We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”
Review of Sirilanna Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sirilanna Hotel
Ranked #53 of 394 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 March 2012

Very nice rooms, top breakfast, not noisy, well located (Sunday market at 3 mins walking distance) and super service, what more do you want?

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Salsa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (443)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

260 - 266 of 443 reviews

Reviewed 19 March 2012

We arrived at the airport 23:30 but we were still met by the hotel mini-van. Check-in was painless and a welcome drink was a nice touch. My bag had been sent to Jakarta so the next morning we needed to get some fresh clothes. We asked the concierge lady and she started to direct us to a locals' market but decided it would be easier to take us. she was very helpful and negotiated with the stall keepers on our behalf. Another day she arranged for a driver, Mr Somkid, who took us to Mae sae elephant camp and the tiger kingdom. At the elephant camp we were too late to book a ride, apparently all the tours get in first( so if you want to ride one of the elephants I would suggest you get the hotel to call a couple of days beforehand and book). Mr Somkid saw our disappointment and phoned another camp 20 minutes away and arranged for us to go there. As we were not certain we had enough cash in pocket he lent us 1500baht so we could get our elephant ride, we repaid him back at the hotel. Service indeed! She also negotiated a red cab to take us to Wat Suthep another day..
The hotel's location is ideal for walking around the old city and there are plenty of restaurants nearby . Breakfast by the pool every morning was an excellent start to the day. A choice of AMrecian, ASian or continental and all have fruit if you want it. The food was fresh and very nicely presented. Service is always with a smile and nothing is a problem. We tried a burger as an afternoon snack and that was good value, along with the cocktails to wash it down with.
The pool is not large or heated, but with only 15 rooms and 90 plus degrees heat it is more than adequate. Our room was nicely furnished with very nice decor in the local Lanna style. The bathroom had a large shower plus a double jacuzzi bath. Fresh bottles of water were provided every day.
If we return to Chiang Mai the Sirilanna will be first on the list and I would recommend it to anyone who enjoys a more intimate and relaxed level of service. We have stayed at 5* hotels and not had service as good.
All the staff were very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Ground level rooms open onto the pool/terrace area where people have breakfast etc. Higher rooms hav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nigel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2012

Stayed at Sirilanna in a lovely twin bedded room. Stunning and huge bathroom with lovely stained glass windows opening into the bedroom area. Free use of the Internet in the library was a nice touch as was the pool to cool off in on a typical hot chiang Mai day. The beds were very firm ( aren't they all in Thailand!!) and there was quite a bit of road noise on the upper floors where we were situated.

The breakfast was a lovely and well cooked omelette which we ate in the dining room which was surrounded by a moat containing large golden carp (fish). Complimentary shuttle too and from the airport was appreciated.
The only thing that needs to be altered at this hotel is the installation of a set of well sealing doors so that mosquito s can't make their way up the stair cases into the rooms. Apart from that, the stay was delightful and I would recommend Sirilanna to others.

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelMum38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2012

My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay in this charming hotel. Sadly we only got to stay for 2 of the 3 nights we had planned but the staff did all they could to compensate for this. The couple who had been due to check out of our room had been involved in an accident and couldn't check out until the following day. We were moved to another hotel a couple of minutes walk away which was more expensive but lacked the charm of the Sirilanna and made us appreicate it even more when we finally got our room the following day. We also got a delicious three course lunch for free. We loved our four poster bed and the big bathroom with a jacuzzi bath. The staff were fantastic and we were always greeted with a warm smile. We would have no hesitation in recommending this to anyone who's looking for a hotel with charm and helpful, friendly staff.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pamela W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2012

This property is just a 5-10 minute walk from the night bazaar, one of the biggest attractions in the city. It's in a quiet area away from commotion but easy to get to the main area. The staff was very nice and the room was beautiful. Nice balcony too! I would definitely stay there again and recommend it to friends.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MellyMelinLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2012

My husband and I spent a week at the Sirilanna Hotel while visitig Chiang Mai. It is a very good hotel. We had a spacious & very clean, nicely decorated room (and large bathroom with both a jacuzzi bathtub and separate shower). The mattress on the bed was extremely comfortable and the air conditioning worked perfectly. The hotel offers a large selection of both hot and cold breakfast items which was quite well prepared and satisfying (and more the quantity was more than ample). We didn't eat any other meal there but I saw others doing so, and everyone seemed pleased. The staf was very pleasant. The hotel has an attractive pool (we never actually used it but others were using it ans seemed happy). All in all, a fine place to stay!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank seth000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2012

I stayed at this awesome resort (I cannot call it a hotel) for 3 nights and would most definitely stay again. It is the most beautiful place, right in the middle of the old city. The staff are outstanding, so friendly, and genuinely so too. I love the furnishings, from the door of the suite, big carved wooden doors, to the bed, bedside tables and the bathroom, oh, lovely! The location is outstanding, the pool is lovely, spent a few hours sitting under the gazebo area, chilling out, reading a book. I miss the place already. Chiang Mai for me was about unwinding after business in Bangkok and after the hotels there, I was loving this place. I miss it already!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank broomekim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.2 km away
De Naga Hotel
De Naga Hotel
#32 of 394 in Chiang Mai
995 reviews
0.1 km away
Bodhi Serene Hotel
Bodhi Serene Hotel
#36 of 394 in Chiang Mai
1,008 reviews
0.4 km away
U Chiang Mai
U Chiang Mai
#16 of 394 in Chiang Mai
1,495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
De Lanna Hotel, Chiang Mai
De Lanna Hotel, Chiang Mai
#66 of 394 in Chiang Mai
607 reviews
0.6 km away
De Chai The Colonial Hotel
De Chai The Colonial Hotel
#34 of 394 in Chiang Mai
511 reviews
2.9 km away
Siripanna Villa Resort & Spa
Siripanna Villa Resort & Spa
#30 of 394 in Chiang Mai
1,223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sirilanna Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sirilanna Hotel

Address: 89/3 Ratchapakinai Road | Phrasing Subdistrict, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Chiang Mai
#17 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Mai
#36 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range: $116 - $393 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sirilanna Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity.ca, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sirilanna Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sirilanna Hotel Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing