We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Disappointing” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Bupatara

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Bupatara
Ranked #527 of 702 Chiang Mai B&B and Inns
Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2010

I stayed here recently with my husband and was disapointed with what had been described to us as an 'exclusive, boutique' hotel.

The hotel is quite central and within walking distance of all the hot spots. The staff were not very friendly, however, especially after we said that wouldn't be booking a trip into the jungle with them. The sheets had not been changed from the previous guests (had hairs etc on them!) and despite us asking for them to be changed, we still had the same sheets for the following night. Overall, not a great stay.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bec56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    18
    20
    11
    10
See reviews for
8
30
11
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, IN
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2010

The Bupatara was a great home base for our five days in Chiang Mai. Jin at reception and Need at the tourdesk were both very helpful, pleasant and accommodating. The folks staying here ranged from backpackers, young and old, to honeymooners. I felt very at-home here. The location was great for getting around Chiang Mai. A bank right around the corner and tons of great food and temples in walking distance. You do need to make a request at reception each morning if you want your room clean, and a little tip to the cleaning lady really helps. Laundry service was quite cheap and timely, too. Inexperienced travelers, like me, might be surprised to see the toilet in the shower room. That's just the way they do it in Thailand and you get used to it. The room dries out very quick, at least in high season.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EmilyChew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nuernberg,Germany
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2009

We stayed here in Chiang Mai for 5 days and booked in advance from Bangkok. Room type was "Superior" (the lower category; there's also "Deluxe").

First the pros:
The surroundings are cool. Garden, pool, two sofas, lots of plants and off the busy street. The staff is freindly, but you just have to ask for things. E.g. cleaning the room. Then it's done. TV in our room with even some English-spoken movie channels (good for rainy days).

The cons:
Although pictures of brochures and web pages tend to, let's say, "brighten the reality", the real room had nothing to to with what the pictures showed. It was litte and crammed and for the interieur quite overpriced. The night in a "superior" costs 950 B. I would go for a realistic 750 B.
Furthermore the hostel tried to sell us an elephant trekking tour at a "very good price" for 1300 B p.P. (which we didn't take; we learned our lesson in Bangkok). It turned out that one can book that kind of tour through one of the many agents (or even other hostels) in town for about 800 B.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank protoplayer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2009

Hi
I have just returned travelling Asia. After being in Bangkok and Phuket it was a "Huge" breathe of fresh air to find Bupatara House.
I stayed there for 10 days in Chiang Mai and Loved every minute of it. Annoy and Dang run the Guesthouse. Dang has a University degree from the US so his english is great. The other staff members can communicate very well too.
They have the "internet garden" with 4 computers for the guests.
Bupatara is close to all markets, fresh, night market, china town. Everything you want to do is within walking distance. It is NOT located on a busy road so you don't hear traffic ... may the rooster in the hills in the morning.
Chiang Mai is loaded with culture and a must for everyone.
Sandy,
Calgary, Canada

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sbratinc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2009

Nice location: on a quiet street near the main road. Cab drivers at the airport know Bupatara and it only takes 10min to get here. Walking distance to the temples in the city, bank/currency exchange is at the corner of the main road, and a minute walk to a lot of yummy food stands at night!

Most staff speak good English and all are very friendly - I once bought some street food and the staff here gave me the bowl, spoon, fork and even fruit to go with it!

Free internet room and wi-fi if you bring your own computer.

The room is decent size with TV and fridge. My room overlooks Wat Chedi Luang and nearby area. Very nice view at night.

They have bikes for rent, a new swimming pool.

Cons: no elevator but a staff member helped me with my lagguage ;-)

Stayed January 2009
Helpful?
2 Thank lxlwyx19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2009

Although the hotel is not exactly as it looks on the website (much more basic and a not quite as pristine), it still offers great value for money in a good location. The rooms are clean and the beds are comfy. Just a shame they don't have a lift as my case was really heavy and we were put on the top floor.

The staff were really helpful and the added extras such as free internet and 24-hr refreshments were a nice treat.

We had a bit of trouble with taxi/tuk tuk drivers not knowing where the hotel was, but we solved this with carrying a map with it marked on, which was easy enough.

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank goodwin71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2009

Travel to Chiang Mai every year and love to stroll along all those little 'soi' (lane) to find new and hidden places to stay, since I hate those morning motor bikes noise from the main roads. If you have the same problem, go to Bupatara, you'll get much more than you expected.

I stayed there for a week and there are different type of rooms to suit all budget but the 2 rooms on the top floor with balcony are so lovely ! You can watch sunrise and see the lighting of Wat Chedi Luang turn on when the sun is down....

All city attractions are within walking distance, include the sunday and saturday market, fruit and night food market at Chiang Mai Gate etc.

The rooms are clean and spacious, internet room with 2 computers on the G/F, fresh brew coffee, large portion breakfast and in-expensive restaurant by the fish pond, they even pick and drop me from the airport for free !

Am going back again this year!

  • Liked — quiet yet convenience, safe and very friendly people, inexpensive but better then most which charge the same price.
  • Disliked — stairs to climb but they will help you with the luggage, still you'll have to climb everyday.
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank School
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
3.6 km away
Holiday Garden Hotel
Holiday Garden Hotel
#251 of 374 in Chiang Mai
3.0 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
2.3 km away
Varada Place
Varada Place
#21 of 374 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 622 reviews
1.1 km away
Manee Guest House
Manee Guest House
#105 of 702 in Chiang Mai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
BB Mantra Hotel
BB Mantra Hotel
#38 of 702 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
1.0 km away
TR Residence
TR Residence
#57 of 702 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
1.1 km away
Sri Pat Guest House
Sri Pat Guest House
#16 of 702 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bupatara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bupatara

Property: The Bupatara
Address: 12/1 soi 4 kor. Prapokkloa Road,T.Prasingha A.Muang, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #527 of 702 B&Bs / Inns in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Bupatara 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An exclusive & boutique Style guesthouse at the heart of Chiang Mai. The Bupatara is centrally located within the walls of the ancient city and is surrounded by traditional lifestyles & cultures amidst hundreds of temples. The Bupatara offers 21 exclusive and contemporary style rooms in a relaxing environment with a lush tropical garden and pool. Welcoming guests to the ultimate city resort escape, the Bupatara's private and exclusive surroundings with wholly hearted-service promise to make your stay in Chiang Mai memorable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda and Travelocity.ca so you can book your The Bupatara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bupatara Hotel Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing