We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“they do anything to take your money”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of The Bupatara

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Bupatara
Ranked #519 of 720 Chiang Mai B&B and Inns
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“they do anything to take your money”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2011

my friend and I had checked in, and then found out we needed to go to laos to get our visa. so we were going to go for a night, and use up our night that we had payed for once we got back. but since we had put one of our bags in the room, they needed to clean it again and they charged us for the full night.

Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank oilerincowtown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    19
    20
    11
    10
See reviews for
8
31
11
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2011

We booked a package in Bangkok( wouldnt recommend) as think we paid way more than the other guest! The first day we got there we had come up on the over night train so was early for check in, they told us to come back in a hour so we did, and the room still wasn't ready, we wouldnt of minded if they had apologised didn't seem to care, when we gotbto the room, there was no towels and when we asked they said they had run out. Again they weren't bothered. The room was very basic and looked nothing likenthe pictures shown to us, other guest complained that the air con was loud and dripping, ours was ok, there was a hot shower, but sink was outside on small balcony. You couldnt stand out on it because the air con unit was out there and pulling out all the hot air which made it twice as hot. We went on jungle trek, which was very well orangised by two young guys, very friendl, funny and helpful. Again because we had booked the tour all included it was a lot more expensive ( best to shop around)
Loved the jungle trek. When we came back we had 3 more nights here but they had moved us to a much nicer room.
Which was much better, they didn't clean the room the whole time we were there though. Even though it is a simple place we still enjoyed our stay, itbwas in a great location and really enjoyed the laid back life of Chang Mai, and we met lots of other travellers while we were there, with a small pool and area to hang out.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daisyew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thisted
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2011

When we arrived at the hotel the first thing they wanted was to sell us some tours. We bought a two day trekking tour, and the seller Jenny, told us, that is was a good price, and she couldn't give any discount. We paid 2.800 bath pr. person. The other guys at the trekking tour told us, that they had paid 1.000 bath for the same tour! They just booked it at their hostel.

After the tour we would talk to the seller about the overprice. We were told, that she would be in some hours later - she didn't came - then she would come in the morning - She didn't either. We asked the receptionist to make the seller us - but that didn't happend. BAD SERVICE.

The hotel is ok for price of 700 bath. But do not trust the pictures. They are 10 years old.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JakobogAnne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Chiang Mai hotels

Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2010

I stayed here recently with my husband and was disapointed with what had been described to us as an 'exclusive, boutique' hotel.

The hotel is quite central and within walking distance of all the hot spots. The staff were not very friendly, however, especially after we said that wouldn't be booking a trip into the jungle with them. The sheets had not been changed from the previous guests (had hairs etc on them!) and despite us asking for them to be changed, we still had the same sheets for the following night. Overall, not a great stay.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bec56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, IN
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2010

The Bupatara was a great home base for our five days in Chiang Mai. Jin at reception and Need at the tourdesk were both very helpful, pleasant and accommodating. The folks staying here ranged from backpackers, young and old, to honeymooners. I felt very at-home here. The location was great for getting around Chiang Mai. A bank right around the corner and tons of great food and temples in walking distance. You do need to make a request at reception each morning if you want your room clean, and a little tip to the cleaning lady really helps. Laundry service was quite cheap and timely, too. Inexperienced travelers, like me, might be surprised to see the toilet in the shower room. That's just the way they do it in Thailand and you get used to it. The room dries out very quick, at least in high season.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EmilyChew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nuernberg,Germany
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2009

We stayed here in Chiang Mai for 5 days and booked in advance from Bangkok. Room type was "Superior" (the lower category; there's also "Deluxe").

First the pros:
The surroundings are cool. Garden, pool, two sofas, lots of plants and off the busy street. The staff is freindly, but you just have to ask for things. E.g. cleaning the room. Then it's done. TV in our room with even some English-spoken movie channels (good for rainy days).

The cons:
Although pictures of brochures and web pages tend to, let's say, "brighten the reality", the real room had nothing to to with what the pictures showed. It was litte and crammed and for the interieur quite overpriced. The night in a "superior" costs 950 B. I would go for a realistic 750 B.
Furthermore the hostel tried to sell us an elephant trekking tour at a "very good price" for 1300 B p.P. (which we didn't take; we learned our lesson in Bangkok). It turned out that one can book that kind of tour through one of the many agents (or even other hostels) in town for about 800 B.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank protoplayer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2009

Hi
I have just returned travelling Asia. After being in Bangkok and Phuket it was a "Huge" breathe of fresh air to find Bupatara House.
I stayed there for 10 days in Chiang Mai and Loved every minute of it. Annoy and Dang run the Guesthouse. Dang has a University degree from the US so his english is great. The other staff members can communicate very well too.
They have the "internet garden" with 4 computers for the guests.
Bupatara is close to all markets, fresh, night market, china town. Everything you want to do is within walking distance. It is NOT located on a busy road so you don't hear traffic ... may the rooster in the hills in the morning.
Chiang Mai is loaded with culture and a must for everyone.
Sandy,
Calgary, Canada

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sbratinc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
1.4 km away
Fuengfa Place
Fuengfa Place
#203 of 376 in Chiang Mai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
2.1 km away
Noble Place Hotel
Noble Place Hotel
#167 of 376 in Chiang Mai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
1.1 km away
Manee Guest House
Manee Guest House
#104 of 720 in Chiang Mai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Log Home Boutique Hotel
Log Home Boutique Hotel
#67 of 720 in Chiang Mai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
0.3 km away
Noble House
Noble House
#75 of 809 in Chiang Mai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
1.0 km away
De Charme Hotel
De Charme Hotel
#84 of 809 in Chiang Mai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bupatara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bupatara

Property: The Bupatara
Address: 12/1 soi 4 kor. Prapokkloa Road,T.Prasingha A.Muang, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #519 of 720 B&Bs / Inns in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Bupatara 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An exclusive & boutique Style guesthouse at the heart of Chiang Mai. The Bupatara is centrally located within the walls of the ancient city and is surrounded by traditional lifestyles & cultures amidst hundreds of temples. The Bupatara offers 21 exclusive and contemporary style rooms in a relaxing environment with a lush tropical garden and pool. Welcoming guests to the ultimate city resort escape, the Bupatara's private and exclusive surroundings with wholly hearted-service promise to make your stay in Chiang Mai memorable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Expedia and Travelocity.ca so you can book your The Bupatara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bupatara Hotel Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing