We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Chan Cha La 99 Hostel
Ranked #165 of 1,390 Speciality Lodging in Bangkok
Reviewed 18 November 2016 via mobile

We came to Bangkok first time and the first couples of nights stayed in this Guest House. It was the best choice that we could make.
Annie (the girl who runs the place) are the best hostess and the most helpful person that we meet.
She helped us to understand transport for moving around in Bangkok and was always there to answer all the questions.
Also, the place was very clean and cosy.

Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Milda F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (71)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5 - 11 of 71 reviews

Reviewed 24 August 2016

Helpful and friendly host - Annie. Chanchala is the best hostel to stay in the world! There are 2 double rooms in Chanchala, one with window and the other without. We wrote Annie an email that we preferred the former. Afterthat, she not only fulfilled our wish but also replied our email with a detail map to the hostel.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank chinguyen94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2016 via mobile

Wonderful host! She was very welcoming, helpful and kind. It was honestly one of the best hostels I stayed in. Very clean and comfortable. The location, although a bit far from the main Sukhumvit attractions, is only a 10 min BTS ride away. The hostel itself is a 2 min walk away. Highly recommended!

Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Gary T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2016

I came here fully expecting to love the place, based on the plethora of positive reviews I read before coming.
Unfortunately, it really isn't that great, at least in my experience.

My room said it included breakfast, which is why I booked it at the price I did, but nobody mentioned that breakfast was merely toast and coffee served at an awkwardly small table on the main floor.
Annie and another man were seated there when I came down, and I said hello in Thai and the man replied Hello in English, but Annie said nothing. She continued to speak in Thai to this man for the duration of my breakfast, which was so awkward, because the table only seats 6 and I couldn't very well eat anywhere else, because of her rules. Even when he got up from the conversation to walk into the kitchen, she still said nothing.
I'm sorry - am I the only one who thinks that is so entirely rude?
This is her establishment - she is the one to set the precedent and make people feel at home - or in this case - not at home. She sure did a good job on the last one! I didn't even eat my fill or finish my coffee, instead I cleaned up and went upstairs suddenly not in the good mood I was in upon waking up.

That coupled with the bed being hard, the blanket being thin and not being able to be trusted to eat in ones own private room (i'm not in a dorm), all made me feel the opposite of being at home. The wifi is weak and of course there is no TV and the neighborhood is ok, but nothing special. All in all, I'm not sure what all the fuss is about. I've stayed in much nicer rooms for the same price and will seek out somewhere else in the future.

Room Tip: I was on the 3rd floor in a private room. Less walking (because there is no elevator), but noisy wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sophia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2016

I stayed four nights at this hostel, and would stay again. The proprietor, Annie, is a wealth of information, and always seems to be around to help. The hostel itself has a less than ideal location far from downtown and the river, but it is practically right next to a BTS station, about 30 minutes from Siam Centre (you can travel to a riverboat or taxi to get to the touristy destinations from there). The hostel is VERY clean, and very close to food (a night market runs just a few streets over). The neighbourhood seemed quite safe, and the locals were friendly. Sleep quality was less than ideal, unfortunately - I had spent the previous two weeks traveling through Vietnam and Cambodia and had slept very well, but that was not the case here (I stayed in a private room). Wi-fi quality also leaves a bit to be desired - I had to move out of my room to use the service with any kind of reliability. But outside of these minor concerns, if you are looking for comfortable and quiet budget accommodations away from Khao San Road and the hustle and bustle of the city, look here.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a window
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank neepsocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2016 via mobile

This is a really nice and clean hostel, towels are provided, air con was good. The WiFi is great and the owner Annie is so helpful. Really close to a BTS line so it's so easy to find.
Thank you for booking up our taxi to the bus station Annie sorry we didn't get to thank you in person!

Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank lac93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2016 via mobile

One the best hostels i've ever been in asia. Its so close to the BTS Station (Bang Chak) and Annie made me feel welcome from the first Minute. I had a room for myself and shared bathroom on the third floor. The breakfast is simple but nice. Annie recomanded the floating market to me, with is not that far, but so beautiful and totally local. I'll come back for sure. Thanks Annie for the nice stay.

Stayed: February 2016, travelled solo
Thank Ann K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Solo Express Bangkok
#170 of 892 in Bangkok
266 reviews
Silom
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
#21 of 892 in Bangkok
8,769 reviews
Sathorn
Eastin Grand Hotel Sathorn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Peninsula Bangkok
#12 of 892 in Bangkok
4,632 reviews
Silom
Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chan Cha La 99 Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chan Cha La 99 Hostel

Address: 6/3 Sukhumvit Soi 99, Sukhumvit Road, Bangkok 10260, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #165 of 1,390 Speciality Lodging in Bangkok
Price Range: $12 - $44 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Chan Cha La 99 Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chan Cha La 99 Hostel is a Bangkok budget hostel for travelers, located along Sukhumvit Road. We can accommodate all types of travellers. Whether you are a budget conscious traveller or after a little luxury, we offer mixed dormitory style hostel accommodation, as well as private rooms with or without an en-suite. Our rooms are clean, newly renovated and decorated for comfort and affordability. ***** Getting here (1) Take BTS to Bangchak station, use exit 3. (2) Walk down the stairs and you will see an SCB Bank on the corner of the Sukhumvit 99. (3) Turn left, the hostel is about 50 meters down the Soi 99 on the right hand side. ***** Important notes (1) Reception hours : 7.30 Am - 9.00 Pm. (2) Bookings are necessary for check-in after 9 pm.***** ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Chan Cha La 99 Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing