We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, average hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
I-Residence Hotel Silom
Ranked #280 of 879 Hotels in Bangkok
Reviewed 2 May 2012

This hotel is in a great location (if you need the BTS Skytrain), but is just average in most every way, and below average in others. I stayed a few nights at this hotel and by carefully reviewing all the rooms types I selected their largest(?) room that also overlooked the BTS train station. The room was very large, too large for the furniture in place. The room featured a floor to ceiling window that faced the busy train station and had room darkening curtains to shut out the city. The windows did a good job of keeping noise out of the room.

The furnishings in the room were showing wear and maintenance issues, and the hallway was old and looked dirty. The stairwell near our room was loaded with construction equipment that made it very difficult to safely move up the stairs. We used the stairs because the elevators were very slow and the breakfast was served one floor above our room's floor.

Breakfast was pretty awful. The upside to breakfast was that the space overlooked the city and had a big open area on one side (no wall).

We stopped by the pool which is located on part of the buildings multiple rooftops. It was nice to look at but not a pool I'd use because of its size and location.

The neighborhood is fairly good for options to eat. Shopping is a few hops away on the Skytrain.

Staff were pretty awful -- with little understanding of English.

You will be asked to leave a 1000 baht deposit for your room's keycard. A second keycard, requested on day two of our stay, required no deposit.

If you need a less-expensive hotel option that's close to the Skytrain this would be an okay hotel choice -- as long as you can except the downsides, a frustrating check-in and interface with anyone from the front desk, and an awful breakfast experience.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank davevi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,516)
There are newer reviews for I-Residence Hotel Silom
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

387 - 393 of 1,516 reviews

Reviewed 22 April 2012

I have spent many nights here and I always come back.

This hotel is great in many ways. It is located in Silom near Chong Nonsi sky train station which means you can get everywhere around.
The hotel is a small hotel with means the staff knowns you and are there for you. The rooms are very spacious and the atmosphere is superb. The staff are all very friendly and helpful.

The design is simple and beautiful and the rooms are great, both the double and triple rooms.

The hotel is budget but deserves definetly 5 starts. Furthermore the view from the roof is AMAZING! The pool is nice and intimate. you are not sharing it with 50 other guests:)

I will recommend everyone to stay here!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank worldtraveller_maria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2012

We recently stayed at this hotel for 2 weeks, it started poorly when we asked for an extra blanket and they wanted to charge 200 bt per night??? It got worse, the bed was harder than the floor, you never knew when the cleaner would come, you could be out all day and the cleaner may have not been until 5pm. There were never any towels at the pool, on one occasion we ordered cocktails at the pool and they said they had no alcohol because they were selling it on the street for Songkram??? One night they had a private function on the top floor with amplifiers blaring until midnight and the staff did nothing about it. On another occasion they had a private party by the pool and banned ALL guests from the pool they had paid for. All the staff would just stare at the guests instead of acknowledging them. At breakfast all the food would run out whilst staff stood there staring into the wilderness. I don't blame the staff as they have obviously had no training, but the management should all resign. This is one hotel to avoid at all costs. For the same price you could stay at the Narai or Montien and get much better service and management.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Dazpop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2012

Stayed at the deluxe room for four nights and the best thing about the hotel is its location. It's directly across the BTS, within walking distance of Patpong, and has convenience stores and restaurants practically right outside. My partner and I had two dinners at the restaurant in the back alley (to the right of the hotel if your back is facing the BTS) and it was cheap and good. The breakfast buffet by the hotel is okay- they provide a mix of western and Asian dishes and you can request for your eggs freshly done on the spot. Ask for free wifi password upon check in but make sure you log out and forget the network on your phone/device, as not doing so may result in using up the 5 hour free wifi limit unknowingly. We had major problems with the safe every single day (the battery is dead, the battery keeps gettin out of place, etc) and had to call front desk many times to get it rectified. They may not always be very efficient but at least they service with a smile. Not the most luxurious hotel around but pretty affordable and a good place for those looking for basic, clean and safe accommodation.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank hellosailorgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2012

Hotel is fairly new so the rooms were modernized, sheets were clean & comfy, bathroom was clean which is a must for me. We got the De Luxe room and it waas spacious and had a small veranda for smokers we can see the BTS Chong Nonsi station from our room.
Pool on rooftop was nice & clean too. Best of all, the price was not too expensive.
Location was also a plus because it's walking distance to train station, spa, restaurants, street food, & red light district.

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Charmedtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2012

Some mornings, when I have to leave earlier for golf, I realised that there are many little locals selling food very early in the mornings. That's good.

In the night and day, there are also usually some street vendors selling all sorts of local food and fruits.

The rooms are pretty decent but the bathroom's too small.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank artchang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2012

Great location by Chong Nongsi BTS Station. Less than 100m from the front doors. Stayed in what is called the Executive room 5th floor front of the building so rooms face the BTS platforms. No problems, nice room, medium sized, carpeting (not a big fan of, but clean), excellent hot water in the showers (maybe too hot), big screen T.V. with 24 stations to choose from (standard thai, english, french and german stations). Small fridge with basic items inside. 2 small complimentary bottles of water, tea & coffee. No problems with the rooms at all.

Breakfast was pleasant as well. 30 - 40 items with all the basics covered. Omelette station, fresh fruit, several thai options as well as western foods. No complaints. Place was clean, staff were friendly and kept the items mostly full. Heard a few people complaining about not having this or that but people will always complain so not to worry. Other reports here mention no yoghurt etc...that is what makes TA great...you can tell the world they had no yoghurt!!!

Did not want, wish to have or need WIFI so no comment on that , but they did offer 3 computers in the 2nd lobby for free...so again unless you are house bound...no problem...you can feed your facebook addiction!!

The only issue was with the front desk staff who are not empowered to make decisions. So to book an extra night I had to walk over to the internet cafe book my room with agoda and walk back to the front desk to pick up the fax confirmation of my extra night and hand to the lady who 5 minutes before said she could not offer an extra night! I also wanted to PAY for a late check out (one night room rate) and again she said it was not possible 1pm was the latest they could offer. Again I stated I was willing to pay for the whole extra night to check out at 3pm and again she stated it was not possible. My wife went down later to ask if she could make a reservation for room and had no problem in doing so. She then asked if she could have particular room (ours) and again front desk said okay. I later went down to the front desk with our room key and mentioned I was checking in showed her the reservation my wife had made and then asked her why we had to go over all this to extend the room by 1 night. Her reply!! She walked away! They are functional only in the part of meet and greet.

Out front you have a variety of excellent food stalls, a 7/11, McD's (not for me though), lot's of banks, etc...so overall not a bad choice...

Just a note on the other staff...restaurant & house keeping staff were amazing.

I run the front office of one of the most popular guest houses in North East Thailand and know how difficult it can be at times. But I Residence could turn this hotel into a 4 star property very easily just by replacing their front line staff.

Pay the extra and upgrade your room...if a couple of bucks is not in your budget..

Room Tip: upgrade your room....Executive room or higher are fine!
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rct99q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Silom
FuramaXclusive Sathorn
FuramaXclusive Sathorn
#289 of 879 in Bangkok
659 reviews
Silom
The Heritage Bangkok
The Heritage Bangkok
#746 of 879 in Bangkok
1,570 reviews
Silom
Holiday Inn Express Bangkok Sathorn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Silom
Trinity Silom Hotel
Trinity Silom Hotel
#187 of 879 in Bangkok
1,616 reviews
Silom
Evergreen Laurel Hotel
Evergreen Laurel Hotel
#219 of 879 in Bangkok
208 reviews
Silom
The Siam Heritage
The Siam Heritage
#198 of 879 in Bangkok
887 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to I-Residence Hotel Silom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about I-Residence Hotel Silom

Address: 93 Narathivas Rachanakarin Road Soi 3, Silom | Bang Rak, Bangkok 10500, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Silom
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#198 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range: $53 - $130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — I-Residence Hotel Silom 4*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A comfortable boutique hotel in Bangkok with a location that will please the tourist and the businessman, just steps from public transportation. Situated between Silom and Sathorn district, adjacent to BTS Chong Nonsi Station surrounded by business area and shopping attractions, i-Residence Silom Bangkok Hotel provides a full range of facilities, 24 hour services as well as a trustworthy security system. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, Agoda, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your I-Residence Hotel Silom reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
i Residence Bangkok
i Residence Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing