We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hostel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Mad Monkey Hostel Bangkok
Ranked #75 of 1,386 Speciality Lodging in Bangkok
A TripAdvisor Member
33
Reviewed 2 September 2017 via mobile

We ended up staying longer because we loved it here. Location is pretty close to Khao San Road, around a 10 minute walk. The hostel is very new and clean. Food is good in the hostel, although a bit more expensive than restaurants around the corner.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MMCommunications, Owner at Mad Monkey Hostel Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2017

Thanks for an awesome review! We hope you come back and visit us soon. These reviews really do matter to us and they are always read and considered. We are pleased you had a great time here, thanks again! Thank you for staying at a socially responsible hostel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (53)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

28 - 34 of 53 reviews

Reviewed 1 September 2017 via mobile

Good location and friendly staff however
- NO WIFI even though it says there is WIFi. Constantly cuts off and only works in one spot in entire hostel.
- No lift and there are many floors, inconvenience if you have heavy luggage.
- Bar closes 12AM.
- No iron

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Rahima M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2017

Very friendly staff that helps you out with everything you need. Good atmosphere, good food and availability of a swimming pool makes this place nice to stay. It's not the cheapest though. Location is good, as it is very close to Kao San Road and the pier. Rooms are clean and the aircon works good (a little too good in my opinion). It's also a good party hostel, but if you want to sleep this is probably not the best place to go, as you can hear the music from downstairs quite good untill at least 1 am.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Esther v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MMCommunications, Owner at Mad Monkey Hostel Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2017

It was awesome to have you stay with us at The Mad Monkey! Thank you very much for your kind review we hope to see you soon. Thank you for staying at a socially responsible hostel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2017 via mobile

Good location, but a lot of little things added up to make our stay uncomfortable.

Elevator doesn't work.

Wifi is awful (even in the bar).

The rooms are really disappointing. (We had a private 2 person room, no idea what the dorms were like).

We booked because this was advertised as a new hostel with a pool and thought it would be really fresh and clean. It's actually an old hostel which has been taken over - the rooms are really grubby. The shower didn't drain properly and there was a smell from the drains. The toilet leaked water when you flushed it.

They only take cash - not specified beforehand.

If you're going to stay, call and check if the construction work next door is finished. We were woken up by it every day.

The bar and restaurant are great. Staff are really nice, food is amazing (really, amazing!) and the bar is really good in the evenings.

I'm sorry to leave such a negative review - but I really wish we hadn't stayed here.

They say they're a new hostel and to bare with them - but Mad Monkey is a well established international brand, I expected so much more, was so disappointed.

Stayed: August 2017
Thank IrishRoverRoamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MMCommunications, Owner at Mad Monkey Hostel Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2017

Hi, so sorry that you didn’t have the perfect experience, and we appreciate the feedback. The wifi issue wasn't to do with the hostel itself, it was the local supplier. The local wifi has now been fixed and is firing on all cylinders. Travel safely knowing that we are doing all we can to make sure all our guests and the local community have the best time possible. Have a great rest of your trip!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2017 via mobile

The atmosphere was great, the food was good and the pool really improved our trip.

On the other hand, the mats are so hard that we couldnt sleep (seriously, sleep on the floor and you'll get the same feeling).. Blanket is a huge towel so it was no help when it was getting colder at night with the air conditioning. There's a restaurant but you don't have access to any fridge or kitchen so you HAVE to buy food there (or go elsewhere). They can do laundry for you but they charge you 60 baths/kg when just across the street there's a place doing it for half the price. There's music and people screaming until midnight.. they say there's a security guard watching the floors but there was people knocking furiously (clearly drunk) at our door a few times.

We saw the staff cleaning the room after our first night and we were glad to see that they were really cleaning it BUT the day we arrived our beds were dirty (so maybe they clean it every 2 days..?!).

So I guess it's a good place to stay if you plan to get drunk, spend more money & sleep after midnight.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Josy-Anne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MMCommunications, Owner at Mad Monkey Hostel Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2017

Hi, so sorry that you didn’t have the perfect experience, and we appreciate the feedback. Indeed we make it very clear that we are a party hostel, and the evening tend to be loud and lively. Although we're sure to turn the music off after midnight, when the majority of guests head out on the town. Travel safely knowing that we are doing all we can to make sure all our guests and the local community have the best time possible. Please come back and visit us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2017 via mobile

This was my 1st stop in Bangkok, booked on a whim. The Private room was great - the aircon was so good, I was shivering - which was a welcome from the Humid city! Staff are all really friendly, and the food is good. It can get a bit noisy at night, but honestly it's not that bad and usually finishes just after 11pm. Stuff happens most evenings, but due to jetlag I was unsociable, although it seems like anyone who comes here has fun.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled solo
1  Thank Colin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MMCommunications, Owner at Mad Monkey Hostel Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2017

Thank you very much for your kind review, it was a pleasure to have you stay here we hope you enjoy the rest of your trip. Thank you for staying at a socially responsible hostel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2017 via mobile

First stop on my travels and first stop ever in South East Asia. Booked double room which was very basic however was clean, had a large bed, and large floorspace. Advantage of this Hostel was its close proximity to Khao San road - a must do when backpacking. Location was far enough away to receive a peaceful nights sleep. An improved bathroom alongside a more welcoming decor within the corridors and staircases would increase the rating to 5 stars

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank James A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MMCommunications, Owner at Mad Monkey Hostel Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2017

Yay! thank you so much for staying with us James, you will see that we do take care to read and consider every review we get. You were a lovely guest, happy travels and enjoy your trip. Thanks again for staying at our socially responsible hostel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Banglamphu
NapPark Hostel @ Khao San
NapPark Hostel @ Khao San
#30 of 1,386 in Bangkok
725 reviews
Banglamphu
Suneta Hostel Khaosan
Suneta Hostel Khaosan
#26 of 1,386 in Bangkok
390 reviews
Banglamphu
Here Hostel
Here Hostel
#13 of 1,386 in Bangkok
258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Siam
Bed Station Hostel
Bed Station Hostel
#3 of 1,386 in Bangkok
1,120 reviews
Silom
Everyday Bangkok Hostel
Everyday Bangkok Hostel
#10 of 1,386 in Bangkok
301 reviews
Banglamphu
Back Home Backpackers
Back Home Backpackers
#31 of 1,386 in Bangkok
261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mad Monkey Hostel Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mad Monkey Hostel Bangkok

Address: 55 Phra Sumen Road, Bangkok 10200, Thailand (Formerly Bhiman Inn)
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Banglamphu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #75 of 1,386 Speciality Lodging in Bangkok
Price Range: $12 - $58 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The fun, social backpacker hostel in the heart of Bangkok! We have cozy bunks with lots of features, in both 4 Bed Dorms and Female Dorms. We also offer spacious, comfortable private rooms (Double, Twin, and Twin Bunk). All guests can enjoy our swimming pool, delicious restaurant, lively bar, and friendly service around the clock. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon so you can book your Mad Monkey Hostel Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bhiman Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing