining in the area.For 20 years, the New World City Hotel has been proudly serving and accommodating guests from around the world and has built a reputation for being one of the friendliest hotels in the city.The hotel provide its guest with modern, bright, well-appointed guest rooms with inter-connecting rooms also available. All guest rooms have windows and balconies, private bathrooms, hot & cold showers, IDD telephones, satellite televisions, in-room safes, minibars and refrigerators, along with 24-hour Halal room service food.Sara Restaurant services Thai, European, and Indian Cuisine with a wide A La Carte menu and 24-hour room service. Guests are welcomed by friendly and courteous staff that are always ready to greet you with a smile and Sawadee, Thai custom for a warm welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Otel, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your New World City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New World City Bangkok
Hotel New World City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing