We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place for special occasions”

Charcoal Tandoor Grill & Mixology
Reserve with Chope
Charcoal Tandoor Grill & Mixology is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #92 of 12,999 Restaurants in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian, Bar, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Khlong Toei Nuea
Description: Following the success of Above Eleven, Soho Hospitality introduces Charcoal Tandoor Grill & Mixology, a new concept in Indian dining. Amidst sleek, industrial surroundings, you will find accents of traditional India - from our colourful spice library and artistic homage to Mumbai's notorious tiffin dubbawallahs, to the colonial punkah ceiling fans - but most of all, in our food. Discover authentic tandoori kebabs, chargrilled over glowing embers in our copper cladded clay ovens; indulge in delicacies from the House of the Royal Moghuls with recipes from beyond the Northwestern frontier. Most importantly, share the flavours around; our celebration dishes in particular are perfect for the whole table. Venture beyond the drinks traditionally served with Indian cuisine. Our star mixologist has designed a list of masterfully crafted, uniquely presented creations to accompany the menu. Experience an exquisite taste sensation with kebab-cocktails pairings, which complement and balance one another perfectly. Relax and allow the colours, fragrances, sights and sounds to converge for a new encounter with this historic cuisine.
Reviewed November 13, 2016

Went there for our anniversary dinner. Great ambiance but a little expensive for my taste.
Staff was very friendly and the food was delicious.
The drinks were a little different, hence the name 'mixology'
Do try their unique drink when you visit.

Date of visit: July 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Aishwarya M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vijay K, Manager at Charcoal Tandoor Grill & Mixology, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2016

Dear Aishwarya M

Greetings from Charcoal Tandoor Grill & Mixology, Bangkok.

We are very pleased to learn that you had a memorable experienceat Charcoal. It is delightful to know that you relished the dishes and the entire team joins me in thanking you for your kind words.

We look forward to your next visit.


Warm regards,
Vijay Kamble
Restaurant Manager,
Charcoal
Tandoor Grill & Mixology

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (997)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

476 - 480 of 997 reviews

Reviewed November 13, 2016

At the time of writing this review this place features in top ten in over 2000 restaurants in bangkok and I have to say this spot is well deserved or maybe it should be even higher, we went there on a Saturday evening without any reservation and were lucky to get a table as the place was absolutely jam packed and there was no empty table in siight...we ordered several vegetarian dishes like Brocolli tikka, Mixed platter etc and each and eevry one of them was spot on including the drinks which were very refreshing and unique , not the usual assortment of drink you find in all the places... the gentleman who was serving us Mr. Akshay was very efficient, courteous and helpful and he made all the right suggestions... the raw mango chutney was to do for and we had several helpings of that...the ambience was very luxurious and wonderful and the food was very reasonably priced despite it being a high end fine dining restaurant, the Prince Paan was very good.... a most enjoyable dinner, thank you Mr. Akshay..

Date of visit: November 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank indianartist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vijay K, Manager at Charcoal Tandoor Grill & Mixology, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2016

Dear Guest

Greetings from Charcoal Tandoor Grill & Mixology, Bangkok

We are delighted to know that you had a great experience with us at Charcoal and are grateful to you for recommending us to others.

I am glad you enjoyed the services and the culinary offering by our team. I shall personally pass on the appreciation to Akshay. We are elated to know that every aspect of your dining experience at Charcoal impressed you. The guest experience is our highest priority and it is always gratifying to receive such valuable comments.
Your kind remarks about our associates, restaurant and the services are much valued.

We hope you would soon honor us with a revisit.

Warm regards,
Vijay Kamble
Restaurant Manager,
Charcoal
Tandoor Grill & Mixology

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 11, 2016

On the 3rd leg of my visit around South East Asia, I came across the Charcoal Grill which claimed to serve authentic Indian cuisine.

Coming from the UK, I was slightly sceptical given the nature of Indian restaurants in the touristy areas of the UK and the true flavour of Indian cooking being watered down to acclimatise to the western palate.

On arrival I was greeted by Monaj, who was extremely helpful in talking us through the menu and guidance on any dietary requirements which we had.

Having gone for a variety of starters my stand out favourite were the Lamb chops with the broccoli starter being a pleasant surprise. The Lamb chops were succulent and juicy, masterfully spiced and seasoned, with the meat falling off the bone, the chop was cooked to a perfect medium.

Being a meat eater, I'm not a huge vegetables fan, however, the charcoal grill have managed to take the humble broccoli vegetable and turn it into a rock star starter dish. The only way to describe this is salty, creamy, crunchy and slightly sweet all at the same time. We had this with the multi-layered bread/roti. This was a unique experience as I’ve never tasted this type of bread which was pillowy soft in the middle, buttery and crispy on the outside.

For the main we elected for the chicken Biryani. Having had this in many restaurants around the world, including top restaurants in London, I have to say this was one of the best Biryanis I've tested. The meat was perfectly cooked and seasoned with the flavour of the herbs and spices complimenting the chicken and rice. The chicken was of an excellent quality and I wouldn't be surprised if it was organic.

There are a selection of drinks of available, however as me and my wife don't drink we opted for the mocktails. All I can say is that the Lime and Mint Soda drink on the menu reminds me of a drink I had as a kid in Pakistan called 'Shikanjvi' a tangy and sweet Lemon and Lime drink, perfectly balanced in flavour to quench your thirst and cleanse the pallet.

Overall the Charcoal grill was a great find with fantastic food, in a modern yet uniquely styled Indian restaurant which keeps its charm and character. The service is next to none and all the staff were friendly and helpful both before and on arrival.

I'm currently in Cambodia and I'm making a special trip back to Bangkok en route to Chiang Mai to visit this restaurant as the food was so good!!!!!

Date of visit: November 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank zubairr2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vijay K, Manager at Charcoal Tandoor Grill & Mixology, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2016

Dear Zubairr

Greetings from Charcoal Tandoor Grill & Mixology, Bangkok

Thank you for sharing your pleasant feedback about the authentic Northwest frontier cuisine experience that Charcoal endeavors to offer. We are glad you relished our renowned signature delicacies like the “Lamb Chops”, Tandoori Malai Brocoli and our most recommended the Murgh Dum Biryani.
We are greatly thankful for your appreciation of the overall dining experience at our Restaurant. Your positive comments have been shared with the team and they are thankful for the appreciation. We are delighted to know that you will be visiting us again.

We look forward to serving you again

Warm regards,
Vijay Kamble
Restaurant Manager,
Charcoal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 9, 2016 via mobile

Sometimes u don't want to say much. Just quality! Everything, starting from food, service, atmosphere, interior. Will come back again and again. Thanks a lot fir great good experience

Date of visit: November 2016
Thank irinabrazilka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vijay K, Manager at Charcoal Tandoor Grill & Mixology, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2016

Dear Irina B

Greetings from Charcoal Tandoor Grill & Mixology, Bangkok

We are pleased to hear of your experience from your recent visit with us. It was delightful to read that you enjoyed our services, ambiance and overall dining experience

We look forward to welcoming you soon again.

Warm regards,
Vijay Kamble
Restaurant Manager,
Charcoal
Tandoor Grill & Mixology

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 9, 2016 via mobile

What a great restaurant, every dish was delicious. After dinner you can head upstairs for a drink at the rooftop bar with great views of Bangkok.

Date of visit: November 2016
1  Thank chrisbobaggins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vijay K, Manager at Charcoal Tandoor Grill & Mixology, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2016

Dear chrisbobaggins

Greetings from Charcoal Tandoor Grill & Mixology, Bangkok

We are pleased to know that you enjoyed the cuisine and dining experience at Charcoal. We thank you for this review and look forward to your next visit to to the restaurant,

Warm regards,
Vijay Kamble
Restaurant Manager,
Charcoal
Tandoor Grill & Mixology

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Charcoal Tandoor Grill & Mixology also viewed

 

Been to Charcoal Tandoor Grill & Mixology? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing