We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean, Comfortable & Quiet Location in City Centre”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Rose Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Rose Hotel
Ranked #418 of 852 Hotels in Bangkok
Port Dickson, Malaysia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Clean, Comfortable & Quiet Location in City Centre”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2011

Bangkok is like 2nd home, been there ave 3 times/year. Mostly stayed at Rose Hotel, very clean, VALUE FOR MONEY, comfortable right in Surowongse Street. The hotel is renovated about 5 years ago with a cute swimming pool and free WiFi. The location is just about 150meters from the main street, so your time and sleep in the room is very peaceful. The service is super friendly.

Only recently I moved to another hotel, as view from Rose now blocked by another big hotel building.... very sad but will never forget Rose Hotel from time to time,,,

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shakeyshawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    126
    71
    20
    8
See reviews for
14
58
51
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2011

I did't make any advance booking for this trip. Arrive in Bangkok in the morning, so it gave me ample time to decide to stay in which area. So, after lunch at MBK, I took the sky train to Salla Daeng station and wander around the area. I located the Hotel using my Iphone 'tripadvisor' apps. Its a bit secluded and the small alley leading to it look a bit intimidating if you were on your own and not familiar with Bangkok. So, print a map of the location, if you plan to take the cab. I assume the price I paid for the hotel is slightly higher compare if I were to book it online. However it is still within my budget...

I stayed here for only one night before moving to another hotel in Bangkok. Not because its not good, just want to experience different neighborhood. The room is average. The pool is nice and secluded. The deco at the lobby is interesting... Although there was some problem with the aircond (water dripping from the condenser), I didn't put up a complaint because I only stay for one nite

The location (in Silom) is the reason I choose this hotel. Easy for me to walk back without having to hire a tuktuk or taxi after a night out. Located within walking distance from many eateries and silom area attractions like the Patpong Night market and 10-15 minute walk to the skytrain station.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Muhibbah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2011

but in hindsight, I would say there's very little reason to stay in this district.

I picked it as I thought it might be central to the ghastly sprawl that is Bangkok, but found that no, you cant walk anywhere in this horrid town, you catch a taxi everywhere, so you may as well stay somewhere interesting like Khao San or...well I cant think of anywhere else, cos I hated Bangkok, but thats another story..

Silom district is home to *only* one thing of interest to a traveller, (and thats a certain kind of traveller). It houses Patpong roads 1 & 2, which as sleaze go, were overwhelmingly disappointing. Patong has more sleaze if thats your thing, and after years of hearing infamous stories, I found it rather anticlimactic.

Anyhow, the hotel itself was around $A55 a night on wotif.com, which gets you a 3 star place in BKK, there are cheaper places, but they're dumps. This place is relatively clean, and comfortable, and quiet, but if the guide books give you the impression its restoration is funky, and therefore attractive, think again, its not.. The room I had was tiny, although it did resemble in principle the photo on wotif., so I couldnt say they misrepresented it, they must have just used a wide angle lens to give the impression of space, of which there is little.

But I was very happy to leave it behind after 2 nights, and settle in at the Buddy Lodge in Khao San road, which mitigated what was otherwise an utter waste of 3.5 days of annual leave, before I flew down to the far more interesting locale of Phuket.

Room Tip: dont stay there, go to Khao San road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank blisteringbarnacles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2011

clean, good location, great pool, would go back, close to nightlife but very safe

Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank GrahamS3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
139 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2011

I think it's a good overall choice. The location adjacent to surawong and a block over from Silom makes it good for this particular area. Closest to either Silom or saladaeng stops on skytrain. A bit hectic area but hotel is well down an alley away from it. I believe it to be a very quiet place with one caveat; they are putting up a building behind the hotel so book rooms on any floor of 10, 11,12 anything in the low teens or ask for a room on the front of the building. The rooms are very spacious as I booked a deluxe which has a small living room separately. The hotel restaurant is good but frequented by too many westerners for my taste. The swimming pool is blessedly cool and unheated. It's close to patpong, soi twilight and other scandal zones so if one is a prude and shocked easily, try the Oriental.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AuTomJoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2011

From the outside frontage you think 'oh dear what have we done booking this place'. It's not in the best area of Bangkok as Pat Pong has a checkered history. Fear not though because once inside the story changes. It's clean light and airy with non smoking rooms and friendly staff. The room was small but functional and not big on luxury. The bathroom was also clean with a shower into the bath. We had a room at the back of the hotel and there was no noise from the surrounding streets. The real bonus of this hotel however is the fabulous outdoor swimming pool and great restaurant. There are plenty of pictures to back this up and what you see is what you get. There is little doubt that for these facilities you would pay considerably more at the nearby 'big group' hotels. Check their website for special offers.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clark0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, California
Level Contributor
53 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2011

We arrived at the Rose Hotel at close to 2 am with no reservation after making a flight to Bangkok at the last minute. Immediately upon arrival our bags were whisked away and a room key was in our hands within 2 minutes. The rate for our air conditioned room with a queen sized bed was very fair and included all taxes and breakfast. The decor in the rooms and throughout the hotel was simple and elegant. Wifi worked well and cost about 300 baht per day. Breakfast was decent. The restaurant next to the pool, while a bit pricey by Thai standards (but average for American cities), was absolutely delicious. The piece de resistance in this hotel is the pool, which was breathtakingly gorgeous, complete with fountains, jets, meditation perches, and floating white flowers that had fallen from the trees hanging above it. It truly was a welcome sanctuary amid the hustle and bustle of Bangkok. The staff were lovely and helpful, including a fantastic travel agent who booked our train tickets for no more than they would have cost to buy at the station (under 10 mins away by cab). The only negative experience was the "oil massages" we mistakenly bought for 750 baht per person - not only was it triple the price it would have been elsewhere, it was probably the worst, most ineffective massage either one of us has ever had. Our mistake for purchasing that through the hotel when there was a massage place directly across the street. Live and learn. Overall this was an awesome hotel and we'll certainly return on our way back through Bangkok.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elle13579
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Silom
Montien Hotel Bangkok
Montien Hotel Bangkok
#372 of 852 in Bangkok
3.5 of 5 bubbles 842 reviews
Silom
La Residence Bangkok
La Residence Bangkok
#392 of 852 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
Silom
The Tawana Bangkok
The Tawana Bangkok
#231 of 852 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 849 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Silom
The Tarntawan Hotel Surawong Bangkok
Silom
De Arni Bangkok
De Arni Bangkok
#473 of 852 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
Silom
Bavana Hotel
Bavana Hotel
#548 of 852 in Bangkok
3.5 of 5 bubbles 12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rose Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rose Hotel

Property: Rose Hotel
Address: 118 Surawongse Road | Bangrak, Bangkok 10500, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Silom
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #418 of 852 Hotels in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Rose Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A small yet beautiful hotel in the heart of Bangkok’s vibrant business district, entertainment and shopping area, Silom, Surawongse and Patpong night market. With its Ruen-Urai fine Thai cuisine, swimming pool and tropical rush garden, we are an urban oasis for travelers. Easy access by BTS and MRT, Rose hotel is an ideal place for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, Agoda, Otel, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity.ca and Priceline so you can book your Rose Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rose Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing