We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location but so-so condition”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Imm Hotel Thaphae Chiang Mai
Ranked #74 of 383 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
90 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“great location but so-so condition”
Reviewed 10 March 2012

advantages:
* excellent wifi - its free and make sure you ask for username and password upon check in
* great location - walking distance to night bazar night entertainment
* mcdonalds is just next door and open 24 hours at your convenient
* they do have parkings if you plan to rent a car or bike - so no worries about where to park the vehicle
* sunday market is just across the street at the phae gate
* room is clean with attached bathroom
* late evening and night, they will open a small bar in front of mcdonalds and i love to sit there having drinks with my friends and chit chatting
* right in front of the hotel - there's always tuk tuk waiting there and it is also easy to get the two rows taxi (red color - this is a straight translation from my Thai friends).
* breakfast is so-so, not that excellent but still ok to fill up your stomach to start the day

disadvantages:
* the provide towels are grey color and i don't like it - i recommend to bring your own towel
* the room i stayed is at the ground floor (thank god i don't have to climb the stairs if i stayed at the upper floor) but i pay the price for this, the rooms at ground floor is right in front of the breakfast area, it is very noisy in the morning as early as 6pm
* the room does not have a sound proof door - that's why i can hear peoples walking pass my room and having a very loud breakfast especially when they are coming in a group

tips:
* if you're capable to climb the stairs - better to request for room at upper floor
* better to rent a car/bike or tour from outside than the one in the hotel - they're price is a bit expensive than outside travel agent. there are lots of travel agent outside if you walk around from the hotel

Room Tip: request for room at upper floor if you're ok to climb the stairs up
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LizzaHademi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelCorporateOffice, Manager at Imm Hotel Thaphae Chiang Mai, responded to this review, 13 March 2012
Thank you for taking your time to share your kindness comments and our hotel's pros and cons.

We are sorry for any inconvenience during your stay.

We are appreciates your feedback and promise to keep with our services improvement to make your future stay here even more pleasant. Hope to welcome you to stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

445 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    87
    200
    115
    27
    16
See reviews for
73
123
82
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
The World
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2012

Clean, simple room. Wifi in room and ac was good. We did notice our bathroom had that sewage smell that tends to violate your nose at the most unpredictable of times whilst in Thailand, so we kept our door closed. We spent much time out exploring. The gate to the old city & heart of the amazing sunday market is right out front, location is fantastic. Easy to catch a songthaew to the airport. Busy road out front so be ready to dash through traffic each morning. For excursions it is close to the "locals" road where tour agencies are cheaper. Staff were pretty unhelpful with questions that had anything to do with life outside our room. a let down after staying at parasol inn. Black canyon coffee across road is amazing for coffee & breakfast. Quiet room on 2nd floor but make sure your room is away from the coutyard where breakfast is served and children screech. We noticed a lot of thais stay in this hotel too. A good reliable hotel for the price.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caricar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelCorporateOffice, Manager at Imm Hotel Thaphae Chiang Mai, responded to this review, 13 March 2012
Thank you for taking your time to share your kindness comments and compliments on our hotel location and cleanliness.

Regarding any inconvenience during your stay, including sewage smell in the bathroom, we are solving the problem for better conditions.

Hope to welcome you to stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taiwan
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2012

At first, I planned to stay in Imm for 3 nights, and ended up extending my staying for another 3 nights, which is all because of the convenience and cleaness of the hotel.

Generally speaking, the hotel is nicely maintained: clean, tidy. The location is super convenient. Thaphae gate is just in front of the hotel. It is an essay access to the attractions in the old city. There are several bar-liked restaurants near the hotel. As to the room in the hotel itself, it is spacious enough. The place for breakfast is full of sunlight, which can brighiten up your day when having breakfast there even though there is not so much variety for the breakfast. Free wifi is provided, and the speed is not slow.

But there is no elevator. So, people need to carry their lugguge up. However, what bothers us most is no hair dryer in the room. And of course, we can ask for one in the reception. I did ask for one hair dryer 4 days in a row, but failed to get one. The answer I got was "Come here tomorrow morning, and you are on the list.""Guests didn't return them back yet!" That forced me to have my hair washed at the nearby hair saloon. Except this, I really enjoy the time staying here. I would recommend it to those who like to stay in hotels with limited budget.

Room Tip: If you like a quiet room, choose the one upstairs. Otherwise, if you stay on the ground floor, it wo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChlorisQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelCorporateOffice, Manager at Imm Hotel Thaphae Chiang Mai, responded to this review, 13 March 2012
Thank you for taking your time to share your kindness comments and compliments on our hotel location and cleanliness.

We just have more in room facilities including hair dryer in Deluxe room.

Hope to welcome you to stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dumont, New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviewed 26 February 2012

Great location to many local eateries, massage places, and is in the center of town so lots of nightlife right outside of your door. Breakfast and wi-fi included and concierge was great. I did Kanotoke dinner for traditional thai dinner, elephant trekking, white water and bamboo rafting, doi suthep (temple on the mountains), and tiger kingdom. We did night markets which was literally across the street from the hotel. Another night we were walking into the center of town ~5-10 walk and we stumbled upon a muay thai fight. The whole experience was great in chiang mai. Don't miss the elephant camps were you get to see elephants actually paint. I missed it but will definitely return to see this.


The hotel is only 15 minutes from the airport. I would return to this hotel. Although the rooms are very small and beds are on the harder side and there were mosquitos in our room upon arrival. You get what you pay. There's no swimming pool at this premises.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vickib206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelCorporateOffice, Manager at Imm Hotel Thaphae Chiang Mai, responded to this review, 27 February 2012
Thank you for taking your time to share your kindness comments and compliments on our hotel location and concierge.

For the problem of mosquito, we are solving the problem and sorry for your inconvenient.

Hope to welcome you to stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seoul, South Korea
Level 6 Contributor
282 reviews
122 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 220 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2012

The hotel is larger than it looks from the outside and the rooms (on 3 levels) are built around an atrium area where reception is and breakfast is served. Our room was on the 2nd floor, and was away from the atrium with a wall between us, but we could still hear a lot of noise from the breakfast & reception area. The whole place is tiled so it is like an echo chamber. It started with plates clattering around 6am when they were setting up and got louder from there. In addition we got a lot of noise from activities outside the hotel at night ie: local nightclubs/bars and live music at ThaPae.
The rooms themselves are not too small but the bathroom was pokey and the hot water didn't really work. The handbasin was outside the bathroom (but towel rails inside so not convenient). The bathroom also had a frosted glass door - not nice if you are using the basin and someone is in the bathroom. This has been done to let some light into an otherwise window-less room (from the tiny window in the room itself). Also many mosquitoes in the room. The decor is minimalist but all quite new. On the plus side the beds were very clean and comfortable (only singles) and there was a safe in the room and convenient keyless entry. The was a small flatscreen TV and good lighting over the bed for reading with a switch next to the bed.
The staff were very pleasant and helpful and the breakfast was quite adequate for the standard. Note that there is no lift so you must carry bags up the steep stairs.
This hotel is a good basic choice and fair value. There is everything for the tourist on the doorstep (including a 24hrs McDonalds on site) but don't stay if you expect to sleep in.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms on the ground floor next to the breakfast area-too noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Globerwalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ImmHotel, Manager at Imm Hotel Thaphae Chiang Mai, responded to this review, 7 February 2012
Thank you for taking your time to share your kindness comments and compliments on our hotel location, value for money and comfortable beds.

Regarding any inconvenience during your stay, we have forwarded this to the hotel management for improvement.

We are appreciates your feedback and promise to keep with our services improvement to make your future stay here even more pleasant. Hope to welcome you to stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2012

The location is brilliant - short walks to all the main attractions.

The hotel is modern, with clean modern rooms with everything you need.

Breakfast has all the basics - coffee/tea/pastries/toasts/eggs etc and is included

Staff are super helpful and their is a tour desk in the hotel

I would recommend for anyone who has the hotel feeling without paying too much.

We paid around €24 per night

Room Tip: You can ask for rooms that are facing the back which are quieter than ones facing the breakfast area...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank awayfromreviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ImmHotel, Manager at Imm Hotel Thaphae Chiang Mai, responded to this review, 7 February 2012
Thank you for taking your time to share your kindness comments.

We are appreciated your compliments on our hotel and your room tip for room selection.

Hope to welcome you to stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2012

I've stay in this hotel for more than 2 years during my trips but recent trip was disappointing. The noise from a newly open nearby pub was just unbearable...it goes on till past midnight...but this hotel was generally good for the price and location.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fred l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ImmHotel, Imm Hotel Group at Imm Hotel Thaphae Chiang Mai, responded to this review, 5 February 2012
Thank you for taking your time to share your kindness comments us.

We are appreciates your feedback and promise to keep with our services improvement to make your future stay here even more pleasant. Hope to welcome you to stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.1 km away
Hotel M Chiang Mai
Hotel M Chiang Mai
#67 of 383 in Chiang Mai
346 reviews
1.1 km away
Roseate Hotel
Roseate Hotel
#77 of 383 in Chiang Mai
274 reviews
0.7 km away
Nap in Chiangmai
Nap in Chiangmai
#42 of 383 in Chiang Mai
226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Raming Lodge Hotel & Spa
Raming Lodge Hotel & Spa
#51 of 383 in Chiang Mai
1,305 reviews
0.1 km away
Thapae Boutique House
Thapae Boutique House
#119 of 383 in Chiang Mai
196 reviews
0.7 km away
Maninarakorn Hotel
Maninarakorn Hotel
#150 of 383 in Chiang Mai
640 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Imm Hotel Thaphae Chiang Mai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Imm Hotel Thaphae Chiang Mai

Property: Imm Hotel Thaphae Chiang Mai
Address: 17/1 Kotchasarn Road | Changkhlan, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #74 of 383 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Imm Hotel Thaphae Chiang Mai 3*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Accessible accommodation for all comfort purposes. Imm Hotel Thaphae Chiang Mai, under Imm Hotel Group, provides our signature comfort accommodation in a strategic location. Guests staying at Imm Hotel Thaphae can easily access Chiang Mai’s old walled city, Thaphae Gate. From the center of trading in the old days, Thaphae Gate is the area that has become the heart of Chiang Mai’s activities and festivals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, Agoda, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Imm Hotel Thaphae Chiang Mai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing