We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BEST hostel in Chiang Mai!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Spicythai Backpackers
Ranked #84 of 394 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 April 2012

It's outside the centre of the small city, but that is what makes it so nice!It's located in an old house, so the accomodation is maybe (after so many years of being a hostel) not in the best shape, but the atmosphere is great! Noom is a great host and a very good barbecuer. We stayed here in February, travelling for 2 months and still haven't found one that tops this hostel! IF you're looking for a relax stay, meet a lot of nice people, enjoy the thai kindness and chill in the front yard, stay at spicythai!

Room Tip: Only dorms at the hostel. Mixed or female. I think sleeping upstairs is more quiet, downstairs is ne...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rotterdam_1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (149)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

120 - 126 of 149 reviews

Reviewed 7 April 2012

I stayed here last August and loved it. We had been recomended it by many other backpackers along our trip and as soon as we arrived I could see why. We didn't want to leave!
It is slightly far out in a residental area but we enjoyed being away from the tourist areas and you could easily get a TukTuk into town.
The owners were amazing and helped us organise all our trips and outings. They even took us on a few nights out. When a girls credit card got swallowed by a machine the staff went out of their way to help her get it back! I also got quite ill towards the end of the week and they really looked out for me. It also meant I got to make the most of the TV and amazing range of films they had!
The downstairs area is very sociable and we met some great people. The bedrooms and bathrooms were clean, there was free internet and breakfast included.
Couldn't of asked for anything more.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smile4sof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2012

It's a nice hostel as in atmosphere. The fellow backpackers are very friendly. The staff are nice when you want to book trips via them. But checking out they can't wait to get rid of you and act very hostile - not impressed!!!! Also the bathrooms are filthy which does not help as the staff don't let you wear shoes! However, is very cheap and they do run events. Really is 'you get what you pay for' literally. But free breakfast was great and I like the fact they let you take bottles of drink and charge you when you when you check out. Location is ok - old city is about a 15 min walk.

Room Tip: Choose a female dorm! Has it's own CLEAN bathroom! Other dorms and bathrooms are gross!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank samikrimmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2012

The people who run this place are great and give heaps of tips and will book/organise anything you want to do. The house is an old mansion, bathrooms are ok but it's clean. Nom took us on an unique incredible trek! Seriously amazing. It's good for single travellers and there seems to be an older crowd but a lot of partying. it's a great atmosphere.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hannah178
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2012

The best hostel in South East Asia; the only hostel that has a real backpackers vibe! Spicythai has all the facilities that make a good hostel; friendly, helpful & informative staff; clean & spacious air con rooms; free super fast WiFi & internet terminals and free breakfast. There are activities organised every evening; bowling, clubs & bars, free cultural talks, free introduction to buddism and temple visits. Spicythai is a home away from home, leaving Spicythai is the hardest part. STAY HERE!

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jaszanova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2012

Sorry but the accommodation was completely feral at this hostel. Beds were saggy, bathrooms were disgusting and no locks provided for lockers. Location is good, away from the touristy area, and the staff seemed nice - but you can get much better value than this in Chiang Mai. Maybe I was too old for this place but I do not understand how it can get good reviews.

Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
2  Thank neetsyneet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2012

The place is humble but it's all you need, the best thing about it is the owner noon or nun, he was so helpful and organizing tours and taxis. His advice led us to the best places in Thailand. Plenty of great visors to meet and swap stories with. Highly recommended although locations is slightly far from the city it was sill worth it!

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelerrat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.6 km away
Varada Place
Varada Place
#26 of 394 in Chiang Mai
687 reviews
0.7 km away
Mali's Room
Mali's Room
#146 of 394 in Chiang Mai
102 reviews
2.9 km away
Vanilla Place Guest House
Vanilla Place Guest House
#69 of 394 in Chiang Mai
599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 km away
Northlands House Hotel
Northlands House Hotel
#129 of 394 in Chiang Mai
37 reviews
0 km away
7days Hotel Patan
7days Hotel Patan
#202 of 394 in Chiang Mai
11 reviews
1.5 km away
Ampawan
Ampawan
#220 of 394 in Chiang Mai
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spicythai Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spicythai Backpackers

Address: 36 Hassadisewi Rd | Sriphoom, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range: $15 - $17 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In 2006, we created our Spicy Hostel that has since hosted thousands of very happy travelers... Do not miss your opportunity to experience the spiciness in Chiang Mai.Beginning in September 2006, we have shown this country what a real backpackers hostel is and how to run a great hostel. Rated No.2 in Asia 2007 and No.1 in Thailand 2008, Spicythai has really brought the backpackers hostel to life in Thailand. A group of young locals with lots of travel experiences and warm hearts have created each Spicy and have brought them to the top of the game in a very short time. Six years of success prove very well that we have been doing the right thing.Now Spicythai is in its new location: an even bigger and more beautiful house in a more convenient location, close to the Old City.Special Features at Spicythai;Apart from normal stuff that you will get at budget hostels such as free toiletries, a book swap, reference books, bed linens, parking, city maps, tour information, etc, we offer more including:- Strong and firm handmade bunk beds (no funny noises to annoy you while sleep)- AC in all dorms (we live in the city so AC is a good investment for climate and pollution)- Free coffee and tea with toast, butter and jams- Kitchen with free spices and oil- Original honesty system mini-bar with 24/7 easy access- Big-screen TV & home theater system with cable TV and an incredible collection of movies and TV series- Communal computers with high speed internet until midnight and 24/7 free WiFi- Free use of storage closet ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Spicythai Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spicythai Backpackers Hotel Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing