We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good choice for the mid-range traveller”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Thapae Boutique House
Ranked #122 of 387 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 March 2012

Down a quiet soi, on the edge of the action; location is the main reason to stay at this small hotel. We stayed for 4 nights and found nothing to complain about. The deluxe room we occupied was average in size and in good condition. The bed was 2 singles pushed together but they do have big beds in some rooms. The TV was a good size with lots of channels. Free WiFi was fast and trouble free. Breakfast is standard fare but is well presented and they do try to vary it now and then.
Criticisms are few: the shower floor can be slow to drain and the basin tap was worn out and should be replaced.
The friendly staff help to create the calm ambience at this hotel and all in all this hotel represents a good choice for the mid-range traveller.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank parisimo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (197)
There are newer reviews for Thapae Boutique House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

92 - 98 of 197 reviews

Reviewed 5 March 2012

We stayed here from 19 to 22 February. Booked through Hotels.com. Had no problems checking in and got our room almost immediately, as if they were waiting for us. The lady at the reception named Gai was very friendly and spoke English. She was very helpful in suggesting to us some attractions and transport options.

When we reached the place, it looked very ordinary. Nothing "boutiquey" about it. But after a short while, we felt that this was a very cosy place. We could just laze around the chairs (and tables) near the reception and dining area.

The room we got was on the second level at Block A (there is another Block B). There are no lifts here and you have to walk up to your room. The room was clean and tidy. However, there were several mosquitoes waiting around. No bathtub (which suited us fine) but the water pressure was low. Hot water flow to the shower head was not consistent. Due to the wooden floorings, we could hear quite loudly when people walked about in the room above us. We also heard some dogs barking in the evening but only for short periods.

The free breakfast consisted of 2 slices of bread with an egg (done either sunny-side-up, omelette or scrambled), a small sausage, a slice of ham, butter and jam, a glass of orange juice and coffee/tea. Not quite enough to fill a big eater though.

Accessibility to other places of interest was convenient. We walked to the Sunday market (4 minutes), Night Bazaar (10 minutes), Warorot Market (10 minutes).

We liked the place and will return here if visiting Chiang Mai again.

Room Tip: If you are very sensitive to creaking noise generated by people walking above, ask for a room on the...
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank taukwa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2012

Very nice experience on a very good location.
I was happy to pay the 1500 baht ( lets say 35 euro! ) For this amazing big room with bathtub and perfect bed. 2 aircons and what can i tell you more.
We even took a day of just staying in our room as we where tired from the long journey from bangkok by train!
I would recommend the junior suite to my friends for sure.
I took by accident your hotel room key but I will send it back by post off course..
Thanks for the nice days

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jjmhen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2012

The hotel is clean. The room is spacious. The staff is friendly and helpful. Excellent value for a hotel in a great location, just outside of Thapae gate. The room in the front can be a bit noisy, especially in the morning from neighbors and the nearby road.
I would stay here again and recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank myo9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2012

We stayed here in November. It was the second place we stayed in Chiang Mai and the best. Staff are really helpful, helped us organise tours etc. Rooms are very nice, clean. Very good location, close to the Weekend walking market. I would definitely stay here again and recommend others to stay here!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank liketotravel0408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2012

Thapae Boutique Hotel is a wonderful place with excellent staff. We booked close to the date and had no problems. Although it was a bit difficult to find, once we were there everything was pretty good. We were within walking distance of the night bazaar and lots of evening activity options (food, bars, hangouts, shopping, etc). Although the rooms had many more mosquitoes than similar guesthouses/ hotels, they were reasonably comfortable with a wonderful shower and plenty of space.
The staff, especially Nui (sorry about the terribly spelling of the name!), was great. We had to leave to catch a bus at 5.30am. She arranged a cab and made us breakfast at 5, which was very much appreciated.
I would happily stay here in the future and would recommend it to friends.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mfmonn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2012

I stayed here over the new year week as it was the only place available in Chiang Mai. Beds are hard but sleep is possible. Rooms are clean. Water is either piping hot or tepid in the shower and changes between the two while you shower every few seconds. When people in the rooms to the side of you and above you shower, you can hear the water running past your shower drain as if you were showering in your room. The main problem at this hotel is that the floors are wooden and you can hear every single step the people above you and to the side of you take. The walls are thin and you can hear people next door to you talking, showering and walking. Bang bang bang all night on the floors above you and in the morning starting around 7:30 house keeping starts banging stuff around the rooms which wakes you up because it quite literally sounds like a bomb is going off. I won't stay here again even if someone else was paying.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank whitebobo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.1 km away
Roong Ruang Hotel
Roong Ruang Hotel
#169 of 387 in Chiang Mai
81 reviews
0.5 km away
Na Inn Bed & Breakfast
Na Inn Bed & Breakfast
#159 of 387 in Chiang Mai
110 reviews
0.1 km away
Imm Hotel Thaphae Chiang Mai
Imm Hotel Thaphae Chiang Mai
#68 of 387 in Chiang Mai
457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
WangBurapa Grand Hotel
WangBurapa Grand Hotel
#133 of 387 in Chiang Mai
257 reviews
0.7 km away
Miami Hotel
Miami Hotel
#201 of 387 in Chiang Mai
22 reviews
0.3 km away
Tapae Place Hotel
Tapae Place Hotel
#152 of 387 in Chiang Mai
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thapae Boutique House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thapae Boutique House

Address: 4 soi 5 Thapae Rd | Changklan Muang, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Best Value Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range: $25 - $45 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Thapae Boutique House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our spacious and immaculate rooms are finished in a harmonious blend of chocolate teak wood and cool pastel hues of green, lemon and cream. All have air-con and televisions. Beds are positively sleep inducing and mounted in custom designed teak frames. Bathrooms are spotless and elegantly finished with attractive fixtures and colorful ceramic tiling. Our large open air lobby gracefully leads to a lush garden patio. Located in the heart of downtown for your continence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, Cancelon, Ctrip TA and TripOnline SA so you can book your Thapae Boutique House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thapae Boutique House Hotel Chiang Mai
Thapae Boutique Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing