We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So convienent to everything!”
Review of Grande Ville Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Grande Ville Hotel
Ranked #647 of 891 Hotels in Bangkok
Reviewed 22 February 2015

We have stayed at the Grandeville Hotel many times and are awaiting it's re-opening so we can come back to Bangkok. This hotel is so close to all the must see tourist attractions (walking distance to many) and the shopping is out of this world. We normally stay for 21 days and we are always amazed at how much more we see each visit. The hotel is clean, the food is fabulous, the staff is so helpful and friendly and the price is fantastic. We are just hoping it will re-open soon so we can go back. We recommend it to everyone we know who visit Bangkok and they too have loved their stay.

Room Tip: One at the back of the hotel as the views are fabulous. Taken so many photos of sunsets, sunrises, f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank dreamers89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (117)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3 - 9 of 117 reviews

Reviewed 19 June 2014

I used this outdated hotel for a unexpected and urgent business visit to Bangkok, after I had left another hotel after one night, due to outrageous. I stay two weeks in this hotel. Nice view if you take a room with sight on the north side overlooking the Romaneenart Park and Wat Saket. Some staff are friendly but other staff bite your nose off. The hotel is located in Chinatown, not far from the royal palace, the area surrounding the hotel is busy by day. Nearby you can visit the various markets, restaurants and shops, a bank and ATM are next door. The rooms are spacious but they can be much cleaner, the air conditioning is also rather noisy, poor ventilation. There is internet in the room, but the internet is expensive, but I advise you to purchase a local internet and phone sim card. The swimming pool and fitness room is available, in addition to a rooftop restaurant and bar on the roof. Western and oriental buffet are available. Laundry and pressing service available like in all Asian hotels.
Inexpensive rooms, otherwise you need a good negotiator or you paid too much for the many supplements. Pay cash and not in dollars but with Bath.
Acceptable for a low budget traveler.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank K R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2013

I stayed four nights in the Grande Ville Hotel during my tour in Thailand. The staff was friendly and helpful, the rooms were a bit old and not well maintained but you can't expect more for the price you pay. There was a small swimming pool which is nice after spending a day in the city. However there was a charge for the pool and it was closed during 2 of the 4 days I was in the hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Koen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

Strategically located in Bangkok city, close to China town and within walking distance to Grand Palace located around 1km NW from hotel(Go at opening time 9am-entry 500Baht) Wat Phrakaeo or the Emerald Buddha is in the same vacinity. Wat Pho or the Reclining Buddha is also nearby with Wat Arun or the Temple of Dawn where one needs to proceed to the pier to cross the river by boat.
If temples are your interest, go around 1km NE from hotel to Wat Saket or Wat Golden Mountam & admire the 37 spires at Wat Ratchanatdaram Worawihan located along Mahachai Road. Boat cruise will also take you to all major temples/tourist attraction (Follow schedule-fixed price) Plenty of shopping, new or second hand goods are located everywhere along main roads or small alleys (even on bridges-self extension across river). Bargin for lesser deal from the offered price while shopping. No bargaining for food & breverage though.
Transportion by bus is the cheapest (need to ask& be familiar) other wise tuk-tuk is convenient too(bargain & fixed the price before proceed) Always take taxi with meter unless agreed earlier.

Room Tip: Ask for 23rd floor room with panaromic view of Bangkok (No mosquito too) Top 24th floor is restauran...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChengCheek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2013

This is an old high rise hotel that could be maintained better ( musty smell) but then it would not be a budget hotel. The rooms were clean and quiet. Easy walking distance to street and restaurant food in Chinatown. Close to attractions like Kings Palace.
We did not like the fact that there is an additional charge for everything. Such as the use of the tiny roof top pool and exercise room; wifi; airport transfers at a higher rate than taxi service. When we arrived they said to go to the rooftop bar for our free welcome drink, which turned out to be only one small drink of a sugary fruit punch to share per couple. The views from the rooftop were nice but the restaurant's menu was over priced.
Hotel is accessible and has a lift.
Staff had good English skills and were very helpful but their tour bookings and transportation costs were over priced and it is better to arrange yourself or elsewhere.

Room Tip: Higher floors on front side of Hotel have best views, looking towards King's Palace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank seafare74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2013 via mobile

Pros -
Excellent buffet breakfast!
Large, clean rooms.
Walking distance to China Town and Mega Plaza shopping mall.
Freindly, helpful staff!

Cons -
No "free" wifi! Wifi is available but at a charge of 100 baht/hour.
Hotel pool is not free but carries a 50 baht/use charge.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2013

The hotel is very old and not maintained very well. However the biggest issue for me was the way the handled the billing. We wanted to pay for the room with cash (Baht), but they still wanted to hold a credit card authorization of any incidentals, which was fine with us. However then they went ahead and charged the room the credit card, and on top of that they converted the charge to USD instead of Baht. in the conversion process they gave us a really poor conversion rate and charged us a 3% conversion service fee! All in all they added about 5USD to the charge, when we asked them to reverse the charge and allow us to pay for it with cash they refused.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Chinatown / Yaowarat
Miramar Hotel Bangkok
Miramar Hotel Bangkok
#516 of 891 in Bangkok
275 reviews
Chinatown / Yaowarat
Grand China Hotel
Grand China Hotel
#360 of 891 in Bangkok
561 reviews
Chinatown / Yaowarat
Hotel Royal Bangkok at Chinatown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chinatown / Yaowarat
Check Inn Chinatown
Check Inn Chinatown
#371 of 891 in Bangkok
186 reviews
Banglamphu
Boonsiri Place
Boonsiri Place
#399 of 891 in Bangkok
350 reviews
Chinatown / Yaowarat
Chinatown Hotel
Chinatown Hotel
#452 of 891 in Bangkok
212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grande Ville Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grande Ville Hotel

Address: 903 Mahachai Road | Wang Burapa, Bangkok 10200, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Chinatown / Yaowarat
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #647 of 891 Hotels in Bangkok
Price Range: $71 - $71 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Grande Ville Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 420
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Its uniquely high-rise structure overlooks the magnificent bird-eyed view of the city of Bangkok. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Grande Ville Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grande Ville Bangkok
Hotel Grande Ville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing