We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Aruntara Riverside Boutique Hotel
Ranked #38 of 375 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“wonderful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2012

beautiful hotel, very friendly and helpful staff, lovely and delicious breakfast buffet, I had a wonderful two nights there before I met a group for an organized bike trip. I would definitely go back again, walked all around the area and took a tuk tuk for 100 baht my last morning to meet my group 2 miles up the road.The taxi from the airport cost me less the 5 US dollars.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rsb1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

676 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    413
    207
    43
    10
    3
See reviews for
106
334
44
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, MN
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2012

You know the old adage "you get what you pay for", luckily it is not always true. We just spent a night at the Aruntara in Chiang Mai for only 3700 THB - What an amazing deal! The Aruntara is a very nice, clean, comfortable hotel away from all the noise, hustle and bustle of downtown Chiang Mai. A nice little oasis 5 minutes and a 60 THB tuk tuk ride away from it all. On the riverside and only about 15 minutes from the airport. Very "western" accommodations presented with the clean lines of Asian design. The staff was incredibly welcoming, offering to open the breakfast buffet (simple but outstanding) 30 minutes early so that we could eat before leaving for the airport. They also had a cab ready and waiting for our departure. The curbside security guard hailed a tuk tuk for our evening ride downtown, and offered to take out photo when we returned. A nice little pool on the riverside of the hotel (rectangular for you fitness types) gave a nice place to relax and get in a short workout. We have stayed in places costing 3-4x more that did not offer this level of service, friendliness and quality. I whole-heartedly recommend a stay at the Aruntara if you want a safe, comfortable, high-quality stay in Chiang Mai.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Travelin_Man_Mpls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seremban
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2012

After reading the review on the hotel I decided to stay in Aruntara for 4D/3N. I stayed with my family of 8 and we really love the hotel. The rooms were spacious, bathroom very clean and strong shower. The bedsheets were clean and neatly tugged. I love the antique lampshade and accessories. It blends well with the room. Breakfast was a good selection. I would like to thank the staff at the coffee house who went all out to get a birthday cake for my son in town for his birthday. Staff were polite and courteous. Most of all I would like to thank Ms Noi ( we correspond on the internet prior to my stay) for arranging my transport for our sightseeing and for introducing us to Mr Jeera our guide. Mr Jeera has done a good job and was very dedicated to his work. We enjoyed Chiangmai and most of all our stay with Aruntara Hotel. It will always be in our mind. As the saying "beautiful place beautiful people".

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank yambahaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
61 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2012

We stayed here for 4 night and really loved it. The room was spacious and beautiful and the breakfast was great. Staff was helpful and attentive. The hotel is fairly small and it has a lot of personality. After living and traveling in within the region for seven years, we would highly recommend Aruntara Hotel and it remains one of our favorites in South East Asia.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Matt H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2012

This is the epitome of boutique hotel. It was well decorated, intimate, and charming. Service was great. Food was mediocre, but there are plenty of great places to eat not far. As an American, I'm afraid we are used to very soft beds. We weren't prepared when we pounced on the bed and found that was more like a wood plank with foam on it. If your sensitive to sleeping on extra firm beds, you may want to reconsider, but I say get over it and stay here.

The pool was very small and more like a pool on a personal property than at a hotel, but it is adequate to cool you off if you need it.

It was a GREAT value and beautiful property.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charizmatic003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2012

A beautiful well kept small hotel with thoughtfully appointed rooms. We found that the staff could not do enough for you and the only problem that we had was the hard bed and the mattress was changed as soon as we spoke to them about it. Food excellent and although it is a 20 min walk or 10 min by tuktuk from the center it was worth it for the peaceful location by the river. A truly relaxing experience and we would look no further if we were to return to Chiang Mai.

Room Tip: We had a ground floor room off the courtyard walkway with its own outside area and outside day bed i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank suesteel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2012

Our stay that the Aruntara Hotel located on the quiet banks of the Ping River exceeded expectations with the beautifully quiet manicured grounds which relaxed the body and mind when drinking and chatting with friends or preparing for the day with a modest but well appointed breakfast. At night dinners were carefully prepared by a very skilled chef and catered to a range of local and international tastes. All the hotel staff responded with enthusiasm and a welcoming Thai graciousness to all requests and were most helpful in providing guidance, recommendations and assistance with arranging tour activities, advice on visiting charming parts of the old city and sincerely and promptly responding to our needs as guests of the hotel. If the TV programme 'Getaway' could enter the doors of the Aruntara they would discover a sensative but striking presentation to the reception area, standard rooms well appointed and uniquely designed in a northern Thai style with generous beds elevated on a platform within the room, shutters to an adjoining full bath ensuite and tranquil views of the inner courtyard. The atmosphere is cool and breezy perfect for an afternoon nap or reclining by the sheltered pool sundeck reading a novel, or taking in the distant evening echoes of temples situated further along the banks of the river. Located some 20 minutes by tuk tuk from the centre of the old city (likey faster by airconditioned taxi), the Aruntara is a welcome escape at the end of a morning's temple touring, elephant trekking or jostle amid the Sunday night market to retreat and relax for the next day's adventure. Many thanks Aruntara we will be back!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chile2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
1.6 km away
Siripanna Villa Resort & Spa
Siripanna Villa Resort & Spa
#33 of 375 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,126 reviews
1.9 km away
Rimping Village
Rimping Village
#11 of 375 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,034 reviews
4.4 km away
Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 km away
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
#28 of 375 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,772 reviews
2.1 km away
De Naga Hotel
De Naga Hotel
#30 of 375 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 936 reviews
2.2 km away
Shewe Wana Boutique Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aruntara Riverside Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aruntara Riverside Boutique Hotel

Property: Aruntara Riverside Boutique Hotel
Address: 351 / 1 Charoen Prathet Road | T Changklan, A Muang, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 375 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Aruntara Riverside Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aruntara Chiang Mai is a true treasure for hotel aficionados and the traveling cognoscenti alike. Its British colonial design is complimented by Northern Thai influences that embrace the present while respecting the past. High ceilings sit above beautiful towering teak columns traditionally crafted by Thai tradesman. Each of the luxurious guest rooms is designed to offer stylish accommodation with an expansive open-plan living area and an abundance of room to relax and unwind while glancing over Chiang Mai’s Mae Ping River. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Aruntara Riverside Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing