We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Why here?”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Swana Bangkok Hotel
Ranked #350 of 858 Hotels in Bangkok
Wairoa, New Zealand
Level Contributor
84 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“Why here?”
Reviewed 11 August 2011

We stayed here for 2 nights, at an excellent rate of 850 baht/night. However, the cheap rate did not make up for the fact that the hotel is in a mad-traffic-soul-less-free-of-all-interesting-sights sort of place. If you are interested in Kaosan Road - a 15 minute walk will get you there. That's about the highlight, really ..... The rooms are very clean, only a few (8or so) channels on TV. One English (HBO). Food is average. They do not serve wine with the meal, but you can order beer. The Wi-Fi internet worked only one day while we were there. Service was attentive but usually ineffectual. When you order room service, be prepared to wait for a telephone call back to confirm whether they can serve your order. We wouldn't stay again, and cannot understand why anybody would stay here a second time, given the enormous choice in Bangkok, and such wonderful areas to explore/enjoy elsewhere?

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lake_Road_B_and_B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

318 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    157
    89
    18
    11
See reviews for
14
137
25
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2011

Myself and my partner stayed here for two nights when we arrived in Bangkok for three weeks travelling. We arrived at around 8pm after a long 20+ hours travelling and were welcomed by the staff who were very friendly. As the taxi pulled up a member of staff came out to collect our bags and the reception staff were very helpful. The hotel is about a 10 minute walk from Khao San Road and you can also get to the river just as quick. The room was really nice, a powerful shower and very clean. I would definately consider this hotel again if I was to go abck to Bangkok.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SteadBlything
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taipei
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2010

Stayed at Swana for 4 nights and loved it!! Staff are friendly, the rooms are clean and is close enough to Kao Shan (15 min walk or 37BHT by taxi), out of the loud and busy Kao San Rd.
Be aware that there's no swimming pool, not sure why there's a pool picture! But seriously, with so many things to do in Bangkok you hardly have time to enjoy a swim, so this is not a problem.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paulin02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katowice, Poland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2010

"Yes, yes, yes... I visit Bangkok two-three times a year and try still to stay somewhere in the Old district. Swana is really perfect. Friendly staff, clean and fresh looking rooms, satisfactory breakfast and the location is good enough to walk by foot to Khao San whithin 5 minutes. If you can take the deluxe room-superior seemed for me little too small. Choose also from backside-these with windows ovelooking the courtyard are quite noisy. Only minus- there is no lift. Thing twice before you choose the 4th floor...but of course the staff will help you with even extremely heavy luggage...Anyway best western is best in the Banglamphu area "

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jelonad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 July 2010

Stayed in the Swana last september. When we arrived at the hotel we weren't too impressed with the location but the hotel made up for it. Got a good rate and the room was very large. Bathroom was very modern with a huge shower. Mini bar was excellent - very cheap (think about 40p for a can of juice) and restocked quickly. Internet available to buy quite cheaply. About 30 mins walk to Khao San road - nice walk but not so good in the roasting hot sunshine. Great service from everybody who served us in the hotel. Beware of the taxis outside waiting to rip you off - agree a price before you get in - they seemed to be intent on selling us a day trip to see tigers.
Breakfast was pretty good - coffee was topped up quickly =D
Had room service a few times as I had food poisoning upon arrival at the hotel and there wasn't really anywhere to eat near the hotel- the thai currys were very tasty as was the thai curry pasta (strange!) and the spaghetti. A 7 eleven across the road which was good for snacks etc.
In Bangkok - watch out for the scammers outside the temples telling you they are closed -ignore them.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank snecksneck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2010

Nice hotel, good rooms not to big but OK. Stayed here 3 nights and I experienced good night sleeps. The breakfast at this hotel are very good, everything will be arranged for you and if you want more, they bring it very friendly, without paying more. The reception staff I found a bit lazy. If you wanna go out, go to Khoasan Rd., very nice place to hang out. You can come back as late as you wish, there is always a security guard who will open up...

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BobbyNL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Banglamphu
Roof View Place
Roof View Place
#326 of 858 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
Banglamphu
Diamond House
Diamond House
#300 of 858 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
Banglamphu
Bhiman Inn
Bhiman Inn
#351 of 858 in Bangkok
3.5 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Banglamphu
Adamaz House
Adamaz House
#202 of 858 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
Banglamphu
Trang Hotel Bangkok
Trang Hotel Bangkok
#438 of 858 in Bangkok
3.0 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
Banglamphu
Hotel De Moc
Hotel De Moc
#409 of 858 in Bangkok
3.5 of 5 bubbles 613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swana Bangkok Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swana Bangkok Hotel

Property: Swana Bangkok Hotel
Address: 332 Visuttikasat Road | Bannpantom Pranakorn, Bangkok 10200, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Banglamphu , Old City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#39 Best Value Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Swana Bangkok Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity.ca, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Swana Bangkok Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Bangkok
Bangkok Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing