We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel M Chiang Mai
Nearby Hotels
Yaang Come Village(Chiang Mai)
US$180
US$72
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tamarind Village(Chiang Mai)
US$130
US$121
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 28% below average rates

The price you found is 28% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$167/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

U Chiang Mai(Chiang Mai)
US$142
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$137
US$122
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
De Naga Hotel(Chiang Mai)
US$94
US$60
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$53
US$44
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rainforest Boutique(Chiang Mai)(Great Value!)
US$31
US$24
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Varada Place(Chiang Mai)(Great Value!)
US$12
US$11
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$220
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$457
US$235
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (376)
Filter reviews
376 results
Traveller rating
90
167
82
21
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
90
167
82
21
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsburger kingcoffee clubsunday night marketblack canyontha phae gatewalking streetstrategic locationnon smokingcomfortable roomhotel staffhotel is locatedroom ratetuk tukold city wallslaundry servicethai foodchiang
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 376 reviews
Reviewed August 21, 2017 via mobile

when we check in hotel room everything is okay!
But.in the night,the door, have nock mock mock!!!but i am with my husband open this door! No body outside!! We just go on to sleep! In the midnight have nick noise again!we are horrible all night!!

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
2  Thank joshlee777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelMChiangmai, Public Relations Manager at Hotel M Chiang Mai, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2017

Dear joshlee777

Thank you very much for your comment and we are very appreciate. we are very pleasure that you came to stay at Hotel M Chiang Mai and we hope next time you will come back to stay here again. have a nice day.
Guest Relation.

Hotel M Chiang Mai

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 13, 2017

Spent a few days in Chiang Mai before and after spending time as a volunteer at ENP -an elephant sanctuary. The hotel's location is excellent, especially for the night market. The towels shaped into elephants and the personal bag of toiletries made it special.Staff were helpful, the hotel clean and the beds comfy.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heatherdale12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelMChiangmai, Public Relations Manager at Hotel M Chiang Mai, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2017

Dear Heatherdale12

Thank you very much for your comment and we are very appreciate. we are very pleasure that you came to stay at Hotel M Chiang Mai and we hope next time you will come back to stay here again. have a nice day.
Guest Relation.

Hotel M Chiang Mai

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 3, 2017

This hotel is at the Tapae Gate, which is the heart of the old town Chiang Mai, so the location is maybe the hotels best asset. The staff is also friendly and service minded, and you feel very welcome from check in to check out!

The first impression of the hotel, was that the hallways and stairs are a bit "smelly" since they are not airconditioned, so the air is moist and warm and the same can be said first time we entered our room until we started the aircondition. The bed is comfortable, and the bathroom was ok. The shower could use some repairs, especially the mount for the shower handle.

Breakfast is a bit below standard, the assortement was not too good and the quality of food could also be better. The internet is also close to useless, since the network coverage is poor and the connection drops and you need to log in again all the time.

All in all this is a good hotel, since it is quite priceworthy, but my total score will not be more than just average at best. The hotel needs some deep cleaning and a "fresher" first impression to score higher in my book.

Room Tip: The rooms on the side facing the Taepae gate have balconies, but these rooms can be noisy due to the traffic.
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andreas B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelMChiangmai, Public Relations Manager at Hotel M Chiang Mai, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2017

Dear Andreas B
Thank you very much for your comment and we are very appreciate. we are very pleasure that you came to stay at Hotel M Chiang Mai and we hope next time you will come back to stay here again. have a nice day.
Guest Relation.

Hotel M Chiang Mai

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 27, 2017 via mobile

Nice hotel right in front of the Tapae Gate - so real downtown!
In the same building is Burger King (for these who like it)
On the opposite site of walking street there is one of the oldest restaurants of the city with very good food.
Unfortunately it was all days closed - seems to have some private/religious background as some buddhas were placed in front of closed door...but we enjoyed it last time.

Tip:
walking parallel the wall to "Johns Place" where we had best Thai food nearby (and open all day and night)
Have a drink also there or before at "SAX bar" (75bht happy hour for Big Chang or small Mojito/Magherithas)
Or Loi Kroh Road (way to nightmarket) where you pass some "Redlight bars" but here the staff is very friendly and you even can have a lot of fun with karaoke and good drinks (e.g. Real Havanna Rum Drinks) without "Redlight ambitions" - my girlfriend liked it a lot :-)

Rooms spacious, only bathroom is a little to small for Europeans while you have shower and toilet in a very narrow space side by side
The air condition is the best I ever had - even in 5* resorts / hotels for 2-3x the price: it has a quite mode while you can sleep fantastical and hear nothing from the fan.

Free Airport shuttle (ask before arrival for pickup schedule) and bicycles and even a own tuktuk.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Martin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelMChiangmai, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel M Chiang Mai, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2017

Dear Martin K

Thank you very much for your comment and we are very appreciate. we are very pleasure that you came to stay at Hotel M Chiang Mai and we hope next time you will come back to stay here again. have a nice day.
Guest Relation.

Hotel M Chiang Mai

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 27, 2017

Checked in on 18th March and checked out on 23rd March; completely pleasant with my stay in this hotel. Chose this hotel because of its centralised location in the Old City facing Tapae Gate and the Sunday night market walking street which is just next to it. That is my aim of staying in a convenient spot where after a tiring walked, you do not need to wait for taxi and spent time haggling over the price with the driver, you simply walked back to your hotel to rest.

Checking in was a breeze and as requested, I had asked for high floor (highest is 5th floor) on the west side with the window facing the mountain and with lots of sunlight. Courtesy of Peterfuchs2017. Here I have gotten a lot of sunlight because it is facing the afternoon sun and if you are not in the room during the afternoon heat, that will be fine. The facing of this room is away from the main street and this give you a good night rest with minimum noise disturbances. Occasionally, the music from nearby shops may be louder in the night but it soon quiets down after 10 pm and not a big issue with me.

The room is not new and neither is it old. It is just well maintained with fridge, safe and LED TV. It is not the usual newer hotel that uses card system with the holder well positioned to facilitate your convenience. The key comes with a block of plastic to be inserted into a holder to turn on the electricity which is well hidden behind the door. If you coming back in the night, you will probably be groping in the dark after you close the door. A safer bet is to use your mobile phone to light up the holder for insertion.

As for breakfast, there is not much variety but is sufficient to last the morning. The staffs are friendly especially those managing the hotel front carpark facing Tapae Gate. A compliment to these staffs that made every effort to clear those red-taxi blocking the carpark lots especially on Sunday night, guiding and facilitate your parking as well as looking out for on-going traffic when you are reversing out into the main road. Well-done Hotel M for your ground staffs.

There are many good foods with reasonable price around the hotel and within walking distance to markets, temple, spa, massage shop and watering holes. A hotel that I will not hesitate to return to stay if I ever visit Chiang Mai again.

Room Tip: 5th floor on the west side with window facing the mountain & sunlight. Room is away from the main street with minimum noise disturbances.
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank StormSpear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelMChiangmai, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel M Chiang Mai, responded to this reviewResponded March 29, 2017

Dear Customer

Thank you very much for your comment and we are very appreciate. we are very pleasure that you came to stay at Hotel M Chiang Mai and we hope next time you will come back to stay here again. have a nice day. Guest Relation.

Hotel M Chiang Mai

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews