We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
I-Residence Hotel Silom
Ranked #271 of 866 Hotels in Bangkok
singapore
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Excellent Location”
Reviewed 8 April 2012

Some mornings, when I have to leave earlier for golf, I realised that there are many little locals selling food very early in the mornings. That's good.

In the night and day, there are also usually some street vendors selling all sorts of local food and fruits.

The rooms are pretty decent but the bathroom's too small.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank artchang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,503 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    267
    773
    292
    113
    58
See reviews for
95
261
171
85
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Nong Khai, Thailand
Level 5 Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2012

Great location by Chong Nongsi BTS Station. Less than 100m from the front doors. Stayed in what is called the Executive room 5th floor front of the building so rooms face the BTS platforms. No problems, nice room, medium sized, carpeting (not a big fan of, but clean), excellent hot water in the showers (maybe too hot), big screen T.V. with 24 stations to choose from (standard thai, english, french and german stations). Small fridge with basic items inside. 2 small complimentary bottles of water, tea & coffee. No problems with the rooms at all.

Breakfast was pleasant as well. 30 - 40 items with all the basics covered. Omelette station, fresh fruit, several thai options as well as western foods. No complaints. Place was clean, staff were friendly and kept the items mostly full. Heard a few people complaining about not having this or that but people will always complain so not to worry. Other reports here mention no yoghurt etc...that is what makes TA great...you can tell the world they had no yoghurt!!!

Did not want, wish to have or need WIFI so no comment on that , but they did offer 3 computers in the 2nd lobby for free...so again unless you are house bound...no problem...you can feed your facebook addiction!!

The only issue was with the front desk staff who are not empowered to make decisions. So to book an extra night I had to walk over to the internet cafe book my room with agoda and walk back to the front desk to pick up the fax confirmation of my extra night and hand to the lady who 5 minutes before said she could not offer an extra night! I also wanted to PAY for a late check out (one night room rate) and again she said it was not possible 1pm was the latest they could offer. Again I stated I was willing to pay for the whole extra night to check out at 3pm and again she stated it was not possible. My wife went down later to ask if she could make a reservation for room and had no problem in doing so. She then asked if she could have particular room (ours) and again front desk said okay. I later went down to the front desk with our room key and mentioned I was checking in showed her the reservation my wife had made and then asked her why we had to go over all this to extend the room by 1 night. Her reply!! She walked away! They are functional only in the part of meet and greet.

Out front you have a variety of excellent food stalls, a 7/11, McD's (not for me though), lot's of banks, etc...so overall not a bad choice...

Just a note on the other staff...restaurant & house keeping staff were amazing.

I run the front office of one of the most popular guest houses in North East Thailand and know how difficult it can be at times. But I Residence could turn this hotel into a 4 star property very easily just by replacing their front line staff.

Pay the extra and upgrade your room...if a couple of bucks is not in your budget..

Room Tip: upgrade your room....Executive room or higher are fine!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rct99q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2012

This was our third or fourth time staying here. Rooftop pool is very nice. Staff are helpful and rooms are steadily clean. Its right beside the Chong Nonsi skytrain station and a 10 minute walk to Pat Pong night market.

Room Tip: Take the skytrain places its cheap and easy to get around town.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KKMURR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bad Waltersdorf, Austria
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2012

Perfecy located close to the BKS Chong Nonsi, within a 10 minute walk in silomstreet to get to Patpong(the pingpong player.....). Streetfood just in front of the hotel( very good). Breakfast on the 10th floor is very good - noodle soup and other thai specialities, but also fresh fruits and bread and butter. A infinity pool is very refreshing after a busy day in Bangkok.
To reach the old town you take the bKS during daytome to get to the river and its expressboats - orange line 15 Baht - after 7 o' clock only BKT or the really cheap taxis to come around.
All in all a perfectly lpcated hotel with large rooms , only with little natural light but worth the money we' ve payed!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank schosti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
231 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2012

We stayed 4 nights at the start of a tour of Thailand and Laos - our first ever visit to Thailand despite many trips across the rest of Asia. What a poor reflection on the rest of Thai hotels and people! After a long day's travel from the UK, our room was not available at 5.20pm due to "pest control" procedures (monthly mosquito treatment). The first promise of 6.00pm was not met, nor was 6.15 or 6.30 and after finally losing our cool at this stage a room magically appeared but we doubt it was the one they originally intended as it was not recently refurbished like most of our travel companions' rooms! The room was a good size and comfortable enough but smelt either of cigarettes or the pest control. The bathroom was shabby and in need of much work.

The hotel itself is in 3 unconnected blocks of 10 floors with the restaurant and pool at the top of the one we were staying in. This put endless pressure on the single lift per block and we usually resorted to climbing the stairs to the top - squeezing past spare beds, gym equipment, decorating equipment etc etc stored on each small landing. The small infinity pool was clean and pleasant and great for a quick dip before happy hour but the changing rooms were out of action for refurbishment and the restaurant was very shabby with wooden louvred walls which desparately needed repainting.

The hotel's location is its major redeeming feature. It is 200 yards from Silom's major thoroughfare along which we walked one day all the way to the river. It is also directly opposite a skytrain station, offering an excellent cheap way of traversing the wider city (or just one stop from the infamous Patpong area).

The main issue is the poor quality of service, especially in the inadequate, cramped Reception. The staff seem to be predominantly young inexperienced girls with little grasp of English and no initiative to resolve issues or provide assistance. The handling of our arrival was our major issue but reprogramming our room key also proved a very tricky problem and others in our group struggled to even get hold of a local area map. Thank goodness that everywhere else we travelled in Thailand quickly dispelled all our memories of the I-Residence and Bangkok was otherwise great fun.

Room Tip: Find another hotel or at least ask for a refurbished room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Roger V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bangkok hotels

England
Level 6 Contributor
185 reviews
123 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2012

This hotel offers a good standard of room with all the usual, air con, sat tv, tea coffee making and a nice rooftop pool at a reasonable rate in a great location very near the sky train which you can see from the hotel.
My few quibbles would be the lack of natural light in our room as the only window was screened off by blinds covering the unsightly air con outlets. It was also fairly noisy although not terrible. Our room stank of cigarette smoke. It would have been nice to have free wifi but there is free access to the internet in a small computer room. Breakfast was not included but frankly we were at the end of our trip and happy to go 3mins around the corner for a McDonalds breakfast with a decent cup of tea.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank merryweather29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2012

Location is pretty great:
- 7-eleven just outside ground floor of hotel
- stairway access to skytrain less than 100m down the street from hotel
- less than 15min walk to night markets

Hotel room itself is otherwise a bit average, and starting to show a bit of age, but was otherwise clean. Shower was average and nothng to write home about.

Price was not exactly cheap.

Predominant complaint would have to be internet. Only wifi is available, and you're given room specific codes. This caused a problem as once connected, it appears the IP gets locked to the device. So if you're like us and have multiple devices, you'll have trouble unless you pay for each device.

Not to mention we had a lot of problems actually connecting, and the "IT guy" who was sent to our room didn't know how to use Macs.

Overall I would recommend this for a single traveller in Bangkok for a short stay and need a location convenient for transport, not worried about multiple devices needing internet, and not on budget restraints.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank borzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Silom
The Heritage Bangkok
The Heritage Bangkok
#745 of 866 in Bangkok
1,564 reviews
Silom
FuramaXclusive Sathorn
FuramaXclusive Sathorn
#302 of 866 in Bangkok
646 reviews
Silom
Holiday Inn Express Bangkok Sathorn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Silom
Trinity Silom Hotel
Trinity Silom Hotel
#181 of 866 in Bangkok
1,599 reviews
Silom
The Siam Heritage
The Siam Heritage
#189 of 866 in Bangkok
882 reviews
Silom
Evergreen Laurel Hotel
Evergreen Laurel Hotel
#220 of 866 in Bangkok
205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to I-Residence Hotel Silom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about I-Residence Hotel Silom

Property: I-Residence Hotel Silom
Address: 93 Narathivas Rachanakarin Road Soi 3, Silom | Bang Rak, Bangkok 10500, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Silom
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#191 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — I-Residence Hotel Silom 4*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A comfortable boutique hotel in Bangkok with a location that will please the tourist and the businessman, just steps from public transportation. Situated between Silom and Sathorn district, adjacent to BTS Chong Nonsi Station surrounded by business area and shopping attractions, i-Residence Silom Bangkok Hotel provides a full range of facilities, 24 hour services as well as a trustworthy security system. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Travelocity.ca, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your I-Residence Hotel Silom reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
i Residence Bangkok
i Residence Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing