We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good sized rooms - well positioned”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ascott Sathorn Bangkok
Ranked #106 of 858 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good sized rooms - well positioned”
Reviewed 20 February 2012

I spend 4 nights at the Ascott Sathorn in early Feb 2012 and I found the stay to be pretty good all round. I had a standard apartment on the 15th floor, which was not only quite large, but well appointed with appliances in all of the areas of the apartment.
The daily cleaning was very thorough and the staff were helpful and respectful too. I would definitely consider another stay here next time I am in BKK.

Breakfast could do with being a little more varied, and the landings could do with being as airconditioned as the rooms and lobby. This might sound petty, but I found that it gets very hot when leaving room and waiting for the lift to arrive...

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BuriedBones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

763 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    361
    295
    72
    22
    13
See reviews for
200
105
51
163
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2012

When we arrived our room wasn't ready so they upgraded us to a three bedroom suite - very decadent just for two people, but felt like nirvana after 4 weeks backpacking around India. The location is quite good, walking distance to public transport and well serviced by taxis. The rooms are clean and had great views. We snagged a great rate from the internet so the price was very reasonable. Probably a great place for the business traveller.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank xiao-heilong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beaverton, Oregon, United States
Level Contributor
24 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2012

My son and I stayed at the Ascott Sathorn in Bangkok for about 10 nights and it was amazing!
Our hotel room was very spacious, with a full kitchen and laudry area and even had a porch! Cleaning was done daily and always spotless.
The hotel has a small store by the garage where you can find snacks and drinks, The pool is outdoors and has beautiful seating areas where you can have dinner (or lunch!).
I do agree with another traveler who suggested to 'ventilate the hallways'. He is right. The hallways are extremely hot. No AC at all.
The whole hotel staff was extremely friendly and helpful (from getting taxis to scheduling massages outside the hotel).
On the day we wanted to go to the beach Nong even called his mom to check on the weather for us. Just fabulous!
In terms of location, it was a short walking distance from BTS (the metro line), had at least 2 massage houses and tons of 7Eleven.
(Just an additional tip: if you travel to Thailand, add cold medicine to your standard medicine bag. There's absolutely no cold medicine there. They will either send you to a hospital or give you antibiotics.)
I strongly recommend this hotel and will definitely stay again next time I'm in Bagkok.

Room Tip: request a room with a porch. some of my friends didn't have it and it turned out to be a nice op...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ivy_Cristina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2012

Dont get me wrong. Ive stayed here numerous times and would probably do in future again.. But sadly theyre service still has not improved in those years to match with their branding.

PROS:
For the price yoy are provided a well designed service aprtm which is perfect for families (esp with kids)
Location - with the new bridge, its less than 5mins comfortable walk to Chong Nonsi BTS
Great toileteries
Fab gym
pool is a good size

CONS:
Like previous review, staffs need to smile and be more approachable.. Especially the doormen.
Not all room specs are same. I was given room 603 first but was too noisy. By 4am my baby was woken up by the traffic noise!
I was then moved to 1007 (also a executive 1br) but was surprise to notice the bedroom was TWICE the size!
*Warning to all mums* if possible dont use their babycot. The locks comes unlock unexpectedly. My son fell out of it and hurt himself. No fault of them as I should had buy a portacot instead.
Not all eqipments or room furnitures are working properly ie dryer doesnt work, bathtub plug is loose so couldnt use it to bathe bub, bathroom window is half falling off as the hinge has disconnected. And yes I have called the front desk twice requesting a technician to have a look but my requests were all unnoticed...
Breakfast - excellent staffs by far!! Just wish they would provide more options. After day 3 you just want to eat outside instead.
Ascott is appearing to be cutting cost when possible.. Aircon are kept off on corridor, if you haveany unused or half full touleteries left they will not replace it,
Restaurants are over priced but nice. Would I eat there again? Yes for their service only.

Overall, ill leave it to you to decide. For its price its worth staying especially with children.
But due to t heir lack of customer service I am more than happy to stay somewhere else if they tick the location and price boxes.

Room Tip: Avoid low floors if you want good quality sleep. Ask for room facing away from sathon road. Ask t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank travellerAddiction
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2012

Nice place to stay if you're looking for a combination of hotel services and private apartment, fully-equipped with: refrigerator, microwave oven, washing machine (+dryer), conventional oven, CD/DVD/MP3 player, ….
The residence is located at a very short walking distance from the BTS station Chong Nonsi.
Next time, I would probably stay there. Good value for money.

Room Tip: The swimming pool and the Italian restaurant are located floor 7.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nosoussaye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 January 2012

Ascott Sathorn is a great place to stay located at a very convenient place and has excellent staff. The apartments are really great and well furnished and very close to ChongNonsi BTS station. Staff always looking to make your stay very pleasant. Great pool & fitness centre and Italian restaurant.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RajeevChawla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
44 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2012

A key strength of the Ascott Sathorn Bangkok is the sheer spaciousness of the rooms, but that is perhaps unsurprising because all the rooms are serviced apartments. The fitness center is another asset also because of its cavenous dimensions. The pool is of an adequate size, and seems to be popular among the guests. The rate also seems reasonable for a property as well furnished as the Ascott Sathorn.

Having said that, several issues could be looked into to enhance the guest experience:

(1) Stop charging for bottled water. I know of no other premium hotel that charge for factory distilled water beyond the daily “allowance” of two small bottles.

(2) Stop charging for requests for refreshing of toiletries supply. Yes, the hotel uses L’Occitane, but the bottles are miniscule and to charge for requests for additional supplies beyond the daily “allowance” suggests stinginess. In fact, prominently displayed in each apartment is an astounding list of 125 items from the sofa set to the desk lamp and their corresponding cost (just in case they go missing upon check-out). Either the hotel is not quite attracting the premium travelers it claims to target or the management is paranoid. Not good either way.

(3) Press the commercial operator of the fitness center to extend the operating hours to be more guest-friendly. Closing at 9:00 p.m. on weekends and 10:00 p.m. on weekdays is quite unheard of. Most premium hotels today have 24-hour gyms.

(4) Ventilate the corridors on the guest floors. They are as warm as a sauna.

(5) Improve the breakfast offering. Guests on diverse online travel communities have commented that the breakfast is pedestrian.

(6) Smile more? The staff seem so stern-faced.

That is not to say that the Ascott Sathorn is inferior. For business guests who plan to stay for weeks at a stretch and find the commercial business district of Sathorn convenient, the service apartment presents a viable option. Regular holiday makers however may find other alternatives more attractive.

Room Tip: Ask for an apartment without balcony for more interior space
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sojourneys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Silom
Siri Sathorn Executive Serviced Residence
Sathorn
Somerset Park Suanplu
Somerset Park Suanplu
#136 of 858 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 682 reviews
Sathorn
Anantara Sathorn Bangkok Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sathorn
Sathorn Vista, Bangkok - Marriott Executive Apartments
Sukhumvit
Somerset Lake Point Bangkok
Somerset Lake Point Bangkok
#132 of 858 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 893 reviews
Sathorn
Eastin Grand Hotel Sathorn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ascott Sathorn Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ascott Sathorn Bangkok

Property: Ascott Sathorn Bangkok
Address: 187 South Sathorn Road, Yannawa | Sathorn, Bangkok 10120, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Sathorn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#61 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#71 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#96 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
#110 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#127 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Ascott Sathorn Bangkok 4.5*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience a perfect getaway at Bangkok's most luxurious residence in an ideal location next to the famous Silom and Sukhumvit roads. Ascott Sathorn Bangkok offers luxurious and spacious private apartments filled with comprehensive amenities and impeccable services to pamper you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ascott Sathorn Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ascott Sathorn Bangkok Hotel Bangkok
Ascott Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing