We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Somerset Park Suanplu
Ranked #134 of 887 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 August 2012

Hi,

I stayed here from the 8-10 January 2012. I did stay here also for six months in the late nineties when I first moved to Thailand.

The place has changed names several times during this period. I always loved the location and the magnificent garden setting. It has a free tuk tuk service to various downtown destinations.

I stayed in January in a one bedroomed spacious self contained apartment. It had plenty of space with a living room and kitchenette and separate bedroom. It has a swimming pool on I believe the second floor although on this occasion I did not make use of it.

The premises have indoor parking and Somerset is quite a favourite of long term business people and a good clientele. There is a ground floor restaurant and coffee shop serving decent food at reasonable prices that is located to the left on entrance opposite reception. They do have business facilities at reception.

We were taken care of promptly and efficiently. I would recommend these serviced apartments for business travellers or for those wishing to have the freedom to take care of themselves. There were slight signs of some areas ageing that will need upgrading shortly.

Room Tip: The rooms vary as they have one and two bedroomed apartments. Ask to view is the best advice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mister K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
polevalter, General Manager at Somerset Park Suanplu, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2012

Many thanks for your informative review of your stay last Januray. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (730)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

349 - 355 of 730 reviews

Reviewed 20 August 2012

This is my first time stay with my friends in such apartment hotel.Bellman Jit is super kind and helpful.He always gave us much useful information and smile.One disadvantage is the location.But anyway,our staying is comfortable.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marin_0709
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
polevalter, General Manager at Somerset Park Suanplu, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2012

Dear Marin_0709,
Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay.
I am pleased to read my staff were able to provide great service during your stay.
Whilst we are not located in the middle of a busy shopping area, it is very easy and convenient to get to the Skytrain by our free scheduled tuk tuk service or by taxis. Bangkok city is relatively easy to get around in and we hope that you will stay with us again in the future. Thanks again for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2012

I spent 7 nights here recently in a single bedroom apartment. Overall the experience was good.

Positives 1. Room was large with a living area, kitchen (fridge and microwave were most welcome) and a closet. King sized bed was nice. Lots of natural light from balcony into bedroom. 2. Cleaning service was prompt and efficient. 3. Buffet breakfast selection was above average. 4. Location is good for business travellers heading into Silom and Sathorn. Hotel tower is away from road separated by a large garden. There is a local market nearby and several roadside and family restaurants nearby. Sarahn Relax is a spa next door and rates are reasonable, 450 baht for 2 hr Thai massage. I went 3 times. Hotel provides a half hourly tuktuk to Sala Daeng train station. Lots to see, buy and eat at Sala Daeng area. 5. Price was value for money, abt US$50/night. Would recommend the larger apartments for families.

Negatives - 1. Pillows were a little too soft for my liking. 2. Airconditioning system was loud even at lowest fan speed setting. 3. TV in the living room is a flat screen but the one in the bedroom is a CRT. Sort of odd. 4. Bathroom is not connected to bedroom. That's sort of unexpected but not too weird for one bedroom apartment. 5. Room colour scheme was somewhat dull, lots of beige. Some contrasting colour would have made room more stylish. 6. A larger pool and sun deck area would have been nicer. 7. Hotel spa rates are pricey for Bangkok.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gurms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
polevalter, General Manager at Somerset Park Suanplu, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2012

Dear Traveller,

Thank you for your constructive feedback on your recent stay. I am pleased to read that overall you did enjoy the stay experience. I have noted all your comments and will try to incorporate changes where possible.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2012

We stayed in this hôtel for 4 nights with my husband and kids. We really enjoyed it bcs the room was large enough, the employees really try to help you and it's ten-fifteen min walk to the train. You even have the night market! Well it's full of tourists but still nice! More over it's affordable considering the quality of the hôtel. We went to the swimming pool twice. The water was a bit cold but my kids Had fun anyway!! So go for it!!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank french_happy_family_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
polevalter, General Manager at Somerset Park Suanplu, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2012

Dear french_happy_family_ ,
Thank you for your review of your recent stay.
I am pleased the large apartment style accommodation suited your Family.
We look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2012

We booked a one bedroom exec apartment and it was huge! There was a kitchen (which we didn't use because eating out in Thailand is so good) and a laundry and a balcony. Breakfast was included but we never tried it. The staff were helpful (eg. pointing out that you cannot enter the Grand Palace in shorts or sleeveless tops). Housekeeping is a bit lazy though - there were a stack of dirty dishes sitting in the corridor near our room when we checked in, which remained there for the entirety of our stay. This hotel was recommended to us by a friend who stayed here in a long-term rental previously.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AussieAsian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
polevalter, General Manager at Somerset Park Suanplu, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review of your recent stay. I am pleased you found the apartment style accommodation very spacious and to your liking especially when compared to a standard hotel room.
I do apologise that some room service crockery was not collected promptly of which I am addressing with our restaurant operator.
We certainly hope to welcome you back again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2012

Room. We, family of 4 with 2 teenagers, stayed in a 2 bedroom deluxe residence with full breakfast over 2 weeks. Spacious residence with safe, washing machine, small kitchen with fridge/freezer, tv, 2 sofas, 2 bathrooms, microwave and a stove. We had no problems staying in the residence, space is enough, to have time in when raining or having some spare time. Slightly worn furniture.

Location. Rather close, 10 minutes’ walk, to sky train/metro, Chong Nonsi, Sala Daeng and Lumpini. We preferred the first station. It is close to Silom area and its shopping centres and the surroundings are safe. The location is overall very good. There are several family marts and 7-elevens in the area but no supermarket around the corner.

Guests. During our two week stay a mixture of Asians and westerners.

Reception/Staff. Everyone was supportive and friendly. Two minor things in the reception, first when we arrived and paid the deposit they said we had to do it by credit card even though we preferred to pay by cash, later we read in their own papers in the room that we could have chosen credit card or cash. After a couple of days we went down to the reception and said we wanted another week in the hotel, we were offered a price, but when we went down to pay a few days later, at their request, the price was slightly higher. When we remarked they immediately changed it but it is obvious that some routines in the reception are missing. Not a big problem.

Fitness room. For being a hotel it is well equipped but you cannot compare with a hardcore bodybuilding gym but definitely good enough for surviving the holiday even though you are used to another higher standard. You have the possibility to run, step-up, cycle, row and there are also some free weights and machines.

Swimming Pool. Big enough to do at least some swimming in. The temperature in the pool cools you off when hot outside.

Free Wi-Fi. You have 1 Mps, at most, often slower and you must reckon to be disconnected from time to time. Sometimes there was even no network to connect to. Good enough to check your mail and read your newspaper but useless when it comes to Skype, Windows Live and all kind of streaming. You can update if you pay but I think a hotel of this standard should offer at least 10 Mps reliable connection for free.

AC-system. The AC-system covers well your needs to cool down. If you do not are staying at the 12 floor, the only total non-smoking floor, you must unfortunately reckon that you might have cigarette smoke in your residence occasionally through the AC-system even though we requested a smoking free room.

Washing machine. You also have a separate dryer, both easy to use and of good standard. Very much appreciated and used.

Breakfast. You are offered a buffet, both Asian/European, and I think the buffet cover most peoples need. You can find egg, bacon, sausages, bread, marmalade, pastry, milk, tea coffee, flakes, fruit and above that the Asian buffet. As a north European you always miss truly dark bread abroad and cheese is never found in Thailand.

Over a night, more or less, the hotel could offer a better internet connection, more smoking free floors and improve the communication in the reception; I would then not hesitate to give the hotel a top score.

Still it was a very good stay and I would definitely reconsider the hotel again

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank maxcool64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
polevalter, General Manager at Somerset Park Suanplu, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2012

Dear maxcool64,

Thank you very much for your informative review. I am pleased to read you enjoyed your stay and would consider staying with us again. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2012

We spent 3 days of holiday with our 2 teenagager kids. We rent a 2 bedrooms suite apartment for about 100 euros a night. It was perfect. Buffet breakfast downstairs, a little kitchen where you can make tea and store fresh drinks in the fridge. The concierge organizes you touristic activities. A little supermarket just town the building. And a swimming pool where they give you towels, and a ping pong.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sophie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
polevalter, General Manager at Somerset Park Suanplu, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2012

Dear Sophie E,
Thank you for your review of your recent stay with us. I am pleased the apartment style accommodation and services suited your Family needs.
We do hope to welcome you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Silom
Ascott Sathorn Bangkok
Ascott Sathorn Bangkok
#109 of 887 in Bangkok
834 reviews
Sukhumvit
Somerset Lake Point Bangkok
Somerset Lake Point Bangkok
#133 of 887 in Bangkok
982 reviews
Sathorn
Oaks Bangkok Sathorn
Oaks Bangkok Sathorn
#179 of 887 in Bangkok
233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Silom
Siri Sathorn Executive Serviced Residence
Sathorn
Pantip Suites Sathorn
Pantip Suites Sathorn
#255 of 887 in Bangkok
551 reviews
Sathorn
Sathorn Vista, Bangkok - Marriott Executive Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Somerset Park Suanplu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Somerset Park Suanplu

Address: 39, Soi Suan Phlu, Sathon Tai Road | Thung Maha Mek, Sathon, Bangkok 10120, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Sathorn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#71 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#121 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#166 Business Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range: $85 - $198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Somerset Park Suanplu 3.5*
Number of rooms: 235
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
These modern and superbly appointed serviced residences are nestled in a private garden, just minutes from the business district of Silom and Sathorn Road. Ideal for corporate housing and interim accommodation, each residence is designed for the discerning individual with contemporary designs and modern technological conveniences. Within walking distance to many business, cultural and tourist destinations, there is also convenient access or easy walk to Lumpini subway station will get you around Bangkok efficiently. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca and HotelQuickly so you can book your Somerset Park Suanplu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Somerset Park Suanplu Bangkok
Somerset Park Suanplu Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing